We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just Fantastic”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed for two nights in the Harbour Suite and our relatives stayed in one of the twin rooms. The view from both was exquisite. The hotel is friendly, very clean and very welcoming. I would highly recommend the Trident - we will definitely be coming back.
Thanks to all for a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Alison,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us in the Trident Hotel.

I am delighted that you and you friends enjoyed your stay with us and particularly that you liked our Harbour Suite with it's balcony overlooking Kinsale Harbour.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    336
    144
    50
    23
See reviews for
163
504
19
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night while driving across Ireland. We loved the hotel. From check in, to the view of the harbor, to drinks at the tavern and the best part was breakfast! From our room we could see seals in the harbor area. It was so wonderful to spot them! The view and the location set for a perfect afternoon of snapping photos. For after dinner drinks we went to the tavern and I was really craving a mixed drink from back home and the bartender was nice enough to make it for me! The next morning we sat next to the window and once again right outside the window was a seal swimming! That was a truly special moment for me. And the breakfast was great! The person tending to us came over multiple times to check on us and we loved the professionalism and promptness of all the staff. All in all so glad we chose to stay here. Was extremely pleasant and made our day in kinsale amazing : )

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shayla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Shayla,

Thank you for your very positive review of your recent stay with us in the Trident Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed every minute of of your stay and you obviously took your time to experience all that Kinsale has to offer including the wildlife on our doorstep - or outside our restaurant window!

You seem to have taken time to appreciate what was around you while still enjoying your tour of Ireland. I hope you have experienced enough to make you come to visit again!

Thank you for your kind comments.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My sister and I stayed for one night last week. The hotel is in a great location and we had a nice view of the harbour. The room was very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was very good.
The staff in the hotel were excellent, really friendly and helpful. We arrived in quite late and they had stopped serving food - a man on reception offered to make us toasted sandwiches and chips! So well done Trident - you can be proud of your staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waterford_Treasures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear L C,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us last week.

I am delighted that you had a lovely stay and that you found your room and breakfast good and particularly our staff to be friendly and helpful.

Hopefully we will see you back soon - Waterford is not too far away!

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden City, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Trident Hotel had already been reviewed in the past with comments similar to what I am about to say. If the view is important, then this is certainly one of the best choices in Kinsale.
The location of the hotel could not be better. Most or all of the rooms in the hotel overlook the water, and the hotel is right on the edge of town. The walk to the town center is about 2-3 minutes,if that.
The room(Junior Suite) was spacious and had a large picture window overlooking the water. It really was a great view! The bathroom was large and had a big tub and a separate shower.The staff was very helpful and went out of their way to get you what you needed and answer all your questions. They wet helpful with suggesting restaurants and activities too.
The free breakfast was THE WORST breakfast of out whole two weeks in Ireland. Although the servers were quick and very kind, the food was just awful. The fruit bowl on the buffet table looked like they emptied a few cans of grapefruit slices in to a large bowl. That was about all the fruit there was! The scramble eggs I ordered were tasteless.
So be prepared to have a nice room, good service but eat breakfast elsewhere!

Room Tip: Make sure to ask if your room has a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jvstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear jvstrong,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Trident Hotel.

I am sorry that you were not happy with the breakfast you received during your stay with us - we obviously did not meet our usual standards. We provide locally produced products on our buffet and from the kitchen and normally have a number of fruit options on the buffet from fresh fruit salad, grapefruit (imported) and mixed berries. In addition we have local farmhouse cheese and meats. This is all in addition to the normal fruit juices and cereals. All our hot options are cooked to order from the kitchen. I am sorry that this is not what you experienced.

We very much appreciate your kind and positive comments on our location and particularly our staff and bedrooms.

I hope this will not deter you from returning to the Trident Hotel and Kinsale in the future.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury Park, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My husband and I stayed one night here on our way to Killarney. We had a partial view of the harbor which was nice. The room itself was average, and it didn't feel as clean as other hotel stays we experienced in Ireland, however the restroom was very clean, modern and refreshing. The location is absolutely excellent and the property has on site parking which was comforting and convenient. Dinner prices were a little high. The only complaint was that the room itself could be cleaner and felt a bit muggy.

Room Tip: We had a nice partial view of the harbor with our room being on the opposite side end of the lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luckydean23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear luckydean23,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Trident Hotel.

I am sorry that you have 'mixed feelings' about your stay with us and a little surprised at your comments on cleanliness in you bedroom. I'm not sure whether you had one of our Executive rooms with air conditioning which may have helped with the 'muggy' impression.

We serve a variety of food and dinner options from sandwiches and snacks to full meals in our Wharf Tavern to full dinner - both A la Carte and Table d'Hote menus in our Pier One restaurant. Our Table d'Hote menu is €27.50 for 4 courses (including Coffee), with 4 choices for each course including locally sourced seafood.

I am pleased that you liked our location and particularly having free parking on site.

We very much appreciate your constructive comments.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
203 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

First, we loved being in Kinsale so this hotel was just part of our great experience with the city. Our room was huge with a beautiful view of the harbor. We also had a huge bathroom with full sized tub. The shower stall was big, not the tube kind that is so small you can't bend over. And, there was plenty of space on the bathroom counter to spread out the toiletries in my bag. The hotel is not as new as some but very clean and comfortable.

Breakfast was plentiful and the dining room has views of the harbor. The lobby is small but we didn't really stay there much. We did have a late lunch in the dining room that was very nice.

Our only negative comment is that there was no top sheet on the bed. This was the second hotel in a row that didn't provide one so I think it might be an American custom but not European. Otherwise, we certainly enjoyed Kinsale and this hotel.

Room Tip: I think we had an upgraded room to have such a large bedroom and bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenie2480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Greenie,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us in the Trident Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated the large bathrooms in our Executive rooms and well as the wonderful views over Kinsale Harbour.

I think you will find throughout Europe that the majority of hotels do not have top sheets when duvets are used at the duvets covers are changed regularly and always before new guests arrive. This would be different to the more traditional quilts. A top sheet can always be provided if requested.

We have a lounge on the 1st floor if guests would like to sit and relax without being the lobby area.

Thank you for your comments and observations.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myakka City, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stayed a night at the Trident and it was wonderful. The views from the minute we opened out hotel door were fantastic! Our room faced into the harbor and it was just lovely. We were there on a Sunday night and I suggest making sure you are aware of the time since we had trouble finding somewhere to have dinner. The town was quaint and I would definitely reccomend making a stop for a day or two of exploring.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COURTNEY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Courtney,

Thank you for your positive review of your recent stay with us in the Trident Hotel.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your brief stay and that you appreciated the views from your room. I think you are right - Kinsale does deserve a couple of days at least to explore all the hidden gems!

There are about 60 places to eat in Kinsale from coffee shops through to fine dining restaurants and pubs so there shouldn't be too much difficulty in finding somewhere to eat on a Sunday.

I hope that you will have the opportunity to come back again soon.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
2.3 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
894 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Hayfield Manor Hotel
0.3 mi away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#6 of 52 in Kinsale
315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#14 of 52 in Kinsale
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trident Hotel Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trident Hotel Kinsale

Property: Trident Hotel Kinsale
Address: World's End, Kinsale, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Trident Hotel Kinsale 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly refurbished bedrooms include an executive wing comprising 30 rooms and a penthouse floor of nine luxury suites, all with breath-taking views of the harbour and the enchanting town of Kinsale. The Pier One Restaurant, which is the only waterfront restaurant in the Gourmet Capital of Ireland, offering the freshest of seafood and locally sourced produce, and the Wharf Tavern and Terrace which has been a welcoming meeting place for golfers, sailors, locals and holidaymakers for decades. The new Foredeck bar area, where to get closer to the sea you would have to get on board a boat is, in the summer sunshine, the perfect place to unwind and take in the sea breezes while sipping a cocktail or cool beer. The Trident has a private marina, onsite parking and a wide range of state of the art facilities for conferences and unforgettable venues for family occasions, the Trident Hotel ticks every box for any occasion, from the very intimate to larger events catering for over 200 people. We look forward to welcoming you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Trident Hotel Kinsale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing