We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“STAY HERE!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Rockford, Illinois
1 review
“STAY HERE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We planned on staying at the Trident for only our first night in Ireland after flying in from Chicago...we ended up staying a week after my Father required hospitalization in Cork. Hal and the staff at the Trident treated us like family and juggled reservations to make sure we had a place to stay during a very stressful time. Over the course of a week we stayed in every type of room style...they are all great but the suites are spectacular and worth the small premium over a standard room. The breakfast and pub food were wonderful and the views outstanding. The staff was caring and considerate and went out of their way to suggest activities for my kids which they really enjoyed. Treating us like family will always be appreciated. Perfect location for exploring Kinsale. You could stay here for the simple reason that it is a nice hotel with wonderful amenities...a second reason would be to show appreciation to Hal and the staff for being good people and treating others well. Thank You!
P.S. - Dad is fine...buy the trip insurance-paid all medical bills and more.

Room Tip: All rooms are great...suites are spectacular and worth the small premium. Splurge, you deserve it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Dan,

Thank you for your very kind review of your stay with us.

Firstly, I am delighted to hear that your father is well and that your trip insurance sorted out all the bills!

We appreciate your your positive comments and the endorsement of our staff. I know that it was a difficult and worrying time for you all and it certainly did impact on your travel plans. If your are stuck somewhere - there are worse places than Kinsale to be caught! We remember how pleasant you and your family were with our staff even though we had to move you from room to room as we were very heavily booked.

I hope that you will be able to continue your planned trip on another occasion without incident and when you do I hope that you will allow for at least one more night in Kinsale.

Thank you for your kind comments both for the hotel and on a personal basis and I look forward to meeting you again either in Kinsale or Chicago.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    328
    142
    48
    23
See reviews for
159
492
18
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spruce Creek, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
220 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here through "exploring Ireland" and we were not impressed. Our room was not exactly a "sea view" in that it faced the parking lot and you could see the harbor. There is no air conditioning and the windows have no screens. Room was a little tired and sparsely decorated. We asked for a better view and were told they were "sold out". Breakfast was very good and supposedly their restaurant is one of the better ones in kinsale. Kinsale is a great little fishing village. We were there in a Sunday and there was not a lot going on. Would like to visit it when things are jumping.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank sprucecreekfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear sprucecreekfly,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us in the Trident Hotel.

I am sorry that you were not impressed with the hotel and that our reception staff were not able to find you an alternative room when you requested a change, as there were none available. Not all our rooms have air conditioning but our executive rooms and suites do. I'm sure you are aware by now not all hotel bedrooms in Ireland have A/C,

I am pleased that you enjoyed breakfast and yes our Pier One restaurant is a member of Kinsale Good Food Circle.

I hope that your slight disappointment do not take from your enjoyment of Kinsale.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prairie Village, Kansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Kinsale was our first stop on our honeymoon throughout Ireland and the Trident Hotel was a perfect start! We stayed one night and our room was awesome. They upgraded us to a suite overlooking the harbor and the view was lovely. The staff was so kind and friendly. We loved our stay and would definitely come back again. Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieMc711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Julie,

Congratulations on your recent marriage!

I am delighted that you chose the Trident Hotel and Kinsale to start your honeymoon in Ireland.

We very much appreciate your kind comments and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and particularly the views from your suite. I am glad that your reception staff were able to give you an upgrade.

Hopefully you will have the opportunity to return to the Trident and Kinsale before too long.

Many thanks.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

All the rooms have absolutely breathtaking views of the harbor and wall to wall windows. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom and bedroom spacious. The property is within a few minutes walk of Kinsale's main shopping area, restaurants, and pubs. My only complaints are the breakfast (the food was bland and the pastries stale) and wifi (it was extremely slow and cut in and out frequently). The views alone, though, make this property a must-stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Kelly,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us in the Trident Hotel.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay although I am sorry that you weren't completely satisfied with your breakfast.

Our WiFi is in the process of being upgraded at present as eFiber has just become available. I am sorry you had some issues with your connection.

I am pleased that you still consider the Trident as a 'must stay'!

Many thanks.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed here .after a wedding so we did not get to see or experience much of the hotel. Our wedding was in actons up the street. How ever our stay was lovely .The room was nice with a view.The bar was nice if a little quiet.Its in a fantastic location over looking the harbour.

Room Tip: ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denisNewmarket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Denis,

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to the Trident Hotel.

I understand that your stay was short but I am glad that you enjoyed it. I'm sure you enjoyed the wedding in Acton's also.

Now that you have had a taste for the Trident Hotel and Kinsale I hope you will return soon.

Many thanks.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed for two nights in the Harbour Suite and our relatives stayed in one of the twin rooms. The view from both was exquisite. The hotel is friendly, very clean and very welcoming. I would highly recommend the Trident - we will definitely be coming back.
Thanks to all for a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Alison,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us in the Trident Hotel.

I am delighted that you and you friends enjoyed your stay with us and particularly that you liked our Harbour Suite with it's balcony overlooking Kinsale Harbour.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night while driving across Ireland. We loved the hotel. From check in, to the view of the harbor, to drinks at the tavern and the best part was breakfast! From our room we could see seals in the harbor area. It was so wonderful to spot them! The view and the location set for a perfect afternoon of snapping photos. For after dinner drinks we went to the tavern and I was really craving a mixed drink from back home and the bartender was nice enough to make it for me! The next morning we sat next to the window and once again right outside the window was a seal swimming! That was a truly special moment for me. And the breakfast was great! The person tending to us came over multiple times to check on us and we loved the professionalism and promptness of all the staff. All in all so glad we chose to stay here. Was extremely pleasant and made our day in kinsale amazing : )

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shayla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Shayla,

Thank you for your very positive review of your recent stay with us in the Trident Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed every minute of of your stay and you obviously took your time to experience all that Kinsale has to offer including the wildlife on our doorstep - or outside our restaurant window!

You seem to have taken time to appreciate what was around you while still enjoying your tour of Ireland. I hope you have experienced enough to make you come to visit again!

Thank you for your kind comments.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Blue Haven Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,314 reviews
Perryville House
#6 of 55 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trident Hotel Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trident Hotel Kinsale

Property: Trident Hotel Kinsale
Address: World's End, Kinsale, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Trident Hotel Kinsale 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four star hotel, spectacularly perched on the water's edge overlooking Kinsale Harbour. The hotel has 75 bedrooms including an Executive Wing comprising 30 rooms and 9 luxury suites, all with beautiful sea views. Only five minutes’ walk from the centre of Kinsale, the Trident Hotel is an excellent base to explore the winding streets and many shops, cafes, galleries and restaurants for which Kinsale is famous for. While you’re here, why not delve into the town’s fascinating historic past with a guided walking tour to famous sights including Charles Fort or engage in the wide variety of activities available from deep-sea fishing to scenic harbour cruising. Or use Kinsale as your base for exploring the wider West Cork region, renowned for its rugged landscape, unspoiled coastline and bustling towns. For shopaholics, Cork City is just a 30-minute drive from Kinsale. With a host of attractions and leisure activities on the doorstep – including the world-renowned Old Head Golf Links – the Trident Hotel Kinsale is certainly an ideal venue for both business and pleasure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trident Hotel Kinsale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing