We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel right in the centre of things.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Lovely hotel right in the centre of things.”
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed the bank holiday weekend in Actons Kinsale. Fully booked but felt well taken care of by staff. Rooms spotless and would have been perfect with air conditioning. Best part - Breakfast, excellent!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucajoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, General Manager at Actons Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Dear Lucajoan,

Thank you for your kind remarks following your stay with us last week-end. We're delighted you enjoyed your time with us and enjoyed your breakfast! We believe it is the most important meal of the day and because of that our chefs cook the extensive selection of hot breakfast dishes to order. We're glad that the extra efforts show.

Kind regards,


Breda Keane Shortt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    312
    83
    13
    8
See reviews for
166
459
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend for the Bank Holiday weekend in August. Kinsale is always busy during this time and it was great to get such good accommodation (though we booked well in advance). Staff at reception were very polite and friendly and helped bring in my bags too. I'd like to compliment Louise at the reception desk, she is a credit to this Hotel and has lovely manners and was so helpful. We has a room on the 3rd floor with great views of the Harbour, a comfy bed and a large rainfall style shower. Breakfast was delicious and the hot choices are cooked fresh once ordered. The hotel has a great leisure centre and I had a massage on the Saturday and it was the best value massage I've come across in an Irish hotel. The hotel is minutes away from the town centre where there are plenty of pubs, cafes and restaurants to cater for all tastes. The hotel was more then I'd usually pay for B&B (€155 per night) but it was a Bank Holiday and it was worth the cost. I would highly recommend this hotel to other couples for a weekend getaway.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 312, small but with lovely views and a fantastic shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sibh83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, General Manager at Actons Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Dear Sibh,

Thank you for your very kind comments posted following your recent stay at Actons of Kinsale. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Especially thank you for your lovely comment about Louise on reception. Louise is a recent addition to our reception team having previously worked in the bar and restaurant with us. Your comments have meant a huge amount to Louise as she finds her feet in her new role, honestly she was beaming after reading your lovely comments. Please continue to spread the word about Actons and we hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,


Breda Keane Shortt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Actons is a more dated hotel but with some recent upgrades. We stayed for one night recently in a harbour view room which was on the small side but clean with comfortable beds. There is precious little parking in Kinsale and it was with great delight to pull into the Actons parking lot and be able to pull into a parking space and not have to worry about driving. Actons is about a 5 minute walk to shops and restaurants. It was not immune to Irish rain when we were there so make sure to bring your umbrella when out walking. I found the people at the front desk very pleasant to deal with and they looked after whatever requests we made promptly. They have a nicely appointed bar where we had drinks but we did not eat at the hotel restaurant. The hotel also includes full Irish breakfast with the room price which is in a separate area. The breakfast was good but a little on the high cholestrol side so if I had a suggestion it would be to have more cereals, pastries and fruits available for people who don't want the sausages, bacon, eggs etc. All in all a good stay and I would recommend this hotel for its location, courteous staff and amenities.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesOttawa_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, General Manager at Actons Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Dear James,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review of Actons following your recent stay with us. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were happy with the hotel and facilities offered. Actons is in a great location to just park your car and enjoy strolling around the beautiful town of Kinsale. Our breakfast buffet includes a range of cereals, fruits, yogurts, seeds and dried berries in addition to the cooked breakfasts items. We will take your comments on board as we are always working to improve our offering on breakfast.

Thanks again for your kind comments, please continue to recommend Actons as so many of our guests come through personal recommendations.

Kind regards,


Breda Keane Shortt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Went here on the Aug bank holiday weekend and had an enjoyable stay. Check-in was efficient and pleasant. Our party over the weekend occupied 3 rooms all excellent since the refurbishment as 2 of our party was there pre-furbishment(still decent btw!). My room and another persons room was a single room but each room furnished with a double and single bed!. The beds are hard but comfortable. Good speed in-room wifi i speedtested at 10MB+ was an excellent feature. LG tv came with 2 hdmi ports so if you were that way inclined there is nothing stopping you bringing your appletv or xbmc device to stream your movies from!.

The power shower was awesome, real fast jets and a secondary showerhead directly above your head!. Bathroom came with plenty of towels of varying sizes and plenty if shower wash, conditioner and shampoo miniature bottles. Deep fresh carpet to add to the sense of luxury.
The only negative and im sure this is reflected on the price was that we had backward facing rooms which back onto a street(O'Connel St.) that creates a terrifically loud echo!. So noise is a problem if you want to leave your window open at night as the revelers walk by. Even an ordinary conversation by a pair walking by creates a racket because its more like a lane and has that natural echo. The hotel not only has the window but also a sliding patio type window to double up and sound proof the street to a good degree. My problem was that my stay was over 2 hot nights so it was quite the dilemma, no street noise and sweating or street noise and some cooler air!. Its really not a problem if its not a hot night though so you just shut the double windows. So by virtue of the weather an no air conditioner my sleep quality was lessened but im sure i would have had a sound nights sleep otherwise. One other slight pain was the slamming bedroom doors. I cant really blame the residents at first as when you let the door go it releases on a very soft spring loaded but on the last foot it releases or speeds up and slams!. So you need to keep your hand on the door all the way to make sure it doesn't take off on you over the last few inches!.

I must say every member of staff i encountered incl cleaning staff was pleasant and i got the feeling that staff were generally relaxed and happy in their jobs. Now breakfast needs to get a mention!. You can usually expect a buffet breakfast but this was a semi-buffet made all the more excellent that only juices, fruit , yogurts and cereals were on the communal table. Anything that is hot ie tea/coffee/toast and hot breakfasts of which there was a wide selection on offer including kippers,eggs Benedict, Full irish, etc are ordered at your table so your breakfast is essentially made freshly and not part of a buffet and prepared and delivered in quite a quick time.

By the by i witnessed a nasty type accident on checkout. They have brown glass automatic sliding entrance/exit doors and its kinds hard to guess which panel is the sliding one!. Well a young woman came walking at speed from the adjoining bar/lounge towards the exit and hit the glass(non auto sliding pane) face first before hitting the deck. One of the desk staff was quickly at hand to comfort and console the woman back in the bar in a very professional manner.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour facing room as there is a lot of noise from the street if you have a back room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ObserVanceAAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, General Manager at Actons Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Dear Aiden,

Thank you for your extensive review of Actons of Kinsale following your recent stay with us. Thank you indeed for all your kind remarks, we're pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you recommend Actons so highly.

We're sorry that you experienced noise from the street behind us, I understand your conundrum between windows open/windows shut during the unusually hot weather we experienced recently. I'm glad that overall it did not detract too much from your overall enjoyment.

Once again Aiden, thank you for recommending Actons, we hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,


Breda Keane Shortt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed one night in a harbor view double room at Actons Hotel. The room was modern, spacious, clean, very comfortable with an excellent view of the harbor. We arrived late in the afternoon and the staff was extremely helpful in making last minute dinner reservations for us at a nearby restaurant.

The central location made for a short walk to enjoy the town and its night time entertainment.

Breakfast in the morning was delicious and served by attentive staff. All in all a good stay and we wouldn't hesitate to stay at Actons again should our travels take us to Kinsale.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, General Manager at Actons Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Dear James,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Actons of Kinsale following your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your trip to Kinsale and your stay in Actons. The location is great for exploring Kinsale and all it has to offer.

Thank you for your comments about breakfast, we do believe it is the most important meal of the day and therefore we cook all the hot items to order so that we can ensure high quality.

We look forward to welcoming you back should you have the opportunity to visit Kinsale again please let us know. In the meantime we greatly appreciate your recommendation as a large proportion of our guest come via personal recommendations.


Yours sincerely


Breda Keane Shortt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We visited Ireland for a week on our honeymoon from July 16-23 and stayed at several 4-5 star hotel as part of a package. We had a two night stay at Actons hotel and were pleased both with the stunning views and the room- the room was nothing fancy but was clean and appeared pretty modern. The week we were in Ireland was quite warm, which we were told by the locals was quite unusual which might explain why the room had no air-conditioning (a universal feature in Canadian hotels) but they did have fans which we were requested on day one, but apparently they were all in use the two days/nights we were there- which we were willing to overlook since, again, this isn't their normal weather. However, not having an iron in the room or being able to provide one even though it was requested on both days is ridiculous! But still we would have understood that if the staff had been even slightly pleasant about it, both requests were treated like condemnations of the hotel and probably explains why the items were never located for us. Also, don't even try to find parking, there won't be any, ever, and don't ask the staff about it either, they are touche about it!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, General Manager at Actons Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Dear Jasmine,

I'm disappointed to read your review of Actons following your recent stay with us. I'm especially disappointed to read that you experienced poor customer service from our front desk team. Please accept my sincere apologies for this, please be assured that all the team in Actons strive to deliver the highest level of customer care and I'm sorry that on this occasion this was not your experience.

Regarding your comments about the ironing boards, we have a supply of 10 between 74 bedrooms and this is usually more than sufficient to meet our guest requests. Following your comments we have decided to increase this number to ensure that we do not have a repeat of your experience.

Kinsale is a difficult town for parking however we have over 60 spaces in our car park which is reserved for customer parking and this usually meets our requirements. I'm sorry that you were unable to park in our car park during your stay.

Jasmine, please be assured we take our customer feedback very seriously and appreciate when guests take the time to offer us feedback on our product and service. Once again, we apologise that we did not reach your expectations.

Yours sincerely,


Breda Keane Shortt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed at Actons Hotel back in April, and from what I hear, it has only recently had some major renovation. The entrance certainly was clean and new-looking - while the lift I found revealed more of the property's possible age (you'll know what I mean when you get into it).

The location is fantastic - a few minutes walk from the town 'centre' (all of which can and should be explored by foot) and set right almost on the water's edge.

Our room was a few floors up, and facing out across the water. The room itself some might say is slightly smaller than other hotel rooms you'd come across, but I suppose again one must note the age of the property. The bathroom had definitely been re-done and it was modern, clean and fresh; no complaints.

One thing worth mentioning (it's something that seems to bother me more than many others) is that this hotel when I was there had the heating dialled up fairly seriously - so it might be worth leaving the window open a notch or two when you're out.

The bed was comfy and the views made the whole thing absolutely perfect; the breakfast next morning was also of good standard, service perhaps a bit slow but it was quite busy, topped off by a fresh walk along the banks of the Bandon. Would definitely stay again alright - would also want the view though, so would be looking for same/similar room; no major complaints and looks like the renovation was a success!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WindowSeatPreferred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, General Manager at Actons Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Dear Dublin reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your April stay in Actons of Kinsale. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind comments.

You are correct in thinking that the size of the rooms is due to the age of the building. The hotel is in fact made up of 4 listed town houses which were converted to a hotel back in 1946 however the buildings date back well over 100 years earlier. The rooms vary in size depending on which of these houses your room was located in. This does add to the charm of the building and the views from the front of the hotel are amazing especially if you're lucky with the weather during your stay.

Thank you once again for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back to Actons.

Kind regards,


Breda Keane Shortt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,367 reviews
Perryville House
#6 of 50 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Actons Hotel Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Actons Hotel Kinsale

Property: Actons Hotel Kinsale
Address: Pier Road, Kinsale, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Actons Hotel Kinsale 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Actons of Kinsale is situated in the heart Kinsale with its maze of narrow winding streets, interesting craft shops, cosy pubs and art galleries, many reflecting the influences of the French, Spanish and British who all played a part in the town’s chequered history. In Kinsale, you can golf, sail, fish, clay-pigeon shoot, walk, explore historic sites, visit local museums.Known for its wonderful friendly atmosphere, Actons of Kinsale is a period building of great character, splendidly overlooking Kinsale’s beautiful harbour.Actons of Kinsale have 74 en-suite bedrooms, many enjoy superb harbour views. Each room has multi-channel tv, radio, telephone, hair dryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sidney's Bar & Brasserie serves food daily.The Health&Fitness Club boasts a 15 meter indoor heated pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool spa, techno gym and reflexology/massage facilities. A kiddie pool keeps the younger members happy while massage jets are perfect for after a round of golf!Afull range of beauty and holistic treatments are offered by our trained therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Actons Hotel Kinsale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing