We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thumbs up!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Thumbs up!”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Lovely room (222) with an unbelievable view. Really enjoyed our stay here. Room was spacious and v clean. Huge windows to take advantage of the incredible view but the curtains were black out which kept the room nice and dark in the morning. The room was hot so we kept the windows open but it was fine as there was no noise in the morning. Found the staff really helpful, obliging and efficient. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms 222 and 317. Fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayniesmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear Jayniesmurf,

Many thanks for your review of your recent stay with us at the Trident Hotel.

We like to get the 'Thumbs up' from our guests and yours is very welcome! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you found your room, the view and the staff to a high standard. We can't always promise the sun but we certainly on a roll at the moment and we're not too far from Cork for another quick visit.

We look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    334
    144
    50
    23
See reviews for
162
500
19
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cork
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We were in a nice spacious room overlooking the sea, fantastic looking out every morning at the sea.
The hotel was very close to the centre of town with lot of good bars and eateries.
the staff where very friendly and did their utmost to make or stay as pleasant as possible
.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Peter J,

Thank you for your positive review of your stay with us at the Trident Hotel.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back before too long - Cork is not too far away!

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

We arrived early not expecting to be able to check in to find that our room was infact ready which was great. The receptionist was friendly and welcoming and we were particularly impressed by her proactiveness in ringing a local restaurant we had mentioned we'd like to try in order to see if she could book a table for us. The room and ensuite were much bigger than we anticipated and finished to a higher standard than we expected given the rate we got (& reviews we read prior to our arrival). Our package included dinner in the wharf tavern which we found to be good with great staff. At breakfast there was a reasonable choice on the menu for freshly cooked food in addition to a small buffet - the selection of which could have been better though it did offer ample choice. We thoroughly enjoyed our time in kinsale and would return to the trident hotel in the future - this was as much due to the staff as the hotel.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CLandGJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear CL & GJM,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Trident Hotel.

I am delighted that your enjoyed your visit, both to Kinsale and the Trident.

We do try to facilitate our guests with early check-ins where possible but as check-out time is 12.00 noon this is not always possible.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Trident & Kinsale in the near future and as the motorway access from the North has improved so much it had become and easier journey.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We booked a "Luxury 3 Night Getaway", which put us into an Executive Double room overlooking the harbour. The hotel is a short walk from town, and the food in the hotel restaurant was pretty good, so we had no trouble finding meals or activities in Kinsale. Our only complaint was that a floorboard in the hallway caused our floor to creak whenever someone walked past our room. Otherwise the room and service were great.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear Dave R,

Many thanks for your review of your recent visit to the Trident Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the hotel and the town of Kinsale a good place to visit.

We'll try to find thet floor board and have it sorted by your next visit!

Many thanks.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Stayed here for a 2 night midweek break with my wife.
The hotels location is its biggest asset, located literally on the harbour ! It looks very good from the outside but once you enter the accomodation areas you can see the need for freshening up. Our room was tiny and the ensuite even more so. Our room overlooked a main road. The large window would normally be a plus but with no net curtain, privacy was a big issue with both people and traffic only feet away. The only way to change clothing was to pull the curtains (badly waterstained) blocking out all the light and the limited view of the harbour as the ensuite was too small (you could lose an elbow or worse !)
On the plus side the staff were all locals and very friendly and helpful. On checking-in we enquired about an upgrade which was promised for our second night but this was not forthcoming. We tried to check-in a little early (normal check-in 4pm which is a little late) as we had travelled a long distance but this was not possible. The receptionist (who also promised the upgrade) was pleasant and advised that our room was not ready but that if we wanted to go for lunch she would ring us when it was ready. We are still waiting for the upgrade and the phonecall !!!
We had dinner in the Pier One Restaurant. Again the staff were very good & service excellent. However the food was very average. My main course was changed by the chef as what I ordered had obviously run out. Unfortunately no-one spoke to me and the dish that arrived had the same sauce as my starter and the fish was horrendously overcooked (unforgivable in such a location). Wifes steak was excellent and well cooked. Breakfast served in the same restaurant was very good and not, thank God, the ubiquitous stewed buffet !
I have reviewed the Wharf Tavern Bar on the premises seperately as the staff there are worth a seperate mention and it is a gem in the Tridents crown.
Overall I would visit the Trident again, purely for the staff, the Wharf Tavern & the location but I would insist on a larger room.

Room Tip: Try to secure a room at the front of the hotel away from the road which should give more privacy. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear phmaster,

Thank you for your comprehensive review of your recent stay with us at the Trident Hotel.

I am sorry that you weren't happy with the location and size of your room and that you had some additional issues throughout your stay. We do have different levels of rooms from Standard, Executive, Junior Suites and Master Suites and all our room have views of the harbour. As you mentioned your room had a side view looking up the river Bandon where some / most of our rooms overlook the main harbour area. Where possible we endeavour to up grade our guests if there is a suitable room available.

I am pleased that your found the standard of service and generally the quality of food good. We prefer to serve our hot breakfast directly from the kitchen and with a cold buffet available also. We particularly appreciate your kind comments about our Wharf Tavern and the staff.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Trident on another occasion.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I stayed here one night on a vacation in Ireland. I tried to stay in another location in Kinsale, but it was going through a massive gut rehab. That other hotel's website suggested the Trident.

This is where the review gets tricky. If just judging by the room, I wouldn't be as positive. It was large, the bed good sized, but the decor and the fixtures were very dated, and there weren't enough of them, so the room looked underfurnished. It really brought out the flaws. I could see someone really picky about their hotel rooms thinking this was not up to snuff.

However, it was also the lowest price I paid for any hotel on my trip in Ireland, so from a price-to-quality perspective it was a very good value. That's part of why I want to give 3.5 stars.

I loved the location of the hotel. It's right on the harbor (harbour since this is in Ireland?), a great view of the port, and that for a while a ship was right by the hotel unloading its cargo was enjoyable. I stayed in Kinsale rather than Cork because I wanted a more out of the way place to stay, so staying in a working port was fine with me. Great walk along the water into town.

Staff was friendly, especially my server at breakfast. She was nice and allowed me to try a sample of oatmeal to see if I wanted a full order of that or an order of eggs.

Overall I would like to try a different place to stay next time in Kinsale, but if this was the only option available I wouldn't be upset.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear Pedro666,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us at the Trident Hotel.

I gather it is some time since you stayed with us - possibly some time last winter or early spring.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed our location and quality of service from the staff.

Hopefully you will stay with us on another occasion when you return to Kinsale.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Down
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Trident Hotel. The first night we were given an EXECUTIVE ROOM overlooking the magnificent harbour.... but this is not our idea of an Executive room! Bulbs blown and not replaced, cracked bathroom floor tiles, hopeless old fashioned television, curtains that don't close properly, no bottled water, no fridge etc. However, the next day we were upgraded to a junior suite which was so very much better. Beautiful views from very large room, magnificent bathroom with power shower and very large bath, lovely wash hand basin with ample room for our toiletries, super quality towels which were changed daily and good quality soaps and lotions. Excellent breakfast too! Evening meal was ok but nothing more than that as menu was very limited. However, the dining room staff were efficient and friendly. All in all a very good stay but until those "Executive Rooms" are updated and refurbished Trident Hotel doesn't get 4* from me. More worthy of 3* I reckon. Being the eternal optimist I believe we would return in the hope that the refurbishment would be complete and all facilities intact and in working order.

Room Tip: Beautiful Location
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patsy063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear Patsy063,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us in the Trident Hotel.

I am sorry that not everythintg was to your liking and particularly that you had maintenance issues with your first room. I am pleased that your Junior Suite was more acceptable and I hope that the food and service you recieved may have made up for some of the previous shortcomings.

We are currently in the planning stage for our continuing refurbishment this winter.

Thank you for your constructive comments.

Kind regards,

Hla McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,371 reviews
Perryville House
#6 of 50 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trident Hotel Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trident Hotel Kinsale

Property: Trident Hotel Kinsale
Address: World's End, Kinsale, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Trident Hotel Kinsale 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly refurbished bedrooms include an executive wing comprising 30 rooms and a penthouse floor of nine luxury suites, all with breath-taking views of the harbour and the enchanting town of Kinsale. The Pier One Restaurant, which is the only waterfront restaurant in the Gourmet Capital of Ireland, offering the freshest of seafood and locally sourced produce, and the Wharf Tavern and Terrace which has been a welcoming meeting place for golfers, sailors, locals and holidaymakers for decades. The new Foredeck bar area, where to get closer to the sea you would have to get on board a boat is, in the summer sunshine, the perfect place to unwind and take in the sea breezes while sipping a cocktail or cool beer. The Trident has a private marina, onsite parking and a wide range of state of the art facilities for conferences and unforgettable venues for family occasions, the Trident Hotel ticks every box for any occasion, from the very intimate to larger events catering for over 200 people. We look forward to welcoming you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trident Hotel Kinsale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing