We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but that is about it.”
Review of Blue Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Haven Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed one night at the Blue Haven. The location was excellent-right in the center of town. The hotel itself was another story. There is no onsite parking and street parking is at a premium. The hotel has no lift, no air conditioning and small rooms that are in need of being redone. Our room was near the kitchen with a window that opened right out to the kitchen exhaust. The man that was working at the front desk was rude and while I was trying to talk to him he took a call on
his cell phone and talked for quite some time, just leaving me standing there. The breakfast was average. I would not be interested in staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marian518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (714)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 714 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

We loved Kinsale and stayed at the Old Bank part of the Blue Haven. The rooms were good and on the top floors. A fun and traditional experience. I can imagine that the rooms on front would be a bit loud at peek times as there is no AC - but the front view is wonderful and may be worth the trade off. The Breakfast and dinner offered as part of the package were outstanding. The location put us in the center of town and in easy waking distance to anything in town we wanted to do.

Room Tip: I would the guess the Old Bank Building is a more quiet location than the main hotel where the bar i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EARHf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

What a lovely experience to find BLUE HAVEN hotel, after a couple of hours spent in searching a free hotel / B&B.
We received a wonderful service from staff who was kind and charming. Breakfast was excellent and the bedrooms clean and nice, with a beautiful view on main street. The Pub has a traditional Irish band and dancers on specific nights and they are a must to see.
Kinsale is a great little town, with plenty to do and lots of lovely restaurants and pubs and BLUE HAVEN hotel is within walking distance from all the main attractions in Kinsale. When we made check we had the final appreciated surprise: an additional discount on the bill ! A big thank you for averything!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Giuseppe2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We spent two nights in the Blue Haven and enjoyed a superior bedroom at no extra charge as we are repeat customers. The room was large and beautifully decorated and very different to the 'usual' hotel decor. Breakfast was good and dinner on one night was very good. Wine was reasonably priced and the band 'Blue Fusion ' was really good and we enjoyed some impromptu dancing!!! The location is very central in the middle of Kinsale within walking distance of everything. The only drawback is the hotel does not have a car park but parking is available nearby but is quite expensive. Staff were friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizabethireland13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This hotel is within walking distance of the wonderful attractions in Kinsale. The restaurant serves full breakfast with the best coffee. The Pub has a traditional Irish band and dancers on specific nights and they are a must see! The only downside is trying to find parking.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robbi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

What a lovely experience we had on our 10th wedding anniversary.We received terrific service from madeleine and mike who were both charming.The Breakfast was excellent and the bedrooms very cosy(maybe a little too warm) we have stayed here twice before and could thoroughly recommend it.Kinsail is a great little town with plenty to do and lots of lovely restaurants.There is something for all budgets.We are looking forward to our next trip to the blue haven.A big thankyou.

Room Tip: Better to get a room on the second floor as the rooms on the first floor were a little too warm in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patricia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Very pleasant stay on Sunday night. The main problem with Blue Haven, bedroom so so small and hot. The room, has a lovely little yard but the window does not open very far and a door would be more appropriate to allow one to take advantage of the outdoor space. No natural light in room and even on a sunny day artificial light. Standard of bed linen and bathroom excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for room with large windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nualaduignan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,638 reviews
Perryville House
#6 of 53 in Kinsale
355 reviews
Old Bank House
#14 of 53 in Kinsale
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Haven Hotel

Address: Blue Haven Hotel 3/4 Pearse Street, Kinsale, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range: £90 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Haven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Haven is a stylish, nautical, boutique hotel, located in the heart of Kinsale and recently awarded No. 1 Best Boutique Hotel in Ireland in the Irish Hospitality Awards. Voted one of the top 20 seafood spots in Ireland, The Blue Haven is a well-known culinary gem and its reputation for excellent food, friendly personal service and meticulous attention to detail will always ensure your visit to Kinsale is a special one. The Blue Haven has an array of dining options to choose from: our luxurious Bar, The Fish Market, Aperitif Wine & Tapas Bar and The Newport Lounge. All dishes combine seasonal produce and fresh seafood from local shores, carefully prepared by a team of the best international chefs. Experience our Gin and Tonic selection, our Premium Whiskeys and The Ultimate Irish Coffee, whilst listening to great live music 7 nights a week in our bar. Home baked cookies, King Koil pocket sprung beds, pillow menus and Nespresso machines in each room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Blue Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing