We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views and area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This hotel is in the perfect location! The staff helped me to find a perfect running route by the sea, plus you are in close proximity to shops and restaurants in town. The staff was helpful andv we couldn't have asked for a better stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Samantha,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Trident Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the staff helpful. We have some wonderful walking (and running ) routes around Kinsale and many other activities to become involved with.

I hope that you will have the opportunity to come back to Kinsale and the Trident Hotel before too long again.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (999)
There are newer reviews for Trident Hotel Kinsale
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

533 - 539 of 999 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

My husband and i had yet another delightful night away thanks to the staff of the Trident! Ever since our wedding 30/9/'11 we're always made feel like celebrities when we stay!!! I just love coming back to this hotel and all it has to offer....Great staff, great food, great rooms and great location!!! So i would like to say a big THANK YOU and we look forward to our next stay. :) xxx

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angiepangies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Angiepangies,

A big THANK YOU to you also!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your most recent visit and we much appreciate your feedback.

It is always a pleasure to have you here and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Very nice! This hotel offers a great location and friendly staff. The hotel is very modern and had great views of the bay. The only issue we had was with wifi, which could have been attributed to the weather.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Jeff,

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to the Trident Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and particularly our location overlooking the harbour in Kinsale.

I am sorry that you had some difficulty with the WiFi it may just have been a weather related 'blip' as you say.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Trident and Kinsale before too long.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed 2 nights as part of a tour group. This was our first trip doing the bus tour thing, we usually stay at B&B's for the warmth and personal attention. I can tell you the Trident Hotel made us feel as welcome as any B&B! Check in was organized, efficient, and our Failte was warm and heartfelt. The facility is modern, clean, and the art work is from local artists, and a nice mix of media and nautical themes. Our room faced the harbor with a big clean picture window, beautiful view, and the sunrise was stunning!
We had breakfast in the Port of Call, nice seating, views and service, the the Irish Fry was yummy. Our dinner in the Wharf Tavern was delicious, the seafood absolutely fresh and prepared well. We stayed for the craic and music, and had a wonderful time.
The Irish hotel "resident bar" concept is something that should be adopted everywhere! We had a great time meeting up with friends "after hours", and our host that night took good care of us, as well as the rest of the hotel. Well done, sir!
We look forward to staying at the Trident again in the future. when we return to wonderful Kinsale.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Cathy,

Thank you for your very positive review of your recent visit to the Trident Hotel.

I am delighted that your enjoyed your stay and that you found the welcome warm and personal. We pride ourselves on our great and attentive staff.

You seem to have found some of our 'hidden' or not so hidden 'gems'. We have some lovely contemporary artwork around the hotel and the night bar is one of the cosiest I have ever been in!

Your breakfast would have been in our 'Pier One' reataurant and as with all the rooms in the Trident has a wonderful view of the harbour (except the residents bar for some reason!). I am pleased that you enjoyed your meal in our Wharf Tavern which is one of the many good resaturants in Kinsale serving excellent locally sourced food.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Brought my Mother here for Mother's day. Was a terrible experience from start to finish. Upon entering the establishment, the waitstaff were incredibly stressed and started barking at us to sit down, shouting at us that it was table service only (we were only having a quick look at the buffet!)... whilst having a look at the buffet, the lady behind the counter, barked at us to sit down. Another member of staff, burst through the door and said "I am not in the mood for this today!" We took our seats for fear of being eaten alive!!! When our food was served, the waiter came to the table and shouted "turkey? turkey? turkey? turkey?" really quickly, I don't know if the plates were burning his hands or what, but get a serving cloth man! Food was alright, price was right, service let it down badly. Will never set foot in there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Mickm277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Mickm227,

Thank you for your review of your recent disappointing visit to the Trident Hotel.

I am sorry that you were not happy with the way you were treated during lunch on Sunday. Mothers day is obviously a busy and sometimes stressful day, not only for staff.

Your use of language is unfortunate because 'barking' and 'shouting' at customers is something you will not experience at the Trident Hotel.

Thank you for your comments on the food and price.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

On a very wet and windy weekend including Mothering Sunday it was a joy to be pampered and nurtured by the management and staff of the Trident Hotel. The decor and ambiance was a sight to behold! Attention to detail was the most impressive to me and I thoroughly enjoyed a get together with friends! I loved the restaurant and dinner was fine! The service was second to none! The choice on the menu was extensive and the waiting staff glided like angels around the tables deftly! The service and was discreet and the table was delighted when the waiter came to provide second helpings when necessary. The fact that I was in Kinsale made me opt for fresh fish. It was truly fresh and beautifully cooked. I had a delightful time and never noticed the nasty weather outside!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westshorefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Westshorefan,

Thank you for your review of your recent positive experience at the Trident Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and that you found the staff, service and food to be of a high standard. Hopefully the warmth of the welcome made up for the weather outside. It is great to spend time with good friends enjoying good food in pleasant surroundings and with pleasant service.

I hope you'll be back soon!

Many thanks for your kind comments.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

There are two ways to get by in a recession; make cuts and hope the cheap prices compensate for the poor service, or focus on offering a better service and try to win new customers.
I'm glad to say that the Trident Hotel is going the latter route.
From checking in, to checking out, we found a first class service all the way. The room was spotless, the extra rollaway bed for our daughter was already in place. The Wharf bar offers ok food if you don't want to go out. A lost purse was found and returned straight away. My only gripe would be the limited parking.
Highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank sean.casaidhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear sean.casaidhe,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay in the Trident Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and that you found our facilities and service to be of a high standard. I am sorry that you found difficulty with the parking, you must have encountered a particularly busy period when you were here. We do suggest to guests that when they are parked to leave the car and just walk around Kinsale as most places are accessable and if not there is a good taxi service!

I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Kinsale and the Trident Hotel before too long.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
947 reviews
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,556 reviews
Perryville House
#6 of 53 in Kinsale
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trident Hotel Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trident Hotel Kinsale

Address: World's End, Kinsale, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range: £101 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Trident Hotel Kinsale 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly refurbished bedrooms include an executive wing comprising 30 rooms and a penthouse floor of nine luxury suites, all with breath-taking views of the harbour and the enchanting town of Kinsale. The Pier One Restaurant, which is the only waterfront restaurant in the Gourmet Capital of Ireland, offering the freshest of seafood and locally sourced produce, and the Wharf Tavern and Terrace which has been a welcoming meeting place for golfers, sailors, locals and holidaymakers for decades. The new Foredeck bar area, where to get closer to the sea you would have to get on board a boat is, in the summer sunshine, the perfect place to unwind and take in the sea breezes while sipping a cocktail or cool beer. The Trident has a private marina, onsite parking and a wide range of state of the art facilities for conferences and unforgettable venues for family occasions, the Trident Hotel ticks every box for any occasion, from the very intimate to larger events catering for over 200 people. We look forward to welcoming you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trident Hotel Kinsale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing