We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel to start The Wild Atlantic Way”
Review of Blue Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blue Haven Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel to start The Wild Atlantic Way”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Comfortable lively Hotel, staff were friendly and accommadating. Nice food with plenty of choice for Coeliacs. Good evening entertainment with plenty of "Craic". Good value , looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 44stan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    196
    92
    35
    16
See reviews for
108
314
24
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Not the first time we've stayed at the Blue Haven which tells you something.
But having said that it might be the last.
Note to self; check if there's a rock festival next time you book a hotel for the weekend.
Yes,the BlueHaven isn't built for noise attenuation.
We were with friends. Their first task on the first morning was to try to get an early flight back home. Such was the sleep deprivation.They failed. We joked it was like a scene from 'the Prisoner' - detained in idyllic surroundings with no escape. Maybe we should have called it 'Hotel California' (Eagles) ..you can check out but you can never leave…..
We swapped rooms so they were at the back which seemed to work,but by then they were probably so tired they could sleep through thrash metal.
The Blue Haven is a curious mix for a hotel.
It's obviously grown out of a pub / eatery over the years because the priority seems to be 1.food2.bar3.hotel
The food is very good. Breakfast excellent.
No draught Guinness though,which is a surprise.
The fact that there's no lift is a bit of a giveaway re. the hotel mindset.
It didn't really bother me but ,then,I'm not disabled (I was by the end of the holiday but that's another story,and the Blue Haven wasn't to blame).
I came to the conclusion that they actually don't have to try too hard with the rooms because they can sell out easily.
That's partly a function of the quirky nature of Kinsale and partly down to the limited bedspaces,and central nature.
So,you have to take the rough with the smooth.
And there is some rough.
We had a nice view of the bins at the back.
It doesn't matter how good downstairs is (and downstairs is very good) when you've seen behind the mask it loses its allure.
The washbasin was cracked,wallpaper stained,lightbulbs ad hoc,fixtures and fittings distressed/damaged/worn and the Blue Haven suffers from the Irish Hotel disease of plastic faux Georgian windows - an insult to an Architect.
Oh,and the shower worked at a trickle. Americans would be incandescent.We just thought it was par for the course.
We had a hoverfly infestation in one of the rooms to top things off, from a nest outside in a tree
but that was more of a problem for the pavement cafe and parked cars.
At €160 a night it's not cheap,and no parking.
On the upside the kingsize beds were great (I know; I slept in two of them),and the staff were cheerful and helpful.
I can't really understand why I don't dislike it. I guess you just go with the flow because of the nature of Kinsale.
Even our friends eventually,reluctantly did. Maybe they spike your drinks there with truth serum ? It's wearing off now. I'm beginning to see it for what it is again….a slightly idiosyncratic Irish bar / eatery that doesn't have to overextend itself in the rooms.

Room Tip: room at the back / side are quieter but view of the bins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Lovely welcoming, clean and cosy hotel right in the heart of Kinsale. Room and bathroom were small but we were warned of that before arrival so we were pleasantly surprised. The very handy central location is great but the noise from the surrounding pubs is pretty loud - we were ok but probably best avoided if older or with young families.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taistealai2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The rooms are just so cute. They feel like the best room in my granny's old house. Mahogany headboards, wardrobe and chest of drawers that must be antique. Mullioned windows through which you can see the flower boxes. The shower was wonderfully strong and really refreshing. The food in both the bistro (evening meal) and the cafe (breakfast) was excellent. All the staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. Asking for changes to the menu was never an issue. This was one of the best places I have stayed in a long time. I will definitely go again as soon as I can.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My husband and I spent a night in this hotel on 29 July, 2014. We could not fault this hotel on any count at all. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the room was very clean and spacious. Breakfast was great with a vast choice of organic food served there. We had music in the bar at night and there was a great holiday atmosphere about the hotel. The hotel was situated in the very heart of Kinsale. We would highly recommend The Blue Haven Hotel and will certainly be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mocksville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The best part of the Hotel is the bar and restaurant. The room was small, but comfortable, television didn't work too well, but we were tired anyway. Once again while in Ireland no wash cloths. Also the parking is on the street, or in a parking garage a ways from the hotel. Also the biggy if you have heavy suitcases, no elevator.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaveB59_53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed one night and on arrival the receptionist was cheerful and helpful. We were allocated a good sized room, which was very clean and nicely decorated, with a decent sized en suite. Huge bed! Great night's sleep. Excellent breakfast, and plenty of choices on the menu.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
0.2 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
2.5 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Old Bank House
Old Bank House
#14 of 50 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#6 of 50 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#13 of 50 in Kinsale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Haven Hotel

Property: Blue Haven Hotel
Address: Blue Haven Hotel 3/4 Pearse Street, Kinsale, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Haven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A well-known Culinary gem, The Blue Haven is a stylish, award winning, nautical style boutique hotel located in the heart of Kinsale. The Blue Haven will welcome you with open arms. Just a stone's throw from dozens of great restaurants, lively bars and interesting craft shops... yet only 25 minutes from Cork City. While you visit Blue Haven Kinsale enjoy the home baked cookies on arrival, King Koil Pocket Sprung beds, Nespresso Machines in your room, Great Food in the gourmet capital, Live Music every night and lots of activities, walks and treasures to find in beautiful Kinsale on The Wild Atlantic Way. – Ireland’s longest coastal route a 2500 km epic trip of Ireland’s western coastline. Blue Haven’s reputation for excellent food, friendly personal service and meticulous attention to detail will always ensure your visit to Kinsale's Blue Haven is a special one. Blue Haven has an array of dining options to choose from, the Seafood Cafe, to the luxurious Bar and Wine & Tapas Bar “Aperitif”. All dishes combine seasonal produce and fresh seafood from the local shores, carefully prepared by a team of chefs. Blue Haven prides itself in delivering the ultimate in friendly and efficient service to its customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing