We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort by the harbor.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Other than the carpets in need of cleaning, our room was wonderful. I'm not certain they had our reservation on file but I had our confirmation. We were put up in a three room suite without a question. When I asked for an iron it was brought to our room immediately. The view across the road is a marina full of sailing vessels. This is a block from the main streets of town so it is perfectly located. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fossr50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, General Manager at Actons Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Fossr50,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Actons of Kinsale following your recent stay with us. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for your strong recommendation.

The hotel was fully refurbished in March this year and all the carpets are new throughout the hotel. We regularly clean the carpets as required and we never re-let a room if there is a stain on the carpet however please accept my sincere apologies if we missed something which affected your stay.

Please continue to recommend Actons and indeed Kinsale.


Your sincerely,


Breda Keane Shortt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (965)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

802 - 808 of 965 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

A group of us were staying for the weekend at the Actons and we're sadly left with mixed feelings.

The positives: recently refurbished to a high standard the common areas, restaurant, bar and rooms were clean, modern yet welcoming and cosy ... No brass and glass, just tasteful warm decor and free wifi in the rooms which were pretty spacious too.

The breakfasts are great ... A choice of cereals, juices, fruit, yoghurts and pastries, the cooked breakfasts were gorgeous - eggs Benedict and the full Irish were really, really good.

The not so good :
We paid for a harbour view but sadly had a room overlooking the leisure suite. We were told the hotel was fully booked so there was little we could do. Our bathroom was ridiculously cramped ... You had to shuffle past the sink, twist while you shut the door to access the shower - inconvenient for us but could be a major problem to those who need a bit more space or have any issues with mobility ... It was tiny!

No iron or ironing board in the room, though one was provided by reception, but the cover was like paper which meant he crisscross pattern of the board was ironed into my clothes ... We resorted to ironing on a towel!

The towels themselves are the thinnest I've ever seen in a western hotel, a real shame.

While the wardrobe had ample space, there wasn't a drawer in sight to store anything else so ewe had to resort to living out of our suitcase. Not a major problem but what feels like a big oversight in a newly refurbished hotel.

The biggest problem for us is one which no-one else will probably have to suffer. The fire alarm went off 5 times in one night ... About once an hour from 2 in the morning. Of course we would rather be disturbed than burn in our bed and even twice would have been understandable if inconvenient, but there was a major problem in that staff overnight had no idea how to rectify a false trip in the system.

To make matters worse we were lied to the following morning ... Which staff finally admitted to the following day. We were originally told that a guest smoking in his room repeatedly set off the alarm. When we spoke to staff 24 hours later and my husband explained hope fitted and maintained fire alarms for hotels they admitted staff didn't know how to reset the system and had to wait for an engineer to arrive just after 7am to fix the problem.

This added insult to a serious lack of sleep and for our €125 per night stay we were offered €25 off our bill ... Not nearly enough in my eyes for being made to get up, get dressed and head downstairs 5 times in one night for human error.

If there's anything good to come from this experience it's that you can rest assured that there's zero danger of you sleeping through a fire alarm here - the noise is deafening!

A small pool, sauna, steam room and well equipped gym provided welcome R&R, though can get very busy.

Room Tip: Avoid 225 unless you want to fight with a door to get into the bathroom each day! If you want a ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, General Manager at Actons Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Corpe,

Thank you for taking the time to review Actons following your recent stay with us. I'm sorry to hear that you are left with mixed feelings about the hotel but I thank you for your feedback on the items where you feel that we fell short. It is only by such feedback that we can continue to improve the product we deliver to our guest and continue to be the preferred hotel in Kinsale.

Regarding the fire alarm, please accept our sincere apologies that you were disturbed by this unfortunate and very rare incident. The alarm was activated by a guest smoking in their room. This happened on two separate occasions on the night in question. Unfortunately on the 2nd occasion the alarm panel would not reset for our night manager and showed a fault. it was for this reason that our team were not able to fully reset the system but had to wait for the engineer to call on an emergency call out.

I assure you that all our senior managers and our night team are fully trained in dealing with the fire panel and fire safety which is of utmost importance to us. As you will appreciate with safety equipment there are items we are allowed to address and other items which we are legally prevented from tampering with. In this case the fire head in the room in question was transmitting a fault to the panel and the engineer had to change this device.

Once again please be assured that the safety of our guest and employees is of paramount importance to us in Actons. Thank you again for your detailed feedback and I hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to Kinsale and Actons in the future.



Yours sincerely,


Breda Keane Shortt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Just back from this hotel with another 4 couples, none of us can fault this hotel, great location, in beautiful Kinsale. The bedrooms were lovely spotless, also one of the best beds I've slept in. Breakfast lovely plenty to choose from and cooked breakfast was made to order so always hot fresh and tasty. Staff all very pleasant & friendly. Also has its own little leisure centre if your feeling fit and want a swim, gym or massage.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view, and wake up to a spectacular scene over this beautiful little fishing villag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shanballyscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, General Manager at Actons Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dar Shanballyscotland,

Thank you for taking the time to review Actons of Kinsale following your recent stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments and strong recommendation, we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to our beautiful town and to Actons Hotel.

Thank you once again, we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Breda Keane Shortt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I recently stayed 2 nights in room 319 at Actons Hotel in Kinsale. There was a group of 8 of us in total and everyone was impressed with the hotel. The girls in reception were very welcoming, friendly and professional. One of the girls we dealt with was a medical student who worked part-time in reception, but she was excellent at her job and resolved any queries we had. The bedrooms were superb - very luxurious and modern with a large flat screen television and a fabulous bathroom and shower. The night porter who was Hungarian was excellent and very friendly and served us plenty late drinks in the residents bar. We had dinner both evenings in the hotel. I had the rib-eye steak which was cooked to perfection and served with onions, mushrooms, chips and pepper sauce. I'd highly recommend it! The second evening I had the penne pasta cajun chicken dish which was also very tasty. We had a fine breakfast both mornings which again was very good. During our second day in Kinsale we availed of the leisure centre facilities within the hotel. The hot-tub and swimming pool was fab. Again the girl working at the leisure centre front desk was very friendly and pleasant. Location wise this hotel is perfect, it is within walking distance of all the pubs, shops and restaurants. The only negative from our stay was that the fire alarm went off a couple of times during the night. This we were told was from guests smoking in their bedrooms. Overall I couldn't recommend this hotel high enough. I will certainly return in the near future, the staff are exceptional here which make it a pleasure to stay at Actons.

Room Tip: Room 319 is fab as are the rest of the rooms nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GazoLambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, General Manager at Actons Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear GazoLambo,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Actons of Kinsale following your stay with us. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments about Mary our receptionist and Ivan our night manager both of whom are delighted to read your review and indeed about the rest of the team. Thank you also for your compliment about the food served in Actons, our new head chef Garrett is delighted to read that the new menu is being well received.

I hope you will continue to recommend Actons and Kinsale.

Kind regards,


Breda Keane Shortt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The present meets the past at Actons Hotel. Mixed with the modern lobby, furniture, business center with computer and bar area, guests are treated to an elevator that barely fits two people with a control panel straight from the 1970s. Also, guests get room keys instead of cards. But it all adds to the comfy feel of the hotel. Traveling with a business group, we arrived at Actons late in the afternoon and had to leave early in the morning the next day, so we only spent a few hours at the hotel. But the time we stayed was pleasant. The rooms were clean and large, beds were comfortable and the bathroom had all the amenities one would expect. The shower was a bit confusing with handles on both sides. But the two-headed shower in our room was a nice touch. We stayed in a room on the front and the view was outstanding. It looked right onto the water and the boats tied up at the marina added to the coastal feel of the place. The location is good, right in the heart of Kinsale. So guests can walk to a number of restaurants, shops and other attractions. The staff was extremely attentive and worked to make our stay comfortable. In fact, because we had to leave the next day before breakfast, the hotel set up a continental breakfast for our group. Would have loved to stayed longer so I could have checked out the pool.

Room Tip: Get one that faces the water and its not too high up. Elevator is a bit slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, General Manager at Actons Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Chris M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Actons of Kinsale following your recent business stay with us, thank you for your kind comments about the location, rooms and the team here, I'm glad that you found the hotel to your satisfaction.

On a lighter note your comments about the lift and our real keys certainly brought a big smile to my face, you have a great talent for words.

Thank you once again for your kind review, I hope you may have the opportunity to stay longer and enjoy Kinsale in the future.

Kind regards,


Breda Keane Shortt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This large hotel has recently been refurbished and has a new and comfortable feel about it. All public rooms are well decorated and appropriately furnished. The staff were warm, friendly and typically Irish. The service was also to a very high standard. Our room was on the front of the building overlooking the lawns to the marina. The hotels leisure complex is superb with a good size pool and Jacuzzi. With its central location in Kinsale all amenities are within easy walking distance. The food was generally very good although breakfast scrambled eggs were a bit rubbery. Other small issues were; only one room key for our double room and no safe in the bedroom. Otherwise no problems and we very much enjoyed our weekend in a wonderful part of the world!!

Room Tip: Rooms on front have the best views - the higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllanFelixstoweUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, General Manager at Actons Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Allen,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Actons of Kinsale following your recent stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments about the team, service, food and our leisure club which we are glad that you enjoyed. Please accept our apologies regarding the scrambled egg, we do cook all our breakfast hot food to order so it would seem that your eggs were a little overcooked on this occasion.

Regarding your room key, we do have two keys per room as standard so I will follow up on this with our Front Office Manager. I hope you were not unduly inconvenienced without a second key.

I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay in Kinsale and Actons and I hope that you will continue to recommend us. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.


Kind regards,


Breda Keane Shortt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Lovely hotel - had a beautiful suite. The staff were very friendly and the service was amazing. The food was sublime especially the mushroom risotto. a wonderful stay. Position of hotel was great, over looking a lovely bay and very short walk to town and entertainment.

Room Tip: Suite facing front of the hotel was large and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traceylthorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, General Manager at Actons Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Traceylthorne,

Thank you for taking the time to review Actons of Kinsale following your recent stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments, we're glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you particularly for your kind comments about the team here and also you compliments about the food. The views from the Harbour View rooms are amazing especially if the weather is clear. We're really glad that you enjoyed your stay in the beautiful town of Kinsale and at Actons. We hope you'll continue to recommend us.

Kind regards,

Breda Keane Shortt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,594 reviews
Perryville House
#6 of 53 in Kinsale
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Actons Hotel Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Actons Hotel Kinsale

Address: Pier Road, Kinsale, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range: £102 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Actons Hotel Kinsale 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Actons of Kinsale is situated in the heart Kinsale with its maze of narrow winding streets, interesting craft shops, cosy pubs and art galleries, many reflecting the influences of the French, Spanish and British who all played a part in the town’s chequered history. In Kinsale, you can golf, sail, fish, clay-pigeon shoot, walk, explore historic sites, visit local museums.Known for its wonderful friendly atmosphere, Actons of Kinsale is a period building of great character, splendidly overlooking Kinsale’s beautiful harbour.Actons of Kinsale have 74 en-suite bedrooms, many enjoy superb harbour views. Each room has multi-channel tv, radio, telephone, hair dryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sidney's Bar & Brasserie serves food daily.The Health&Fitness Club boasts a 15 meter indoor heated pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool spa, techno gym and reflexology/massage facilities. A kiddie pool keeps the younger members happy while massage jets are perfect for after a round of golf!Afull range of beauty and holistic treatments are offered by our trained therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Actons Hotel Kinsale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing