We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with exceptional staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2013

My fabulous bridesmaids took me to Kinsale for my hen in April and we stayed at Actons.I couldnt recommend it enough.The rooms are new and fresh and the staff just couldnt be more helpful.The girls had organised a room for drinks and games which was no problem to the hotel who helped out and took it all in good fun.It really was exceptional value for money. I would definitely return to this hotel with the girls or equally with my husband. Its great location and fab rooms make it perfect for either a girly weekend away or for couples.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lormoloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (978)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

904 - 910 of 978 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

Ten of us stayed for two nights in this lovely, newly renovated hotel, over-looking the harbour. The staff were extremely accommodating, the rooms were spacious and very comfortable and the shower heads were huge; amazing luxury!
I would wholeheartedly recommend anyone who is travelling to Kinsale to book into Actons. I will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Bar food very disappointing, 16 euro for a small fish and chips is not good value. The fish was a very small portion of Cod and the chips were the frozen variety. I asked for a green salad instead of peas and got a hand full of leaves(no dressing) on top of the Cod, not good enough!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
6  Thank Dovanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

At the end of March l visited Actons Hotel to enquire abour purchasing Leisure Centre membership. l went to reception and spoke with a very pleasant and helpful receptionist who introduced herself as Noreen. At the time she had plaster of paris on her hand. Despite this she was extremely professional and when l commented on same she made lilght of it.
There were no prices available so she offered to take my contact details which l declined. She also informed me that the Leisure Centre would be undergoine refurbishment and rates were expected to be available by the end of May. Last week l telephoned your hotel and spoke with a pleasant receptionist with an english accent. To my amazement considering the Leisure Centre is opening in a week the only rate available was a special offer for annual membership again the Receptionist did offer to take my contact details. The lack of proper membership detail I would say is a very poor reflection on the Management.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Service
Thank Madeline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

The Actons Hotel is housed in three connecting somewhat historic buildings. You are impressed with the hotel before you even enter. The front courtyard has palm trees and well kept gardens. The rooms are comfortable and modern. The staff and service are top quality and everyone is eager to help in any way. Even though they have their own restaurant on site, employees are eager and willing to discuss the many gourmet restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. We were so impressed with the hotel that it will be our hotel of choice any time we are in the Kinsale area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dmcdon2851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Stayed mid week for two nights BB in a superior deluxe harbour view room. Was in room 226, in the northern half of the building. Room looked pretty small for what should have been a larger room. not one to complain I didnt. the view partially overlooked the roof of the swimming pool but wasnt too bad. large clean and new bathroom with walk in rainshower head. large king size bed.
Hotel has bar and bistro. food served in bar until 9pm.
Buffet breakfast with hot breakfast menu made to order. very good value on the deal we got. Breakfast was very nice.
Nice eateries in Kinsale so didnt eat dinner in the hotel.
We liked the area so much that we extended our stay and returned to Actons the following night, and booked online that morning. Sadly the booking system wasnt working and we ended up in a streetview room in 206, which is a double and single "suite" which is basically two bedroom. Slightly frustrating as we got the confirmation email but the hotel didnt get the booking, even though it was booked through their own site. 206 was a double bed, and quite stuffy with the windows closed, street noise too loud to sleep with the windows open. would be more suited to a small family or 3 people travelling together. Pleasant stay in a lovely part of the country and will return again provided we get a nice room.

Room Tip: Expensive village to stay, but the food is worth it. Lovely little restaurant called the Shack is qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robw017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Myself and my Husband stayed here for two nights. We absolutely loved the hotel, beautiful room with a fab view of the marina. Very friendly staff. Great walking distance to the town. Unfortunately the leisure centre was closed for refurbishments while we were there. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Third floor, perfect view of the marina. We stayed in room 318.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireHegarty2079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,636 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Actons Hotel Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Actons Hotel Kinsale

Address: Pier Road, Kinsale P17 PX80, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range: £102 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Actons Hotel Kinsale 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Actons of Kinsale is situated in the heart Kinsale with its maze of narrow winding streets, interesting craft shops, cosy pubs and art galleries, many reflecting the influences of the French, Spanish and British who all played a part in the town’s chequered history. In Kinsale, you can golf, sail, fish, clay-pigeon shoot, walk, explore historic sites, visit local museums.Known for its wonderful friendly atmosphere, Actons of Kinsale is a period building of great character, splendidly overlooking Kinsale’s beautiful harbour.Actons of Kinsale have 74 en-suite bedrooms, many enjoy superb harbour views. Each room has multi-channel tv, radio, telephone, hair dryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sidney's Bar & Brasserie serves food daily.The Health&Fitness Club boasts a 15 meter indoor heated pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool spa, techno gym and reflexology/massage facilities. A kiddie pool keeps the younger members happy while massage jets are perfect for after a round of golf!Afull range of beauty and holistic treatments are offered by our trained therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Actons Hotel Kinsale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing