We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Spent two nights in the Trident last week.
Positives: reception staff very friendly and welcoming. Excellent location with beautiful views of the water/harbour. Breakfast was tasty; cold buffet a bit disapointing.

The rooms could do with blinds or something. Also, the car parking can be tricky at checkin times.

Overall, would return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor so people cant see into your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear David,

Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your recent 2 night stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed the friendly reception from our staff and the location of the hotel.

I am sorry that you were a little disappointed with our cold buffet for breakfast as we use all locally sourced produce in addition to the cereals and juices and of course to cooked breakfast from the kitchen.

We look forward to you changing your "would return" to "will return" before too long.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,017)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

611 - 617 of 1,017 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

Have brought groups to this hotel every year for the past 3 years. Wouldn't go anywhere else. And sure, why would I? Everything about this place is great - especially the views from the rooms. To all the staff at Trident, go raibh mile maith agaibh. Can't wait to see ye all again next year.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mercyful-Hour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Marcyful Hour,

Many thanks for your kind comments and your support over the years.

I am delighted that you enjoyed you most recent stay with us and hopefully you and your friends will be back before too long.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I came to Kinsale on business, wow what a lovely place.
A short taxi ride from Cork Airport, Kinsale has so many wonderful restaurants and bars.
The hotel was good, the rooms were clean and tidy, a short walk along the harbour and your in the middle of the bars and restaurants.
The hotel gave us an events guide when we arrived showing all the music that was on live that night. We went to 3 different bars to sample the live music.
Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dannny_boy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Danny_boy2,

Thank you for your review of your recent business trip to Kinsale. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and got to see the sights of Kinsale and, no doubt, got the business side done as well.

We are only 25 - 30 minutes from Cork City Centre and 20 minutes from Cork International Airport so Kinsale and the Trident Hotel offer an ideal location to combine the serious side of business with the pleasures of visiting an interesting and exciting town.

We hope you will be back again soon.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Nice hotel located on the waterfront in Kinsale. We were fortunate the weather was nice and warm which really allows you to enjoy the beautiful setting of Kinsale. Check in was quick and easy, we had a nice view of Kinsale harbour from the room which was clean but a bit dated - chairs could be replaced and we did find the bed a little uncomfortable - especially the pillows. Room was a bit stuffy - like many hotel rooms and with the window open we could hear all the activity in the car park below at 4am in the morning!
Otherwise our short one night stay enjoyable and would recommend provided of course that you get a good rate.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank decso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear decso,

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to the Trident Hotel.

I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay although the good weather obviously kept some guests out late!

We always have competative rates and packages available and have different room types which give different budgetry options.

I hope that we will be able to welcome back to the Trident before too long.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I would recommend this hotel to anyone...it was quite convenient and wonderfully comfortable ..the room was very large and clean, the breakfast was full of choices and the location was both. scenic and a very short walk to the center of Kinsale town..

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear Michael,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us in the Trident Hotel.

I am delighted that it was such a positive experience and I hope that you will spread the word to your friends and family and bring them with you when you come back - many thanks!

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

When we booked we requested an upgrade to an Executive room with views of the harbour. Imagine our excitement when we arrived and were directed to a suite. We had a full length wall with floor to ceiling windows on one side overlooking the small marina and a huge balcony again with floor to ceiling windows with a view out over the harbour. The room itself was huge and comfortable. The location is ideal with free parking and a short walk into the town itself which brings you past the large marina. The food in the Wharf Tavern was fantastic. Ideal base to visit West Cork. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorraineKilkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear Christie,

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to the Trident Hotel.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stop here and that the views over the harbour, our location and the professional staff helped with you're positive experience of Kinsale.

I hope that you will return soon.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Be sure to request a room with a view of the bay. We were thrilled with the view we had....huge windows the length of the room. The room was clean and quite adequately furnished, a little wear and tear, but still a great experience. Long walk from lift to the room, but well worth the walk. Short walk into town. Breakfast was lovely and nicely garnished. Try to get there when you can get a table by the windows. The staff was quite professional and knowledgeable. You will like this stop.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room on the side furtherest from the town, 2nd or third floor, overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Christie,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our location with the great views over the bay. We much appreciate your kind comments.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
980 reviews
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,637 reviews
Perryville House
#6 of 53 in Kinsale
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trident Hotel Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trident Hotel Kinsale

Address: World's End House Lower o'Connell Street, Kinsale P17 HY20, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range: £104 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Trident Hotel Kinsale 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly refurbished bedrooms include an executive wing comprising 30 rooms and a penthouse floor of nine luxury suites, all with breath-taking views of the harbour and the enchanting town of Kinsale. The Pier One Restaurant, which is the only waterfront restaurant in the Gourmet Capital of Ireland, offering the freshest of seafood and locally sourced produce, and the Wharf Tavern and Terrace which has been a welcoming meeting place for golfers, sailors, locals and holidaymakers for decades. The new Foredeck bar area, where to get closer to the sea you would have to get on board a boat is, in the summer sunshine, the perfect place to unwind and take in the sea breezes while sipping a cocktail or cool beer. The Trident has a private marina, onsite parking and a wide range of state of the art facilities for conferences and unforgettable venues for family occasions, the Trident Hotel ticks every box for any occasion, from the very intimate to larger events catering for over 200 people. We look forward to welcoming you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Trident Hotel Kinsale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing