We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable - great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
liverpool
Level Contributor
173 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable - great location”
Reviewed 3 September 2014

We arrived as part of a large party staying to attend a wedding so understandably, not all rooms were ready when we arrived early. When I checked into mine, there was a very strange smell which the staff said they would be able to rectify within the hour. An hour later, the room smelled the same so they moved me to another. The service really was very good and the staff over the few days, really could not do enough to help out. Rooms were comfortable, sleep quality was very good and views were lovely. Breakfast was great and the hotel was perfectly located for everything we needed.
Would definitely stay again

Room Tip: Pay extra for a waterfront view - well worth it !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMYLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear DMYLiverpool,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us in the Trident Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that our reception staff were able to sort out the issue you had with your room on arrival.

I am pleased that you found the quality of sleep, breakfast and service to a high level and I hope you had a great weekend for the wedding. Kinsale is a great place for a wedding!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Kinsale and the Trident in the near future.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    336
    144
    50
    23
See reviews for
165
504
19
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Both my husband and I stayed at the Trident for one night last weekend. We were upgraded from a standard room to a deluxe.

The room was very basic so I am sure the standard room would have been even more basic than what we had. The view was lovely but the room was very tired and in need of renovation. Staff very friendly and check in was very quick.
Breakfast was plentiful

Room Tip: Ensure you get upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear DublinLinda,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us in the Trident Hotel.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with your room although you were upgraded to an Executive room on arrival.

I am pleased that you did enjoy your breakfast and particularly the views from you room. Thank you for your kind comments about our friendly and efficient staff.

I hope when you return we will have completed our planned refurbishment.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cropwell Bishop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Situated at the end of Pier Road directly on the water this hotel is in prime position. Very pleased with our five night stay in room 220 which offered duel aspect windows overlooking a well presented dockside. Friendly and helpful staff, nothing is too much trouble for them. The standard of the food in the restaurant and Tavern Bar was excellent. The hotel presents itself very well although if our room was representative of others then they could benefit from a makeover. However my comment does not detract from our very pleasant visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear xippix,

Thank you for your very positive review of your recent stay with us in the Trident Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your visit, from your room location, to the food and service in our Wharf Tavern and Pier One restaurant. We particularly appreciate your kind comments about our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pozuelo de Alarcon, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Stayed 1 night in June. Friendly welcoming reception. Room with a beautiful view. A bit dated but not yet complainable. Bar and dinner staff really helpful and fun. Food OK, nothing to write about. Breakfast was good. Parking was easy guess we were lucky, it could get crowded. In all a very pleasnt stay.MD very helpful with touring suggestions, thank you! Recomendable

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PETER G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Peter,

Thank you for your review of you stay with is in June.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our location. You seem to have had some fun with our staff! I'm glad that everything was to your satisfaction and I hope my directions and suggestions for touring were of some help to you. In June the Wild Atlantic Way was just being launched and now all the signage is in place and makes touring of the West Cork region much easier. It is the start of 2,500k route along the coast right up to Donegal.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Trident in the near future.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Just returned from a two night break at the trident. The hotels positives; it is in a good location in relation to the town,staff were very friendly, mannerly and helpful especially reception staff. Breakfast was of a very good standard and al a carte as apposed to a cold hot buffet! Some of the negatives would be the layout of the rooms in relation to function rooms etc... ie on the same floor be wary if a wedding on. Not a lot of parking. Room did not have blackout curtains, and somewhat dated though clean and comfortable with executive rooms having a nice sea/harbour view. Overall an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors better view second or third floor ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Jane,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us in the Trident Hotel.

I am please that you enjoyed you stay and that you found the staff particularly friendly and helpful.

I'm sorry that you had some difficulty with parking. Kinsale, and the Trident, nestled between the harbour and Compass Hill at the back does not leave too much room for parking but we can normally cater for our guests with almost 70 spaces on site and additional public parking within a few hundred yards. It is recommended that when you do park in Kinsale that you leave you car and just stroll through the town.

We are currently planning to continue our refurbishment during the quieter season.

Thank you for your comments and I hope we will be able to welcome back to the Trident Hotel and Kinsale in the near future.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Stayed there as part of a golf package. Luckily we found there IS air conditioning in many of the rooms (there is a small control by the closet) and realized that the slot by the door is for the room key to rest in to activate the electricity in the room. The windows are pleasant to have open for an inviting breeze, but the outside sounds make sleeping difficult. They have an extensive Irish Breakfast (compared to other hotels in Ireland) including smoked salmon, cured meats and pastries as a nice accompaniment to the "Full Irish breakfast". The hotel is within walking distance to many attractions and eateries. The actual room was acceptable but could have used minor updating including the TV, etc. Wifi is available but it is spotty and frequently unreliable. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: The sun comes up EARLY in August and the entire room is flooded with the bright morning. One might w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAP20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear KAP20142014,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us in the Trident Hotel.

I am please that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the air conditioning controls and power master switch. Our Executive rooms and Suites do have A/C but our Standard rooms do not - but they all have opening windows towards the harbour, as some of our guests prefer.

I'm sorry that you found the WiFi a bit spotty - we are looking forward to having eFiber connections shortly which has just become available in our area.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast and the local products such as the smoked salmon and cheeses from our area which compliment the hearty Irish Breakfast!

I hope that you experience of the Trident Hotel, Kinsale and the Old Head will bring you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We stayed for two nights and we would definitely return. The hotel is in a good location, a three minute walk to town and an quick drive to Old Head. The parking can be tricky, it also services the marina and restaurant, there are not enough spaces and the lot is full by late afternoon. The rooms were comfortable but the decor is dated. It desperately needs new carpeting and mattresses. The beautiful bay view from our room distracted us from the furnishings. The breakfast is very nice, they provide a large selection and generous portions. All of the staff members that we encountered were very polite, warm and friendly. They were always helping us with dinner suggestions or driving directions. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vesvacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Vesvacations,

Thank you for your positive review of your recent stay with us in the Trident Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you particularly enjoyed the views from the hotel and your room.

Our proximity to the town of Kinsale and the Old Head Golf Links is a great advantage.

Thank you for your kind comments about our breakfast and particularly about our staff.

I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Kinsale and the Trident soon.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
2.3 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
897 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Hayfield Manor Hotel
0.3 mi away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#6 of 53 in Kinsale
315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#14 of 53 in Kinsale
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trident Hotel Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trident Hotel Kinsale

Property: Trident Hotel Kinsale
Address: World's End, Kinsale, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Trident Hotel Kinsale 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly refurbished bedrooms include an executive wing comprising 30 rooms and a penthouse floor of nine luxury suites, all with breath-taking views of the harbour and the enchanting town of Kinsale. The Pier One Restaurant, which is the only waterfront restaurant in the Gourmet Capital of Ireland, offering the freshest of seafood and locally sourced produce, and the Wharf Tavern and Terrace which has been a welcoming meeting place for golfers, sailors, locals and holidaymakers for decades. The new Foredeck bar area, where to get closer to the sea you would have to get on board a boat is, in the summer sunshine, the perfect place to unwind and take in the sea breezes while sipping a cocktail or cool beer. The Trident has a private marina, onsite parking and a wide range of state of the art facilities for conferences and unforgettable venues for family occasions, the Trident Hotel ticks every box for any occasion, from the very intimate to larger events catering for over 200 people. We look forward to welcoming you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Trident Hotel Kinsale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing