We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for Business”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blue Haven Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not for Business”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

This hotel has many good facilities but business users should be aware that it seems to be primarily a tourist and holiday resort. I stayed on a midweek night and was kept awake by live music in the bar until nearly midnight. This seems to take place 7 nights a week. In addition I was woken at 5am by delivery lorries at the supermarket opposite. Not what you want after a hard days work, or if you have an early start.

Room Tip: Higher rooms at opposite side to bar area
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    193
    91
    35
    16
See reviews for
105
310
23
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We were passing through and needed somewhere to eat on a windy Sunday lunchtime. The Blue Haven restaurant and bar were full but staff opened up another area and made the seven of us comfortable. Drinks were ordered and arrived quickly and similarly there was very little delay in fulfilling the food orders. The quality and portions were excellent. I can't comment on the hotel but I'd guess it must be as good as the restaurant and bar.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8100bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We were staying in another part of Kinsale and were looking for a good spot for a night out. The bar happened to have a cracking live band playing, We found seats easily enough and joined in the fun as the band rocked the place. I believe they were called Sons of Steve McQueen. They played rock stuff like Bon Jovi but also a bit of Garth Brooks. A very very enjoyable evening, we ended up staying all evening. A great spot for a great night.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOR_Cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shiocton, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

This was a charming hotel. Great staff. No elevator so be preapred to haul your bags three flights. Rooms were ok … there was mold on the wallpaper around the window, bathroom could have been cleaner. Beds were super comfy. TV was outdated. Breakfast was awesome. You have to park on the street and that was challenging!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
133 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Have just come back from a two night stay in the Blue Haven, with my mum. Even before we arrived I spoke to Michelle (Receptionist) on the phone and she said they had a room in the Blue Haven held for us, but we could check out their sister hotel, Old Bank House, and choose the room we preferred. We loved the Old Bank House, it is old world and beautiful, but we opted for a slightly brighter front room in the Blue Haven. The room was spotless, elegant and had a lovely bathroom.
We both normally travel with our own pillows as we both hate the unpliable ones hotels normally use - but this time we had both forgotten to bring our own. Imagine our delight when we discovered the 'PILLOW MENU' in our room. We rang reception and ordered feather and down pillows which promptly arrived and we had a wonderful night's sleep.
The choice on the breakfast menu was one of the best I've encountered, and everything is cooked to order (no pre-cooked help yourself food) and it is served until 10.30am so a nice lie in wasthe order of the day.
The staff couldn't have been friendlier, recommending restaurants, places to go etc. We talk about the Irish being chatty and friendly, but we met staff here from Australia, Lithuania, Poland etc. and all were really really nice.
The only thing that was a bit of a challenge was the parking. From about 6pm to 10.30 am the following morning parking is free, which fits in nicely with nights out and late breakfasts, but then if you want to stay in Kinsale for the day, you will have to either pay the meters or park a 5-10 min away in the free carpark - This was easy and caused us no difficulty.
All in all - apart from Kinsale being a most beautiful little town (quirky, colourful and really lovely), I would go back just to stay in one of these two hotels again.

Oh, would remind travellers - most of the attractions (including Tourist office) are closed on Mondays during low season (up to mid March) which we forgot , but if weather good you can still get to see the outside of many places - You will be very limited if weather not good.

Room Tip: While I can understand that hygene is important, I hate the slightly rubbery undersheets that this h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

we arrived for our stay in the blue haven,
it is lovely and warm ,decor is cozy,
the food and service was excellent ,
so they even have a pillw menu ,imagine?
choose your type of pillow ,love it.
well done blue haven.
we going back there next week.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eilandish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed here a couple of weeks ago when we hadn't expected to have to stay over in Kinsale at all but due to unforseen circumstances we had the forsight to book a room here in the Blue Haven Hotel. Great care and courtesy for all our party. All the staff here were very accomodating and very kind. Great rooms en suite. Best Value in town. We will defenitely return here in the summer!

Room Tip: Other people in our party all said their rooms were great very comfortable and cosy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerryMollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
0.2 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
2.5 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Old Bank House
Old Bank House
#13 of 55 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#7 of 55 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#14 of 55 in Kinsale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Haven Hotel

Property: Blue Haven Hotel
Address: 3/4 Pearse Street, Kinsale, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Haven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique style property in the heart of Kinsale, the Blue Haven graciously combines the charm of old Kinsale with the modern luxuries of today. Each room is individually furnished with exquisite furniture, luxury pocket sprung beds, plasma tvs and finer touches to make each room unique. With a reputation as excellent food, friendly personal service and meticulous attention to detail, each visit is a special one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing