We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We enjoyed the hotel and the town of Kinsale so much, we extended our stay! Great location and the staff was wonderful!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Didgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,011)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

768 - 774 of 1,011 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2012

The hotel is beautiful, the room was clean and well equipped, and the staff was very helpful and friendly with our group. The town is charming, with a relaxed atmosphere, the narrow streets and colorful houses give you the impression that you are living in a fairytale. And the food is exquisite!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tatiana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My partner and I stayed here for a short break and absolutely loved this hotel. The rooms are big, comfortable with amazing views of the harbour - you really couldn't find a better location. The food is very good, one of the best breakfasts I've had in a big hotel, and the food in the restaurant was lovely too - good quality, huge portions and very reasonably priced, particularly considering how expensive Ireland is for those coming from outside the eurozone. We had the set three-course menu for 25 euros, which was fantastic. The hotel is modern but it still has character and is tastefully decorated. What really made our weekend was the friendly service, both in this hotel and around Kinsale. We were made to feel really welcome. Our only complaint was that we didn't have long enough to try out all of Kinsale's amazing restaurants. The town is a foodie heaven!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We stayed here valentines night as a break away. My boyfriend booked a junior suite when we arrived we went to the third floor in a tiny very unsteady lift which then lead to a very unsteady floor along the corridor to the suites i honestly thought it was going to colapse under us . the suite was a real let down the window faced directly to the restaurant so we had to close the curtains as everyone was just staring up we had expected a view of the water for the price he payed. The king size bed was just two beds pushed together which caused a big edge right in the middle which was very sore to lie on the television was on the total opposite side of the room so you couldn't see it from the bed. The suite itself was very disappointing it was basically just a large room nothing special.At night the banging above our suite was so loud we could not sleep I'm guessing it was the pipes as there was no other rooms above us. The next morning about 5am all we could hear was seagulls . All in all was very disappointed and do not recommend staying in this hotel or wasting your money on a so called suite.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lea071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Again, really no problem with this hotel, just not our style, it lacked character, staff were not very friendly, location is excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

My self and my Husband are just back from a 3 night stay at the Trident Hotel , the hotel is lovely ,the view is fabolous. and the food is also fab . unfortunately for us there was a wedding on that weekend and at 4am that morning some drunks banged down our door and i mean banged it i got an awful fright i was afraid to move i think there should be some security system to prevent this or if there is a function we should have been put on a different level ,reported it the next morning and all i got was sorry

Room Tip: we had sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabethbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Booked a weekend stay package at the Trident which included 2 nights accommodation B&B with 1 evening meal.

We arrived and parked in the car park, went to check in and were told our room wasn't yet ready, and that we were being upgraded to a junior suite, so with that we walked into the Town. Only a 5-10 minute walk along the Quay into the heart of Kinsale. We used the opportunity to get our bearings. After stopping at Fishy Fishy for lunch, we came back to the hotel to check in.

We got one of the junior suites, which had a great view of the water and the nearby yacht club. Pros of the suite, were the size, the view, large bathroom with both shower and bath, well stocked mini bar and fridge. However we found the beds a little too firm and the pillows as well. Apart from that the room was lovely.

We made reservations for dinner in the restaurant, on our first night, we enjoyed the starters, and desert, however were a little underwhelmed by the main courses.

One of the highlights for the stay was the bar, there was a great buzz in there during the day and the staff were very friendly and giving lots of tips of places to go and see while we stayed. The bar does be a little quiet in the evening, but that is probably due to most people would walk into the town for the various pubs / restaurant options with music. Which we did ourselves. We also ate in the bar on the Second Day while watching the Rugby, there was a lot of people in eating, i'd a fantastic portion of mussels, and my wife had a great lasagne special offer which included an alcoholic drink. Very good idea guys! Again the banter with the staff was great.

All in all we enjoyed our stay at the Trident and would stay there again. Look forward to seeing you in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the junior suites on the 3rd floor, great views of the marina. Also furthest away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank W_dunne81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
0.2 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
968 reviews
2.3 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Hayfield Manor Hotel
0.3 mi away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#6 of 53 in Kinsale
353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pier House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trident Hotel Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trident Hotel Kinsale

Address: World's End, Kinsale, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range: £103 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Trident Hotel Kinsale 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly refurbished bedrooms include an executive wing comprising 30 rooms and a penthouse floor of nine luxury suites, all with breath-taking views of the harbour and the enchanting town of Kinsale. The Pier One Restaurant, which is the only waterfront restaurant in the Gourmet Capital of Ireland, offering the freshest of seafood and locally sourced produce, and the Wharf Tavern and Terrace which has been a welcoming meeting place for golfers, sailors, locals and holidaymakers for decades. The new Foredeck bar area, where to get closer to the sea you would have to get on board a boat is, in the summer sunshine, the perfect place to unwind and take in the sea breezes while sipping a cocktail or cool beer. The Trident has a private marina, onsite parking and a wide range of state of the art facilities for conferences and unforgettable venues for family occasions, the Trident Hotel ticks every box for any occasion, from the very intimate to larger events catering for over 200 people. We look forward to welcoming you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trident Hotel Kinsale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing