We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Standard rooms need modernisation” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trident Hotel Kinsale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Co Down
1 review
“Standard rooms need modernisation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2009

The website descibes how extensive refurbishment led to the hotel being awarded 4 stars in May 2007. However the en-suite bathroom of our standard room could only be described as 2/3 star! The enamel of the bath was yellow and cracked, the radiator over the bath, on which the towels were hung, was very rusted and the sealant and grouting were either missing or blackened and needed to be replaced. Apparently the standard rooms were not part of the refurbishment program ~were they not inspected by the AA rating people? To upgrade we were quoted another 40e per night! If staying at a 4 star hotel you would expect your room to be 4 star, surely? On a positive note the food in the Wharf Tavern was really lovely and we found all the staff to be very pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank midweekers3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    325
    142
    48
    23
See reviews for
156
483
18
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandown, NH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2009

This was our 2nd stop on our tour of ireland. Kinsale was quite possibly the highlight of our trip. The hotel staff was very accomodating and pleasant when dealing with some snobby unpleasant guests that were always complaining about something. The room was smaller than we are used to but we didnt have trouble sleeping in it nor did we hear anyone else around us. Be sure to check out the Kinsale Ghost Tour at the Tap Tavern!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BingeBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2009

We booked this on their web site. They were marketing a 1 night mid week deal for Euro €80 per person, including a €40 allowance per person for the meal which we could have at our choice of the Wharf Tavern (Hotel bar) or the restaurant 'Pier One'. The web site neglected to mention that the restaurant was not open Mon to Wed so we had no choice but to eat in the bar which as one would expect does not have the same ambience as a restaurant. At check out they also claimed that the allowance of €40 per person for the meal excluded wine, again a small detail they failed to mention on their web site. This is marketed as a 4 star hotel, the rooms and common areas were 2/3 star. Bathrooms very tired with lots of yellow staining around the bath and overall somewhat shabby (not chic) feel to the hotel. The star people need to reassess their rating! The staff attitude overall was functional and argumentative and certainly not helpful. A good example in the bar was a couple who came in to eat dinner. They had to find their own menus, borrowed the wine menu from us, sat their for c. 15/20mins and were totally ignored by staff all running around in a very disorganised way. Its not surprising that the couple left! Its a shame because Kinsale is a lovely town, it was Kinsale Arts Week so there was lots to do and a great buzz. In times of recession accomodation facilities and restaurants need to deliver on their promises or they will not get repeat business...we will not be back to this hotel and we are regular visitors to Kinsale over the years! To end on a positive note, the food was excellent so clearly the restaurant is well run! The views from the hotel are wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kilkenny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2009

We stayed at this hotel midweek. The hotel website acurately describes the accomodation but probably does not do the place justice! The water views really are proper water views. The rooms are generous in size and modern. We went for the executive double room which is worth the extra €10 each per night. Our bathroom was excellent too with a seperate shower cubicle, which is always nice. The bar & restaurant were fantastic and the cost of the room included breakfast, which was quality! There is wireless broadband too and their sister hotel has a pool and leisure facility 300m down the road. The parking is not bad either. All in all we would come back here again which is an endorsement in itself. Oh yes! Kinsale is an absolute must!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ourfrank34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2009

Great clean, bright, nicely decorated and well located hotel. We booked online and got much better deal than offered by hotel website. Couldn't recomend highly enough. Staff very friendly and nice.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dublinrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2009

The hotel is at a great location and has wonderful views. Another plus is that it offers parking. We stayed at a junior suite and had a partial view of the water and the parking lot. The furniture and the decor at the hotel is tired and needs updating. The tv only had 3-4 channels and if you wanted more channels,you need to pay a daily rate. The breakfast was sufficient. Kinsale is a beautiful town.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Islandg1rl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2009

On arrival, the staff at the desk were not very friendly or welcoming and that remained the case until after check out. The Hotel is rather old so the rooms are a bit old fashioned and in need of modernisation. The View from the rooms was fantastic and the room itself was clean.We did not get the room serviced on the second day as it was too late by the time they came to the room. We were out from 10am till almost 5pm which was more than enough time for them the service the room. My partner was in the shower by the time they knocked at 5.15pm!
We had one dinner included and my Maincourse was the worst I have every been served and a huge dissapointment. I ordered lamb and it was very burnt (after asking for it Pink) and it was full of grizzle. I couldn't eat any of it. On the other hand the girl that served us was excellent and coud teach her collegues a thing or two about customer service.
The breakfast was average but was again saved by the blonde waitress and the view from the restaurant window.
As a four star hotel i expected a lot more. The fact the hotel is old would not have been an issue if the staff had been a bit more friendly and the food a lot better. I have stayed in 3 star hotels that offered much better service and that have an overall far better product.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amtrayno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
Actons Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Blue Haven Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,284 reviews
Old Bank House
#13 of 55 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trident Hotel Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trident Hotel Kinsale

Property: Trident Hotel Kinsale
Address: World's End, Kinsale, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Trident Hotel Kinsale 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four star hotel, spectacularly perched on the water's edge overlooking Kinsale Harbour. The hotel has 75 bedrooms including an Executive Wing comprising 30 rooms and 9 luxury suites, all with beautiful sea views. Only five minutes’ walk from the centre of Kinsale, the Trident Hotel is an excellent base to explore the winding streets and many shops, cafes, galleries and restaurants for which Kinsale is famous for. While you’re here, why not delve into the town’s fascinating historic past with a guided walking tour to famous sights including Charles Fort or engage in the wide variety of activities available from deep-sea fishing to scenic harbour cruising. Or use Kinsale as your base for exploring the wider West Cork region, renowned for its rugged landscape, unspoiled coastline and bustling towns. For shopaholics, Cork City is just a 30-minute drive from Kinsale. With a host of attractions and leisure activities on the doorstep – including the world-renowned Old Head Golf Links – the Trident Hotel Kinsale is certainly an ideal venue for both business and pleasure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Trident Hotel Kinsale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing