We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“That view”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Went to the hotel with my boyfriend over night didnt expect much when we arrived as the outside of the hotel didnt look great, well were we surprised it was amazing. Our room was beautiful and extremely clean the view from our bedroom was spectacular. Great location. The only fault i have with the hotel is the rude ladies on reception who all looked like they wanted to be anywhere but there and rude ! O and also the swimming facilities are in another sister hotel a few minutes walk away not ideal !

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Donna,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us in the Trident Hotel.

I am delighted that you were so impressed with your room and the views from the hotel. I am disappointed that you felt that you got a less than warm welcome to the hotel from our reception team, I apologize to you for that shortcoming.

The leisure facilities available free to our guests are in our sister hotel a pleasant 300m stroll along the harbour from the Trident and have recently been refurbished. .

I hope that we will see you here again and that you will have a more positive service experience.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    337
    145
    50
    23
See reviews for
167
510
19
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

stayed in the trident at the weekend, and its a lovely hotel to stay in. The reception is a bit lacking something, music, atmosphere, personality i cant put my finger on it - anyway the girl was lovely at the desk.

We booked a suite, well worth it, bed was huge and so comfortable, the bathroom was floor to ceiling marble massive shower & bath, was real luxury and the bathrobes :) stunning views over looking kinsale harbour.
We had dinner included, staff were very helpful and the food was devine, i had goats cheese and sea bass, he had the caeser salad & pork, the desserts OMG get the meringue nest yummm or as i had the mousse.
Breakfast was served with a smile and quick and was lovely also.
thank you guys had a great stay and would go back here again,

Room Tip: ensure you ask for a seaview room or pay that extra for the room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pandacork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear pandacork,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your visit this weekend.

I am delighted that you enjoyed yourselves and that you found the welcome, food and service to a high standard and of course the location on the water with great views. Winter or summer there is always something to be seen and enjoyed from our harbour view rooms. You don't have to travel too far to be 'away'.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This hotel is a beautiful mixture of modern and old with up to date rooms, all the facilities you expect from a hotel of this class but a cozy old bar with live Irish music. The staff have obviously been well trained, they are attentive without being intrusive. Kudos to their manager. The hotel is set right on the water, perfect for watching the sailing, even if the weather isn't perfect. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cornishmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear cornishmama,

Thank you very much for your review of your recent visit to the Trident Hotel.

'Perfection' is a wonderful accolade! Thank you! I am delighted that your enjoyed the hotel and obviously the town of Kinsale as well.

We look forward to welcoming back before too long.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My husband & I spent a night here on a dinner, bed & breakfast deal. The room was fine...spotlessly clean, possibly not of a four star rating, but nothing wrong with it at the same time, having tea/coffee making facilities & a hairdryer etc. The welcome we received at reception was very friendly & professional. We had a drink in the bar where the service was great. We ate dinner at the restaurant and both the food & service were excellent. Breakfast next morning was cooked to order & perfect. If you are looking for leisure facilities you can use those of the Acton Hotel which is just up the road, and the hotel is central for popping out to enjoy Kinsale and all it has to offer. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and will stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anonireland10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear anonireland10,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Trident Hotel.

I am delighted that you and your husband enjoyed your visit and that the staff and services were to your liking.

We look forward to welcoming back again soon.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vero beach, fl
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The hotel is convenient to most everything in Kinsale and is situated on the harbour. If you get a room with a view, it’s lovely. My travel agent had not thought of that (About Ireland) but fortunately the hotel upgraded us to a wonderful room with a water view. Wasn’t too hard siince it is January and there were very few customers, so don’t expect it all year and be sure to ask for a room with a water view.

ALSO THE WINDOWS OPEN SO YOU CAN GET THE BREEZE FROM THE WATER.
The receptionist was friendly and helpful in every way possible, even turninng on our electric heater when the bellman forgot to do it after delivering our bags to the room.

Beds great, shower and tub perfect and breakfast good but not exceptional. but location, location, location....EXCELLENT

Room Tip: with water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thefengshuilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Fengsuilady,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at the Trident Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that our receptionist was helpful even if the bellman was a little forgetful.

We have 75 bedroons in the Trident and the vast majority have sea views but to be sure you should ask for an Executive harbour facing room.

I hope that you will have the opportunity to return to the Trident and Kinsale at a busier time of the year so that you can appreciate this wonderful historic town when in full 'bloom'.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We spent New Year here in the beautiful village of Kinsale. The Trident is a superb hotel in the Marina, a nice 5 minute stroll to the centre.

Opted for a Junior Suite ( worth the extra ) with stunning views from a floor to ceiling panoramic window.

Great breakfasts and brilliant friendly staff.

Bar was a bit quiet, but that may have been because of the time of year.

Great value for money.

Room Tip: Go for a Suite - really spacious and better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Back0fnapkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear BackOfnapkin,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us for New Year.

We very much appreciate your positive comments and I am delighted that you enjoyed the Trident Hotel and Kinsale. The winter is not our busiest time - why not come back in the spring or summer when there is more to do and see?

Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your experience.

Happy New Year!

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We were on our 1st vacation to Ireland and intentionally did not make advance reservations for any of our 8 nights. As we are in the hotel industry, we were excited about being able to pick and choose as the mood hit us.

We arrived at the Trident on Saturday night around 9, While it was more than we needed, we accepted the only accommodation they said they had - a handicapped accessible suite. The restaurant was closed, but there was light fare in the pub available. The meal there was basic at best.

Sunday breakfast, which was included in the suite rate, was excellent and a treat - much better than the evening before.

Sunday morning was an adventure. The shower went into an open drain in the bath and 4 minutes into it, the bathroom floor was completely wet and leaking into the bedroom. When the hotel staff arrived, the problem was a very clogged drain that had obviously not been cleaned in quite awhile.

We had several calls to the desk on this and several other issues, with little responsiveness. We left a detailed comment card, and advised the brand's service email access as we were not certain the comment card would be shared with the hotel manager.

He did reply several days later with an apology and an adjustment to the bill. He was very professional in his demeanor and responsiveness, which was appreciated.

We would recommend this a "very good" hotel.

Room Tip: Look for a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HoganHospitality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Mr Hogan,

Thank you for your review of the Trident Hotel.

I hope that you enjoyed your first visit to Ireland and that you had time to relax and enjoy the experience.

I am glad that we were able to address the issues you had during your stay.

I hope that you will return to Ireland in the near future and that you will return to the Trident and Kinsale and stay a little longer to appreciate our lovely historic town.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
908 reviews
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,464 reviews
Perryville House
#7 of 53 in Kinsale
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trident Hotel Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trident Hotel Kinsale

Property: Trident Hotel Kinsale
Address: World's End, Kinsale, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Trident Hotel Kinsale 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly refurbished bedrooms include an executive wing comprising 30 rooms and a penthouse floor of nine luxury suites, all with breath-taking views of the harbour and the enchanting town of Kinsale. The Pier One Restaurant, which is the only waterfront restaurant in the Gourmet Capital of Ireland, offering the freshest of seafood and locally sourced produce, and the Wharf Tavern and Terrace which has been a welcoming meeting place for golfers, sailors, locals and holidaymakers for decades. The new Foredeck bar area, where to get closer to the sea you would have to get on board a boat is, in the summer sunshine, the perfect place to unwind and take in the sea breezes while sipping a cocktail or cool beer. The Trident has a private marina, onsite parking and a wide range of state of the art facilities for conferences and unforgettable venues for family occasions, the Trident Hotel ticks every box for any occasion, from the very intimate to larger events catering for over 200 people. We look forward to welcoming you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Trident Hotel Kinsale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing