We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent short break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trident Hotel Kinsale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent short break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Lovely Room - upgraded to executive on check in which was a nice touch. View was lovely and bathroom excellent. Lovely breakfast and ideal location for exploring Kinsale and Diving from nearby Oceanaddicts

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beduffshirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear beduffshirl,

Thank you for your review of your recent short break with us.

I am pleased that you had such a positive experience during your short time with us. Having Oceanaddicts moored so close to us is a great advantage and I'm sure you enjoyed your diving experience with Graham and Anne.

I hope that you will find your way back to us in the near future.

Many thanks.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    325
    142
    48
    23
See reviews for
156
483
18
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

This was one of our hotels on an 8-day trip to Ireland with eleven family members. The trip was marvelously arranged through Maloney and Kelly Travel. All of the accommodations were much more luxurious than we would usually choose, but given the group price each was a very worthwhile splurge. We travelled in a 12 person coach with our private driver and guide Donal Scannell (donal@chauffeuredtoursireland.com), who was a wonderful guide and a lovely and charming person. It was truly a trip of a lifetime.
The hotel is situated in a very spectacular spot along the harbor near the edge of town. It's an easy walk from the center of the small, very cute, very shop- and restaurant-filled town along the harbor sidewalk. The access to the hotel is through a driveway that looks like it's going toward the harbor. The drive opens into a large, free parking area. The hotel entry is bright, well cared for and modern with lots of attractive decoration and wood. The section of the hotel going back from the entry toward the driveway and harbor contains a very cute, pub-like bar-restaurant, and, one floor above the pub is the large bright, cheery breakfast room. The bar and restaurant on site was slightly pricey but had great deserts. There is one small elevator, but the wide, carpeted stairways are a pleasant alternative. This was a good thing because for much of our 2 night stay the elevator was not working.
The rooms were a mix of lovely and questionable. There was a great marble tiled bathroom with an excellent walk-in shower and separate tub. The sink had a nice large vanity surface for ditty bags and toiletries. However, products were generic and there was no lotion. There was also no shaver plug or hair dryer. The room was pleasantly large with good lighting. However, the walls seemed a bit bare with limited decoration and only one small painting of a chair. There was an old-fashioned TV, which we never tried. At first, the WiFi, which was free, seemed reliable and fast. It was quick and easy to get access by password the first night. But, on day 2 we were absolutely unable to get WiFi in our room (#201) although down the hall the signal was fine. When I told the staff about the problem, I must say I got a friendly and helpful response and they made an all out effort to reset routers all to no avail. The WiFi was also very weak in the lobby unless you were sitting very close to the window facing the harbor. The bedroom had pretty, flat white painted walls and new carpet. Just like the lobby there was lots of wood and glass in the rooms. The harbor views were totally quiet, day and night, and lovely. All rooms face the harbor side so the noise from the road, which curves up and around the "back" of the hotel is completely eliminated. The room furniture was modern, clean, mostly wood and pleasant. There was a lovely crisp, clean king bed with a cozy comforter and an extra blanket if needed. The large room window opened to the harbor. The AC worked wonderfully, and since it was just bait stuffy outside, we shut the window and used the AC and it kept the room cool and comfortable. The included breakfast was in the 1st floor in a large, bright and clean room. This is a truly spectacular breakfast with custom made warm food with all the usual ingredients of eggs and meat any way you want, plus cold and hot cereals, lovely breads, cheeses, meats, smoked salmon and a wide array of fruits and pastries. The coffee and tea were excellent and the servers friendly and efficient. This hotel had another very nice amenity, which was free access to a nearby health club with excellent facilities and clean modern locker rooms. The little town had an incredible number and variety of fabulous eating places, and a lovely selection of shops in the narrow streets of the old town area. The town and surrounding area have many local BandB's and less fancy hotels if the splurge for the Trident does not fit your trip budget.

Room Tip: All rooms face to some extent toward the water, but those closer to the entry face more directly tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveW43323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Dave,

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to the Trident Hotel.

I am delighted that you had such a positive experience during your visit to Kinsale and the Trident Hotel and that you had more 'ups' than 'downs'!

As regards the 'downs' - I am sorry that you missed the hair drier in the drawer of the desk as we prefer to use a more powerful dryer in the bedroom than a weaker one, that we are permitted, in the bathroom. We are just completing the installation of a much faster and stronger eFiber broadband in the hotel (which has just become available in Kinsale). This should alleviate any difficulties with a weak signal for the WiFi. I was not aware of any difficulties with the lift - I'm sorry if you encountered some.

As regards the'ups', I am pleased that you mentioned so many positives during your stay and obviously having an excellent driver and guide in Donal and a reputable travel company with Maloney & Kelly to oversee all the arrangements, this must have made your visit very easy.

I appreciate the the time you have taken to post such a detailed review as this helps us to continue to improve our service on an ongoing basis.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back to Kinsale and the Trident Hotel again in the near future.

Thank you.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villa park
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Beautiful view, fabulous n clean room, great service, excellent food, in town. There is no down side to this hotel. I'd give it a 10 if I could!!! The next trip to Ireland, this hotel will be my base for the area attractions.

Room Tip: Request a room on the 2nd floor or above, with a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janet k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Janet,

Thank you for your very positive review of your recent visit to the Trident Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed everything and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. As you can't give us a 10 we are very happy with 5 out of 5!

Thank you.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We planned on staying at the Trident for only our first night in Ireland after flying in from Chicago...we ended up staying a week after my Father required hospitalization in Cork. Hal and the staff at the Trident treated us like family and juggled reservations to make sure we had a place to stay during a very stressful time. Over the course of a week we stayed in every type of room style...they are all great but the suites are spectacular and worth the small premium over a standard room. The breakfast and pub food were wonderful and the views outstanding. The staff was caring and considerate and went out of their way to suggest activities for my kids which they really enjoyed. Treating us like family will always be appreciated. Perfect location for exploring Kinsale. You could stay here for the simple reason that it is a nice hotel with wonderful amenities...a second reason would be to show appreciation to Hal and the staff for being good people and treating others well. Thank You!
P.S. - Dad is fine...buy the trip insurance-paid all medical bills and more.

Room Tip: All rooms are great...suites are spectacular and worth the small premium. Splurge, you deserve it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Dan,

Thank you for your very kind review of your stay with us.

Firstly, I am delighted to hear that your father is well and that your trip insurance sorted out all the bills!

We appreciate your your positive comments and the endorsement of our staff. I know that it was a difficult and worrying time for you all and it certainly did impact on your travel plans. If your are stuck somewhere - there are worse places than Kinsale to be caught! We remember how pleasant you and your family were with our staff even though we had to move you from room to room as we were very heavily booked.

I hope that you will be able to continue your planned trip on another occasion without incident and when you do I hope that you will allow for at least one more night in Kinsale.

Thank you for your kind comments both for the hotel and on a personal basis and I look forward to meeting you again either in Kinsale or Chicago.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spruce Creek, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
219 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here through "exploring Ireland" and we were not impressed. Our room was not exactly a "sea view" in that it faced the parking lot and you could see the harbor. There is no air conditioning and the windows have no screens. Room was a little tired and sparsely decorated. We asked for a better view and were told they were "sold out". Breakfast was very good and supposedly their restaurant is one of the better ones in kinsale. Kinsale is a great little fishing village. We were there in a Sunday and there was not a lot going on. Would like to visit it when things are jumping.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank sprucecreekfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear sprucecreekfly,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us in the Trident Hotel.

I am sorry that you were not impressed with the hotel and that our reception staff were not able to find you an alternative room when you requested a change, as there were none available. Not all our rooms have air conditioning but our executive rooms and suites do. I'm sure you are aware by now not all hotel bedrooms in Ireland have A/C,

I am pleased that you enjoyed breakfast and yes our Pier One restaurant is a member of Kinsale Good Food Circle.

I hope that your slight disappointment do not take from your enjoyment of Kinsale.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prairie Village, Kansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Kinsale was our first stop on our honeymoon throughout Ireland and the Trident Hotel was a perfect start! We stayed one night and our room was awesome. They upgraded us to a suite overlooking the harbor and the view was lovely. The staff was so kind and friendly. We loved our stay and would definitely come back again. Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieMc711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Julie,

Congratulations on your recent marriage!

I am delighted that you chose the Trident Hotel and Kinsale to start your honeymoon in Ireland.

We very much appreciate your kind comments and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and particularly the views from your suite. I am glad that your reception staff were able to give you an upgrade.

Hopefully you will have the opportunity to return to the Trident and Kinsale before too long.

Many thanks.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

All the rooms have absolutely breathtaking views of the harbor and wall to wall windows. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom and bedroom spacious. The property is within a few minutes walk of Kinsale's main shopping area, restaurants, and pubs. My only complaints are the breakfast (the food was bland and the pastries stale) and wifi (it was extremely slow and cut in and out frequently). The views alone, though, make this property a must-stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Kelly,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us in the Trident Hotel.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay although I am sorry that you weren't completely satisfied with your breakfast.

Our WiFi is in the process of being upgraded at present as eFiber has just become available. I am sorry you had some issues with your connection.

I am pleased that you still consider the Trident as a 'must stay'!

Many thanks.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
Actons Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Blue Haven Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,284 reviews
Old Bank House
#14 of 55 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trident Hotel Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trident Hotel Kinsale

Property: Trident Hotel Kinsale
Address: World's End, Kinsale, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Trident Hotel Kinsale 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four star hotel, spectacularly perched on the water's edge overlooking Kinsale Harbour. The hotel has 75 bedrooms including an Executive Wing comprising 30 rooms and 9 luxury suites, all with beautiful sea views. Only five minutes’ walk from the centre of Kinsale, the Trident Hotel is an excellent base to explore the winding streets and many shops, cafes, galleries and restaurants for which Kinsale is famous for. While you’re here, why not delve into the town’s fascinating historic past with a guided walking tour to famous sights including Charles Fort or engage in the wide variety of activities available from deep-sea fishing to scenic harbour cruising. Or use Kinsale as your base for exploring the wider West Cork region, renowned for its rugged landscape, unspoiled coastline and bustling towns. For shopaholics, Cork City is just a 30-minute drive from Kinsale. With a host of attractions and leisure activities on the doorstep – including the world-renowned Old Head Golf Links – the Trident Hotel Kinsale is certainly an ideal venue for both business and pleasure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Trident Hotel Kinsale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing