We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
IRELAND
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not very pleasant”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed here in September for our anniversary and i was very disappointed. From the website it looks modern but it isnt. It's very dated and badly needs to be modernised. The reception is old & not very welcoming. We had a decent sized room but it was in bad need of painting and smelled like a smoking room. The staff were friendly. We had dinner on one night which was ok but breakfast was lovely each morning. The location of the hotel is excellent and the views are fab but it's too old style for my liking. I would go back to Kinsale but i dont think i would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOCKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Jocks,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Trident Hotel.

I am sorry that you didn't find your stay very pleasant and that you found you room to be dated. We will be completing our refurbishment of some of the remaining bedrooms during the winter which I hope will address some of the issues you raised. Possible you might try one of our Executive rooms or Suites on your next visit to improve your experience

I am pleased that you found our location, breakfast and staff to your liking.

Hopefully you will visit us again.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    342
    145
    50
    23
See reviews for
171
514
19
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Lovely Hotel overlooking harbour, short walk from town centre. Lift and very comfortable rooms. Very helpful staff and nice restaurant and lovely food! Would almost certainly go back again. Loved it!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValerieBuckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Valerie,

Thank you for your very positive review of your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and we thank you for your kind comments.

I hope that we will see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Took a few days vacation with my family. We new there were no family rooms available so we took a room with 2 doubles. Upon arrival everything was great although the reception seemed to be a little stressed and was not too helpful trying to figure somewhere to eat. We then went to our room quite excited as the hotel is a great location and we spotted a few of the rooms being cleaned and they looked great.

We arrived in our room and were very disappointed. The bathroom was similar to that of my old student accommodation, well actually worse. Just horrible, dirty, old, smelly. We thought well ok let's just leave it. We went to bed that night and I did not sleep. Our room was on the corner of the hotel on the road. Traffic all night.

Next morning I asked for a room move and in fairness they gave us a suite overlooking the harbour. Again the excitement.......but it was short lived. the room was actually worse. The bathroom was old, dirty and just something you would find in the movie trainspotting. The window was broken, the bed was something that should have went on a bonfire etc etc etc.....

I tried to get into Actons but it was full. When I again complained and asked why the bathrooms were old and there were some in the hotel I was told that we had booked a standard room and they were the deluxe rooms. At no point had anyone ever told us about this.

All in all a very poor experience and I given this was a short 4 day break I felt totally stressed after the break.

Room Tip: Ask for one to the front of the harbour and also a deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 43Saul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear 43 saul,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay.

I am sorry that you had such a disappointing experience and that our staff were unable to rectify the situation. If we had alternative rooms available I'm sure they would have found a solution.

I am surprised that our receptionist had difficulty finding you somewhere to eat although sometimes it can be difficult to match a client with a suitable restaurant.

I am sorry that we failed to satisfy your requirements, but I hope you enjoyed your visit to Kinsale.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grassy Key, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed at the Trident for three nights for a Clan Gathering. My interactions with all the staff were exceptional. I needed assistance setting up a projector for a presentation. The on-duty manager took me right to the conference room, checked all the equipment for me and ensured everything was working correctly.
We booked a standard room which actually did overlook the harbour. The room was fitted out adequately, but the lighting was poor. I have seen complaints about the size of the bathrooms, and while they are compact, they have been upgraded with lovely fixtures and tiling and have everything you could need.
We ate several meals in the pub. The food was great. Breakfast was cooked to order which is a nice change from larger hotels in the area. The wait staff were superb for breakfast and in the pub.
We did find the room noisy at night due to revelers attending a party in another part of the hotel. Management might want to patrol the parking lot to quiet people down.

Room Tip: If you are interested in a quiet room, ask for a room on the back side of the hotel away from the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Relaxedtravels57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Relaxedtravels57,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us in the Trident Hotel.

I am delighed that you found our customer service to be excellent, we are very lucky to have such a good, loyal and friendly staff. We have renovated most of our standard room bathrooms and will complete this task during the winter and the vast majority of our bedrooms have a view over the harbour.

I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Trident and kinsale in the near future.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Although we had a lovely view, this hotel fell short of all expectations. Firstly we could hear snoring from the room next door. The hotel was more than just tired it needed a major revamp. The breakfast was terrible and we ended up eating breakfast elsewhere. However the staff were warm, friendly and helpful.

No we won't be back

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathy255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Kathy,

I'm sorry you had a disappointing stay with us in the Trident Hotel.

We will be undertaking a refurbishment this winter so will be addressing the rooms that need attention. I am surprised that you had a poor experience with breakfast which normally meets with approval, I'm sorry that this was the case.

I hope that this experience did not take from your enjoyment of Kinsale.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel after being let down with an overbooking from another hotel, and it worked out very well in the end!
When we arrived we were greeted by friendly staff who offered us a free upgrade on our room. The view from our large windows overlooked the lovely harbour which sits right next to the hotel. The rooms were very clean and well presented, and good value for what we paid. Breakfast was delicious (full Irish), and we will definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tbonetender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Tbonetender,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, even if it was 'by accident'!

We appreciate your kind comments and I am delighted that you enjoyed our location and facilities and that you found our staff friendly.

We look forward to wecoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Recently stayed in the Trident with our Tour Group. We had a very enjoyed one night stay. The Dinner and Breakfast was Excellent The bedrooms were nice and comfortable, but I must say a bit dated and could do with some upgrading. The walls in the bedrooms have a very bleak and cold feel and a poor quality plaster finish. The scenery there was amazing and the view from the bedrooms was great. So, would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Group T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Group T,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Trident Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay, breakfast and dinner. I hope that by the next time you stay with us we will have completed our renovations which are planned for this winter.

Thank you for your kind comments.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
929 reviews
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,502 reviews
Perryville House
#6 of 53 in Kinsale
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trident Hotel Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trident Hotel Kinsale

Property: Trident Hotel Kinsale
Address: World's End, Kinsale, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Trident Hotel Kinsale 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly refurbished bedrooms include an executive wing comprising 30 rooms and a penthouse floor of nine luxury suites, all with breath-taking views of the harbour and the enchanting town of Kinsale. The Pier One Restaurant, which is the only waterfront restaurant in the Gourmet Capital of Ireland, offering the freshest of seafood and locally sourced produce, and the Wharf Tavern and Terrace which has been a welcoming meeting place for golfers, sailors, locals and holidaymakers for decades. The new Foredeck bar area, where to get closer to the sea you would have to get on board a boat is, in the summer sunshine, the perfect place to unwind and take in the sea breezes while sipping a cocktail or cool beer. The Trident has a private marina, onsite parking and a wide range of state of the art facilities for conferences and unforgettable venues for family occasions, the Trident Hotel ticks every box for any occasion, from the very intimate to larger events catering for over 200 people. We look forward to welcoming you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Trident Hotel Kinsale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing