We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,161)
Filter reviews
1,161 results
Traveller rating
545
385
155
51
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
545
385
155
51
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswharf tavernexecutive roomresidents barhuge windowskipperslovely hotelsea viewoverlooking the watercold buffetlovely viewthe pubfull irishroom was largethird floora lovely staygreat townlovely room
Filter
Updating list...
753 - 758 of 1,161 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I would recommend this hotel to anyone...it was quite convenient and wonderfully comfortable ..the room was very large and clean, the breakfast was full of choices and the location was both. scenic and a very short walk to the center of Kinsale town..

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear Michael,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us in the Trident Hotel.

I am delighted that it was such a positive experience and I hope that you will spread the word to your friends and family and bring them with you when you come back - many thanks!

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

When we booked we requested an upgrade to an Executive room with views of the harbour. Imagine our excitement when we arrived and were directed to a suite. We had a full length wall with floor to ceiling windows on one side overlooking the small marina and a huge balcony again with floor to ceiling windows with a view out over the harbour. The room itself was huge and comfortable. The location is ideal with free parking and a short walk into the town itself which brings you past the large marina. The food in the Wharf Tavern was fantastic. Ideal base to visit West Cork. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorraineKilkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear Christie,

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to the Trident Hotel.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stop here and that the views over the harbour, our location and the professional staff helped with you're positive experience of Kinsale.

I hope that you will return soon.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Be sure to request a room with a view of the bay. We were thrilled with the view we had....huge windows the length of the room. The room was clean and quite adequately furnished, a little wear and tear, but still a great experience. Long walk from lift to the room, but well worth the walk. Short walk into town. Breakfast was lovely and nicely garnished. Try to get there when you can get a table by the windows. The staff was quite professional and knowledgeable. You will like this stop.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room on the side furtherest from the town, 2nd or third floor, overlooking the bay.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Christie,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our location with the great views over the bay. We much appreciate your kind comments.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We initially picked the Trident Hotel because it offered ample on site parking as compared to the hotels in town where parking sounded like it would be a problem. It was the first 3 night stop for us after arriving at Shannon Airport on June 20. We had requested a quiet room and we got our wish. We paid a little extra for a view of the harbor and a small sitting area by the large picture window. By the next day, we realized we had made the right choice in all regards. The location made it easy to walk into town for dinner or to the two forts. Before and after dinner, we LOVED sitting in our chairs watching the harbor activity while drinking wine. The 15' tide differential blew our minds. One evening, we watched a fishing boat return to an awaiting hungry seal which happily jumped out of the water to get a donated fish. Parking was never an issue. We thoroughly loved Kinsale and our hotel accommodations.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Bruce,

Thank you for your very kind review of your recent stay with us at the Trident Hotel.

I am pleased that you chose the Trident for your stay in Kinsale and I must say you painted a very good 'word picture' of the view from your room. It gives a very good idea of the wonderful ambience of the "The World's End!"

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This isn't a particularly fancy hotel but it has loads going for it. Firstly the views from the executive rooms are just amazing. YOu are so close to the sea and the boats and all that makes Kinsale so special. Other reviews have said that the rooms are a bit dated and need updating but we didn't think so. The rooms are quite plain but they are modern and in the executive rooms (which were good value for Kinsale in our view) were spacious with lovely bathrooms. The staff on reception were excellent - very friendly and professional. The seating area right on the water is amazing and it was quite easy to get a table there which was hard to believe in July. And its got a great pub (see seperate review). What's not to like? Go - its really good and doesn't deserve some of the picky reviews its had.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are worth the extra for the space and the guaranteed amazing view.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penmaenmawr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Penmaenmawr2,

Thank you for your very positive review of your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our location and facilities to a high standard. Thank you for your comment on our hard working and friendly staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews