We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy with our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
1,808 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,200 helpful votes
“Happy with our stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Trident before out sailing trip starting in Kinsale. Our room and I believe most of their rooms have great view from large window. The bed and pillows a bit hard and stiff but I guess some people must like it . The room overall well appointed. Tea / coffee available like in most places. Free Wi-Fi. Both bathtub and shower in our bathroom. Good pub on premises. Easy walk to historical parts of Kinsale and just all the basics of interest . Even Supervalu supermarket is very close by. I would stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank podrozniczka60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear podrozniczka60,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us in the Trident Hotel.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you had the opportunity to see the town before you set off sailing. I hope that you enjoyed the wonderful coastline of West Cork also.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    328
    142
    48
    23
See reviews for
159
492
18
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Our room was so far away from reception and the dining area that it seemed like crossing a football field. This hotel is in need of an upgrade. It is like staying at a motel 6....old carpet, dirty windows and drapes. The bathroom had stains on the counters and burrs on the faucet handles. The bed was large and comfortable. The biggest problem was that you could hear everything in adjoining rooms...conversations, loud tvs, and "intimate" noises. The walls need insulation. It was difficult to sleep. Location is good with onsite parking and the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToddLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear ToddLake,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us in the Trident hotel.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with your room and we will take you comments on board when we commence our planned refurbishment later this year.

I am pleased that you found the breakfast excellent and hopefully the walk to the far side of the hotel was rewarded with an excellent view over Kinsale harbour. Perhaps on your next visit you might request one of our Executive harbour facing rooms which would be closer to the lift and reception area.

I hope you also had some time to enjoy the beautiful town of Kinsale.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We had a brilliant one night stay at the Trident in Kinsale, Co Cork. Sadly the hotel was fully booked for the next night or we would have stayed much longer. The room was absolutely brilliant, with stunning views over the harbour, the river and the town. The staff were super helpful and breakfast was much better than average. The hotel was very convenient to Kinsale town centre, with its quaint narrow streets, brightly painted shops and absolutely amazing restaurants. It was our first visit to Kinsale and our stay at the Trident and meals at Finn's Table ensured that it won't be our last.

Room Tip: The corner suites are just amazing. Well priced, extremely well laid out, spacious, comfortable with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RavaraMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear RavaraMike,

Thank you for your very positive review of your recent stay with us in the Trident Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and would have preferred to have stayed longer if the room was available.

Our location, on the harbour side and proximity to all the shops, restaurants, galleries and quaint streets is a great advantage and we hope that you will return for a slightly longer visit the next time.

We look forward to seeing you.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at the Trident Hotel in late February. The hotel location is excellent, with great views of the harbour. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was great! Our room had the most comfortable bed I have slept in for a long time - it was HUGE bed and perfect for a great nights sleep!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDMpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear MDMpr,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us in February.

I am delighted that you everything so positive and that you found your 'huge' bed so comfortable. We appreciate your comment about our staff and breakfast.

As I remember February wasn't great weather wise - why don't you come again soon and see Kinsale in all it's glory?!

Many thanks for your kind comments.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

This hotel is in a perfect location overlooking Kinsale harbour.
Our 3 day stay was very enjoyable with great food and a lovely staff. In the bedroom they have a most comfortable American style bed that must be about 7 foot wide.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north rooms are quieter. Ask for a room that doesn't overlook the nearby road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Francis,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Trident with your retirement group.

I am delighted that you found everything so positive particularly our location and staff.

I hope that you will find time to come back to us - although you had a busy time here there is still more to see and do!

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Down, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

My wife and I spent four nights in the Trident last week and thoroughly enjoyed the experience.We took an executive room with sea view and it was spacious, clean and with a large comfortable bed. Bathroom was top notch with a separate powerful shower which was as good as any in the country. Plenty of space to put things either side of the sink. Mirrors were good for my wife to do her make up sitting down also a full length mirror. Views out to the bay were delightful catching the morning sun through the vast windows.

Breakfasts were brilliant, cooked to order with such delights as grilled Plaice, Kippers, and delicately smoked salmon plus the usual full Irish. We had one evening meal which was excellent.

The Wharf bar was a great place to finish the evening with a well made esspresso and a cognac!
I cannot speak highly enough of the staff who were well trained, extremely helpful and personable wether in the bar,restraurant or reception.

Most of all the whole experience was jolly good Value for Money. We cant wait to return to Kinsale and the Trident. Thanks!

Room Tip: We took room 103 an executive on the first floor.It was quiet not far to walk for reception Dining a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Dick,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent visit to the Trident Hotel.

I am delighted that we are one of your favourite Irish hotels! Your visit with us seems to have been very positive and you also seem to have experienced most if not all our services. I am particularly pleased with your comments about our staff - thank you.

I hope that you will find your way back to again soon.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed in the Trident hotel over the Easter break. It was not our first time in Kinsale.

Room was nice and big with a comfortable camp bed for our young daughter which was right beside the window. We were delighted with the view into the harbour.

Room had the usual touches tea/coffee, hairdryer. Bathroom had its own toiletries and plenty of towels. Bathroom was very spacious. We were on the second floor overlooking the boats in the harbour. Only concern was that the window could be opened out fully and was very big. There was no safety catch on it which I thought was quite unusual. Anyone with kids would need to watch out for this (maybe I am overly paranoid!!)

The staff were all so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Had some bar food which was nice (toasted sandwiches so can’t really make a mistake there)

Breakfast was served in the restaurant which was overlooking the harbour too. Staff were all very friendly and pleasant.

Selection for breakfast was good. Toast was delivered to the table automatically- if you do not eat white bread let them know as they just deliver white. Not sure if brown was available? Usual selection of cereals/ meats/cheeses and full breakfasts cooked to order.

Yogurts were not labeled would like to have seen this. Not sure if it was full fat milk/low fat same with yogurt . Would like to have seen this options available soy/almond milk etc.


I would definitely go back to the trident if I returned to Kinsale. I have stayed in the Blue Haven also and if its charm you like the Blue Haven is great but for large room size and location the trident cannot be beaten.

Generally I found Kinsale extremely expensive even more so than my last visit so definitely shop around for bars restaurants as prices and quality vary.

Some extra points: There is no iron or ironing board in the rooms perhaps they can be requested from reception? I could see from looking out the window that some rooms had wall mounted flat screen t.v’s ( ours was the old fashioned style) so if this is important to you request it when booking. Wi Fi was very patchy so if this is important to you check with staff on booking which rooms have a better reception.

Room Tip: room on second or third floor overlooking the harbour. Jim Edwards bar and restaurant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twinklesplodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Twinklesplodge,

Thank you for your comprehensive review of your recent stay with us in the Trident Hotel.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the room spacious and that your daughter's camp bed was comfortable.

I'm glad that you enjoyed the breakfast selection as we use local produce where possible and the yogurt is full fat Greek style produced in West Cork. I note your comments on alternative milk.

I am interested in your comments about Kinsale being expensive as I think there is quite a range of options and the majority of restaurants serve 'early bird' or special menus at very competitive rates.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully will return soon.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Blue Haven Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,313 reviews
Perryville House
#6 of 55 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trident Hotel Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trident Hotel Kinsale

Property: Trident Hotel Kinsale
Address: World's End, Kinsale, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Trident Hotel Kinsale 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four star hotel, spectacularly perched on the water's edge overlooking Kinsale Harbour. The hotel has 75 bedrooms including an Executive Wing comprising 30 rooms and 9 luxury suites, all with beautiful sea views. Only five minutes’ walk from the centre of Kinsale, the Trident Hotel is an excellent base to explore the winding streets and many shops, cafes, galleries and restaurants for which Kinsale is famous for. While you’re here, why not delve into the town’s fascinating historic past with a guided walking tour to famous sights including Charles Fort or engage in the wide variety of activities available from deep-sea fishing to scenic harbour cruising. Or use Kinsale as your base for exploring the wider West Cork region, renowned for its rugged landscape, unspoiled coastline and bustling towns. For shopaholics, Cork City is just a 30-minute drive from Kinsale. With a host of attractions and leisure activities on the doorstep – including the world-renowned Old Head Golf Links – the Trident Hotel Kinsale is certainly an ideal venue for both business and pleasure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trident Hotel Kinsale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing