We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2013

This hotel is located on the marina of the beautiful town of Kinsale. The room had beautiful view of the marina. It was quite small and dated and would have been nice to have bath (just shower in bathroom). The bathroom and bedroom were very clean. The bed was so comfortable. There was lovely relaxing lounge overlooking the marina. Breakfast was served in lovely restaurant with terrific view and was lovely. Staff serving breakfast were so nice and helpful. I will be returning here soon for its friendly staff, location and value. The leisure centre is located up the road in the grounds of another hotel which I thought was quite awkward so did not use.

To summarise - lovely hotel except rooms require updating and quite small.

Room Tip: Ask for room with marina view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eleanor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Dear Eleanor K,

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to the Trident Hotel.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the breakfast and staff and location to your liking.

We have replaced the baths in many of our bedrooms with strong showers but we do have baths in the majority of our rooms, so please ask the next time.

We look forward to having you back soon.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,017)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

653 - 659 of 1,017 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2013

Trident Hotel is in a perfect location on the harbor in Kinsale, Ireland. Overall, the hotel could use a bit of renovation, but was perfectly adequate. Admittedly, the 1st room we were given was quite noisy, with only a very tiny view of the harbor, and mostly of the street, houses, and car park behind the building, but I asked, and we were moved to a different room with a much better harbor view. The rooms and corridors need new carpet, but they appeared clean and fresh, just worn. Lunch and dinner in the Wharf Tavern were very good, and the breakfast buffet served in the Pier One Restaurant was tasty, too. The views from Pier One were spectacular. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. On the downside, the hotel is advertised as a 4-star, luxury hotel, with free Internet service in every bedroom, but I think it only rates 3 stars, due to condition, and our only reliable Internet service was found in the lounge, or on the patio outside the lounge (rather chilly in early April!). As we went in search of Internet service one evening, we encountered another couple we'd met earlier...and they, too, were searching for WiFi because it wasn't available in their room either.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a room away from the back street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grandmamce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Dear grandmamce,

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to the Trident Hotel.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our harbour side location. I am glad that the staff were able to help by changing your room from a river view to a harbour view.

Thank you for your kind comments about our staff. I am sorry that you encountered problems with the WiFi which is available, free of charge, in all public areas and most of our bedrooms.

We have an ongoing refurbishment programme and I can confirm that we do comply with all requirements for our 4* rating.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Trident Hotel and Kinsale in the near future.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I have stayed several times in Kinsale and this was my first time to stay in the Trident Hotel. The Trident Hotel is one of those wonderful hotels that remains utterly professional and attentive but with warmth and friendlessness that made my Weekend one to remember. I arrived late Friday nite to be greated with a lovely toastie that was no trouble whatsoever, Saturday I enjoyed a lovely brunch in the Bar, while I was there, I could overhear the staff letting fellow guests know there was a Chowder Festival on in the town so they could attend while they were visiting. From Housekeeping, to Reception staff, to Bar Staff, to the Nite Porter, to the Chef I commend you all for such a wonderful job. Oh and the View in the Suite is'nt half bad either. Thanks again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keentraveller68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Dear keentraveller68,

Thank you for your very positive review of the Trident Hotel.

"Wonderful in every way" is a superb accolade, thank you - I think we will have to put you on our marketing staff!

We very much appreciate your kind comments and particularly that you remembered members of staff for some of the smaller things that matter, and the people behind the scenes who are sometimes forgotten. It is also sometimes forgotten that there are real people behind both positive and negative experiences - thank you.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Trident Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

I stayed here with my husband to celebrate my mums 50th in Kinsale. The hotel is located in a lovely area only a 5-7 minute walk from Kinsale town. We had a lovely big room with a view of the Marina and boats. My only issue with the room would be that the decor and furniture needs updating. The view from the room makes up for this issue though. The breakfast was very nice plenty of choice but I was a bit annoyed with the staff because we were a big group and wanted to have breakfast together and instead the waitress made us squash on to a small table and not everyone could fit so we were separated and there was a big table available. But overall would recommend this hotel to friends and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScientistIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Dear ScientistIreland,

Thank you for your positive review of your recent stay at the Trident Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you got pleasure from our location both over the water and near the town.

I'm sorry that there was a mix-up with your breakfast table but hopefully it didn't take from your experience.

I hope you will be back soon.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

My spouse and I had the good fortune to spend the first evening of our 25th anniversary trip to Ireland at the Trident. Kinsale is a spectacular town, with narrow streets climbing precipitous hillsides. Passing through this beautiful town, you are almost leaving from the south end when you bump into the Trident. This property is arranged about a motor court, so parking shouldn't be a problem. The best rooms are focused with a view towards the working harbor and the headlands across the bay. Occupancy was low when we arrived, and we were bumped up to an executive suite gratis. Spectacular! All sights and sounds of the main part of town are easily walkable, so leave the car and take to the streets. But stay in for breakfast - not to be missed, with the harbor in the background and smoked salmon on the buffet.

Room Tip: Get a room in the 10's (100 - 110, 200 - 210, etc) - killer view through the expansive windows o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skierguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Dear Skierguy,

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to the Trident Hotel.

Congratulations on your 25th Wedding Anniversary! I am delighted that you stayed with us for your first night in Ireland to celebrate this special anniversary.

Your description of your arrival in Kinsale is wonderful - I want to go there! I have lived here for 26 years and see this every day and it is great to see it described by someone looking with 'new eyes'!

Thank you for taking the time to share your very positive experience and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon (don't wait 25 years).

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

We arrived on friday 12th april , long drive and check in was easy and the girls on reception were friendly and helpful, rooms good size, second door between main door and bedroom cuts down out any noise. Had an evening meal in resturant on saturday evening, menu a bit limited , i would have liked a bit more choice, food was ordered, service was good and food very nice, staff pleasant . All in all a nice relaxing weekend , this was our third time staying and we shall be back .

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Girvin57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Dear Girvin 57,

Thank you for your positive review of your recent visit to the Trident Hotel.

I am delighted that you had a nice relaxing stay and that you found the staff pleasant and the food nice.

I am pleased that you have been her on a number of occasions and that you plan on coming back - a good sign!

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I booked this hotel as i was the best man for a small stag party. Managed to book twin rooms for €55 per person bed & breakfast. I dealt with eleanor via phone and email on a number of occasions in the weeks leading up to the party and always found her to be polite and professional. Finding the hotel was easy enough and there was adequate parking. Contrary to the last review I found no fault with the staff working at reception, they were prompt, welcoming, polite and helpful. I was given room 220, it was amazing, you are on top of water practically, looking out onto water to your front and to your right, world class amazing views of kinsale harbour. we ate a delicious and hearty breakfast the following morning where there were a number of wide selections in cereals, juices, fruit and fry ups, very accommodating staff, we booked 7 rooms, no complaints regarding noise either, top class spot, will most definitely stay again

Room Tip: 220, breathtaking views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sineadandbrendan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Dear Brendan (I presume),

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Trident Hotel.

I am delighted that you found everything to your satisfaction. Good value, excellent breakfast and attentive staff in a super location!

I hope that you will have the opportunity to come back again soon.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
980 reviews
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,637 reviews
Perryville House
#6 of 53 in Kinsale
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trident Hotel Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trident Hotel Kinsale

Address: World's End House Lower o'Connell Street, Kinsale P17 HY20, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range: £104 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Trident Hotel Kinsale 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly refurbished bedrooms include an executive wing comprising 30 rooms and a penthouse floor of nine luxury suites, all with breath-taking views of the harbour and the enchanting town of Kinsale. The Pier One Restaurant, which is the only waterfront restaurant in the Gourmet Capital of Ireland, offering the freshest of seafood and locally sourced produce, and the Wharf Tavern and Terrace which has been a welcoming meeting place for golfers, sailors, locals and holidaymakers for decades. The new Foredeck bar area, where to get closer to the sea you would have to get on board a boat is, in the summer sunshine, the perfect place to unwind and take in the sea breezes while sipping a cocktail or cool beer. The Trident has a private marina, onsite parking and a wide range of state of the art facilities for conferences and unforgettable venues for family occasions, the Trident Hotel ticks every box for any occasion, from the very intimate to larger events catering for over 200 people. We look forward to welcoming you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Trident Hotel Kinsale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing