We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,156)
Filter reviews
1,157 results
Traveller rating
543
383
155
51
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
543
383
155
51
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswharf tavernexecutive roomresidents barhuge windowskipperslovely hotelsea viewoverlooking the watercold buffetlovely viewthe pubroom was largefull irishthird floora lovely staygreat townlovely room
Filter
Updating list...
753 - 758 of 1,157 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This isn't a particularly fancy hotel but it has loads going for it. Firstly the views from the executive rooms are just amazing. YOu are so close to the sea and the boats and all that makes Kinsale so special. Other reviews have said that the rooms are a bit dated and need updating but we didn't think so. The rooms are quite plain but they are modern and in the executive rooms (which were good value for Kinsale in our view) were spacious with lovely bathrooms. The staff on reception were excellent - very friendly and professional. The seating area right on the water is amazing and it was quite easy to get a table there which was hard to believe in July. And its got a great pub (see seperate review). What's not to like? Go - its really good and doesn't deserve some of the picky reviews its had.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are worth the extra for the space and the guaranteed amazing view.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penmaenmawr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Penmaenmawr2,

Thank you for your very positive review of your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our location and facilities to a high standard. Thank you for your comment on our hard working and friendly staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Great location a short walk from the main town centre with plenty of choices for restaurants and bars. The rooms (We chose the 3rd floor King) were large great views comfortable beds and big bathrooms with great separate walk in showers. Its more of a good Best Western hotel than a Sheraton but then it was above our expectation for what we paid. The breakfast is a bit cafetieria conference style service than personalised caring and is not as good as the rooms would suggest should be provided. there are a few signs of wear and tear but everything very clean.Free car parking a plus also. Would we return? A big yes.

Room Tip: The bigger KS rooms are great
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MG_Eclipse_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear MG_Eclipse_Boy,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at the Trident Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and the town of Kinsale and that you found the facilities and location to be good. I'm sorry that you weren't too impressed with your breakfast service as we find the combination between the cold buffet and hot breakfast service from the kitchen to be a good balance.

I hope that we will be able to welcome you back on another occasion before too long.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I organised a meeting of about 50 people for 3 days at the hotel. Most of the people attending the meeting were from overseas. All of the feedback that I got from the delegates was positive: friendly and professional staff, good food and an excellent location with views of the harbour from everyone's room. Most of the delegates had not heard of Kinsale before and were really impressed by the town as well, a fact that was certainly helped by fantastic weather!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Simon,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent conference.

We are delighted that this event went so well and hopefully you will have an opportunity to host another before too long. Kinsale lends itself to small and medium sized conference so that the work can take place and you still have the charms of the historic and vibrant town to balance the mood. I think you did say that you would leave a little more time to enjoy what Kinsale has to offer both on land and sea.

We will be delighted to give you whatever support you may need to arrange a similar event.

Thank you for your very kind comments.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The rooms most give directly on to the sea. They are perfectly furnished and well sound proofed.
Rather confusingly the ground floor reception is actually floor 5, so go for bedrooms facing the sea on floor 6.
Restaurant and sun deck in on floor 4, with spa on 3.
The evening meal was as would be expected from a Michelin starred place.
This is a place to go back to.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdrianLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Lovely room (222) with an unbelievable view. Really enjoyed our stay here. Room was spacious and v clean. Huge windows to take advantage of the incredible view but the curtains were black out which kept the room nice and dark in the morning. The room was hot so we kept the windows open but it was fine as there was no noise in the morning. Found the staff really helpful, obliging and efficient. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms 222 and 317. Fab
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayniesmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear Jayniesmurf,

Many thanks for your review of your recent stay with us at the Trident Hotel.

We like to get the 'Thumbs up' from our guests and yours is very welcome! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you found your room, the view and the staff to a high standard. We can't always promise the sun but we certainly on a roll at the moment and we're not too far from Cork for another quick visit.

We look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews