We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super cute hotel located in the heart of picturesque Kinsale”
Review of Blue Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Haven Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super cute hotel located in the heart of picturesque Kinsale”
Reviewed 26 September 2010

My husband and I stayed here 1 night during a recent trip to Ireland and I wish we would have planned a little more time here. Everything was a little nicer than your average hotel making for a lovely stay.

Hotel restaurant was amazing and we live in NYC so come with high standards. Staff was really nice and helpful planning local activities. Our room was a little small but overall the accommodations were above average.

I would definitely recommend to anyone traveling through Ireland as a must stop.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgioc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    207
    94
    36
    17
See reviews for
113
329
25
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

I stayed here and thought it was Wonderful!
Staff were brilliant.
Rooms were nice.
I would definatly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lollipop1girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

The Blue Haven is in a great location, and the staff were very friendly. They gave us a free gift of chocolates when they found out we were celebrating our wedding anniversary. They have great food in their restaurant and bakery as well. I was a little disappointed in the rooms. I had heard great things, but although the room was spacious, it felt a little dated and the mattress was pretty thin.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badgertraveler27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlebar, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2010

staff posted my watch to my home adress after i left without it.
recemond this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxxx23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Really excellent friendly and professional service from reception staff throughout our stay, it makes a huge difference, and we were delighted to see them go out of their way to help overseas visitors even if it meant we had to wait a little bit longer to check out. We were on a one night break, got the last available room in the hotel, room 11 which was a lovely big room on the second floor facing onto the street. The hotel is in the heart of the town so if you are a light sleeper, there is no getting away from the fact that it was a bit noisy at the front of the hotel. It didn't bother me but my wife didn't sleep so well so we would probably look for a room at the back next time. No parking at the hotel but they gave good directions to the nearest free parking ( 3mins or 6 mins away) and there is metered parking outside the hotel for up to 2 hours. Great location, good choice of restaurants nearby, the hotel has its own restaurant and has opened a new wine bar up the road but we didn't sample either of these. We dined in a nearby bistro called Cucina, highly recommended. We had a good breakfast in the hotel, good selection available.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenWal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

This hotel is not delivering on its prices. The room was small and slightly shabby. The breakfast was not good at all. At half the price, the hotel would be fine but at 160 euro a night, it is simply over priced.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AdaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Stayed in the Bluehaven Hotel during a Trip around Ireland, have to say it stood out of the 5 hotels we stayed in.
Thankfully we'd booked it for 2 nights and I have to say I was hugely impressed with the professionalism and attention to detail offered by the Staff. Arrived late for the first night but were promptly checked in and shown to our rooms, and asked if we wanted anything to eat or drink brought to the room!.
Had Breakfast in the Cafe Bar - best Eggs Benedict I've ever tasted. Dinner in the evening was fantastic, and Live music offered great entertainment in the Bar. The only thing I would say is a negative is the availability of Parking, but one of the staff were more than willing to come out and direct us to a spot.

Great Service in a great location, can't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FDBFDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
930 reviews
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Glebe Country House
#1 of 2 in Bandon
41 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,502 reviews
Perryville House
#6 of 53 in Kinsale
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Haven Hotel

Property: Blue Haven Hotel
Address: Blue Haven Hotel 3/4 Pearse Street, Kinsale, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Haven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A well-known Culinary gem, The Blue Haven is a stylish, award winning, nautical style boutique hotel located in the heart of Kinsale. The Blue Haven will welcome you with open arms. Just a stone's throw from dozens of great restaurants, lively bars and interesting craft shops... yet only 25 minutes from Cork City. While you visit Blue Haven Kinsale enjoy the home baked cookies on arrival, King Koil Pocket Sprung beds, Nespresso Machines in your room, Great Food in the gourmet capital, Live Music every night and lots of activities, walks and treasures to find in beautiful Kinsale on The Wild Atlantic Way. – Ireland’s longest coastal route a 2500 km epic trip of Ireland’s western coastline. Blue Haven’s reputation for excellent food, friendly personal service and meticulous attention to detail will always ensure your visit to Kinsale's Blue Haven is a special one. Blue Haven has an array of dining options to choose from, the Seafood Cafe, to the luxurious Bar and Wine & Tapas Bar “Aperitif”. All dishes combine seasonal produce and fresh seafood from the local shores, carefully prepared by a team of chefs. Blue Haven prides itself in delivering the ultimate in friendly and efficient service to its customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing