We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, food, decor; book online to get the best deal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
london
1 review
“Great location, food, decor; book online to get the best deal”
Reviewed 7 July 2009

Great clean, bright, nicely decorated and well located hotel. We booked online and got much better deal than offered by hotel website. Couldn't recomend highly enough. Staff very friendly and nice.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dublinrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    336
    144
    50
    23
See reviews for
165
504
19
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2009

The hotel is at a great location and has wonderful views. Another plus is that it offers parking. We stayed at a junior suite and had a partial view of the water and the parking lot. The furniture and the decor at the hotel is tired and needs updating. The tv only had 3-4 channels and if you wanted more channels,you need to pay a daily rate. The breakfast was sufficient. Kinsale is a beautiful town.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islandg1rl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2009

On arrival, the staff at the desk were not very friendly or welcoming and that remained the case until after check out. The Hotel is rather old so the rooms are a bit old fashioned and in need of modernisation. The View from the rooms was fantastic and the room itself was clean.We did not get the room serviced on the second day as it was too late by the time they came to the room. We were out from 10am till almost 5pm which was more than enough time for them the service the room. My partner was in the shower by the time they knocked at 5.15pm!
We had one dinner included and my Maincourse was the worst I have every been served and a huge dissapointment. I ordered lamb and it was very burnt (after asking for it Pink) and it was full of grizzle. I couldn't eat any of it. On the other hand the girl that served us was excellent and coud teach her collegues a thing or two about customer service.
The breakfast was average but was again saved by the blonde waitress and the view from the restaurant window.
As a four star hotel i expected a lot more. The fact the hotel is old would not have been an issue if the staff had been a bit more friendly and the food a lot better. I have stayed in 3 star hotels that offered much better service and that have an overall far better product.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amtrayno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston area
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2009

We really liked the Trident and we LOVED Kinsale. Would definitely stay here again if/when we come back. Enjoyed the view, the breakfasts and the bar.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bharrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2009

We were only planning on 1 night here but had a very enjoyable time so stayed a 2nd night. The rooms are nice and appear to have been renovated in the past few years. We had a full harbor view, great to wake up and have your coffee to. You get free use of a very nice fitness center with an indoor pool at the Acton Hotel just down the street. Free parking is included, which is great because parking in Kinsale does not look easy to come by. The hotel is about a 5-minute walk into the center of town.
Breakfast is just average, but seems to be included in all room rates since they never even asked for our room number. On Saturday they had live music in their pub, which was nice.
Good value for what you get.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vision337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aussie tripping around
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2009

Stayed at the Trident Hotel for 2 nights. It does not look much from the outside however it is in a lovely little fishing village right next to the water. The staff were lovely on arrival and our room was quite big and cosy for a standard. We also had a side water view.
Reception advised us of everything we needed to know and also where their was some good night entertainment on that night. We went and listened to some lovely irish music, so we were grateful to them. Their is plenty of parking onsite and about a 5 minute walk into the village area. Breakfast was full irish if requested and very tasty.
I thoroughly recommend this hotel we had a lovely time in this hotel and little fishing village.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROAMING9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2009

Fantastic view of the harbour from the bedroom and very nice hotel overall. Stayed here last year and really enjoyed it but room this time had thinner walls and a loud neighbour which was a bit disturbing. Would stay again though.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dubbie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
2.3 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
898 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Hayfield Manor Hotel
0.3 mi away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#6 of 53 in Kinsale
315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#14 of 53 in Kinsale
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trident Hotel Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trident Hotel Kinsale

Property: Trident Hotel Kinsale
Address: World's End, Kinsale, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Trident Hotel Kinsale 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly refurbished bedrooms include an executive wing comprising 30 rooms and a penthouse floor of nine luxury suites, all with breath-taking views of the harbour and the enchanting town of Kinsale. The Pier One Restaurant, which is the only waterfront restaurant in the Gourmet Capital of Ireland, offering the freshest of seafood and locally sourced produce, and the Wharf Tavern and Terrace which has been a welcoming meeting place for golfers, sailors, locals and holidaymakers for decades. The new Foredeck bar area, where to get closer to the sea you would have to get on board a boat is, in the summer sunshine, the perfect place to unwind and take in the sea breezes while sipping a cocktail or cool beer. The Trident has a private marina, onsite parking and a wide range of state of the art facilities for conferences and unforgettable venues for family occasions, the Trident Hotel ticks every box for any occasion, from the very intimate to larger events catering for over 200 people. We look forward to welcoming you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Trident Hotel Kinsale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing