We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Nearby Hotels
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Trident Hotel Kinsale(Kinsale)
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$394
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Reviews (1,021)
Filter reviews
1,021 results
Traveller rating
535
364
99
15
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
535
364
99
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure centrelovely hotela harbour view roomeggs benedictno air conditioningcooked breakfastsuperior roombreakfast staffbar foodexcellent locationhotel barcold buffetbreakfast was includedcentral locationfamily roomthree nightsnice room
Filter
Updating list...
854 - 859 of 1,021 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We spent a night in Kinsale, visiting friends for a wedding in the area. Our room was very comfortable, meticulously clean, and we had an excellent and copious breakfast. Very friendly service (the staff actually granted our small group the use of the bar for viewing the first of the new series of Downton Abbey -- this attracted many other customers!)
The hotel is only minutes away from the town, and only half an hour away (on foot) from the Charles Fort (along a nice coastline path).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on the harbour.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muverans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, General Manager at Actons Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Muverans,

Thank you for taking the time to review Actons of Kinsale following your recent stay with us on the occasion of your friends wedding. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your time in Kinsale and in Actons. In particular, thank you for your kind comments about our breakfast offering and the team here. I'm glad we were able to facilitate your special request to watch Downtown, a great series!

Please continue to recommend Actons and Kinsale.

Kind regards,


Breda Keane Shortt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

My wife and a friend went to Actons Hotel and had 2soft drinks. They were served without any bottles and they were charged a total of Euro 9.20 for the privilege of same. Needless to say they will never go back there again and I would strongly recommend people to boycott this hotel until they see how they are ripping off visitors - a short term gain is a long term expense. Avoid at all costs

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
4  Thank John1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, General Manager at Actons Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear John1907,

We are shocked and disappointed to read the comments which you have assigned to Actons. Having investigated your comments unfortunately I cannot explain your remarks. We charge €2.50 in the bar for a soft drink so therefore two soft drinks would total €5. On Lucozade or Red Bull we charge €2.70 therefore the bill would be €5.40. All our soft drinks are in the proprietary branded bottles in glass fronted refrigerated units behind the bar counter in clear view of our customers.

I have also checked that all the keys on our bar till are correctly assigned in case there was a glitch on our till however I can assure you that they are and that all prices are correct.

If your wife has retained a copy of the receipt I would be delighted to receive it and if we have made an error we will of course rectify it immediately.

Yours sincerely,


Breda Keane Shortt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Other than the carpets in need of cleaning, our room was wonderful. I'm not certain they had our reservation on file but I had our confirmation. We were put up in a three room suite without a question. When I asked for an iron it was brought to our room immediately. The view across the road is a marina full of sailing vessels. This is a block from the main streets of town so it is perfectly located. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fossr50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, General Manager at Actons Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Fossr50,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Actons of Kinsale following your recent stay with us. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for your strong recommendation.

The hotel was fully refurbished in March this year and all the carpets are new throughout the hotel. We regularly clean the carpets as required and we never re-let a room if there is a stain on the carpet however please accept my sincere apologies if we missed something which affected your stay.

Please continue to recommend Actons and indeed Kinsale.


Your sincerely,


Breda Keane Shortt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

A group of us were staying for the weekend at the Actons and we're sadly left with mixed feelings.

The positives: recently refurbished to a high standard the common areas, restaurant, bar and rooms were clean, modern yet welcoming and cosy ... No brass and glass, just tasteful warm decor and free wifi in the rooms which were pretty spacious too.

The breakfasts are great ... A choice of cereals, juices, fruit, yoghurts and pastries, the cooked breakfasts were gorgeous - eggs Benedict and the full Irish were really, really good.

The not so good :
We paid for a harbour view but sadly had a room overlooking the leisure suite. We were told the hotel was fully booked so there was little we could do. Our bathroom was ridiculously cramped ... You had to shuffle past the sink, twist while you shut the door to access the shower - inconvenient for us but could be a major problem to those who need a bit more space or have any issues with mobility ... It was tiny!

No iron or ironing board in the room, though one was provided by reception, but the cover was like paper which meant he crisscross pattern of the board was ironed into my clothes ... We resorted to ironing on a towel!

The towels themselves are the thinnest I've ever seen in a western hotel, a real shame.

While the wardrobe had ample space, there wasn't a drawer in sight to store anything else so ewe had to resort to living out of our suitcase. Not a major problem but what feels like a big oversight in a newly refurbished hotel.

The biggest problem for us is one which no-one else will probably have to suffer. The fire alarm went off 5 times in one night ... About once an hour from 2 in the morning. Of course we would rather be disturbed than burn in our bed and even twice would have been understandable if inconvenient, but there was a major problem in that staff overnight had no idea how to rectify a false trip in the system.

To make matters worse we were lied to the following morning ... Which staff finally admitted to the following day. We were originally told that a guest smoking in his room repeatedly set off the alarm. When we spoke to staff 24 hours later and my husband explained hope fitted and maintained fire alarms for hotels they admitted staff didn't know how to reset the system and had to wait for an engineer to arrive just after 7am to fix the problem.

This added insult to a serious lack of sleep and for our €125 per night stay we were offered €25 off our bill ... Not nearly enough in my eyes for being made to get up, get dressed and head downstairs 5 times in one night for human error.

If there's anything good to come from this experience it's that you can rest assured that there's zero danger of you sleeping through a fire alarm here - the noise is deafening!

A small pool, sauna, steam room and well equipped gym provided welcome R&R, though can get very busy.

Room Tip: Avoid 225 unless you want to fight with a door to get into the bathroom each day! If you want a harbour view, check the room has a bay window in the middle of the hotel not at either end of the corridor, and for the best views get a room on the 3rd floor. Family rooms at the back of the hotel were more spacious.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, General Manager at Actons Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Corpe,

Thank you for taking the time to review Actons following your recent stay with us. I'm sorry to hear that you are left with mixed feelings about the hotel but I thank you for your feedback on the items where you feel that we fell short. It is only by such feedback that we can continue to improve the product we deliver to our guest and continue to be the preferred hotel in Kinsale.

Regarding the fire alarm, please accept our sincere apologies that you were disturbed by this unfortunate and very rare incident. The alarm was activated by a guest smoking in their room. This happened on two separate occasions on the night in question. Unfortunately on the 2nd occasion the alarm panel would not reset for our night manager and showed a fault. it was for this reason that our team were not able to fully reset the system but had to wait for the engineer to call on an emergency call out.

I assure you that all our senior managers and our night team are fully trained in dealing with the fire panel and fire safety which is of utmost importance to us. As you will appreciate with safety equipment there are items we are allowed to address and other items which we are legally prevented from tampering with. In this case the fire head in the room in question was transmitting a fault to the panel and the engineer had to change this device.

Once again please be assured that the safety of our guest and employees is of paramount importance to us in Actons. Thank you again for your detailed feedback and I hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to Kinsale and Actons in the future.



Yours sincerely,


Breda Keane Shortt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Just back from this hotel with another 4 couples, none of us can fault this hotel, great location, in beautiful Kinsale. The bedrooms were lovely spotless, also one of the best beds I've slept in. Breakfast lovely plenty to choose from and cooked breakfast was made to order so always hot fresh and tasty. Staff all very pleasant & friendly. Also has its own little leisure centre if your feeling fit and want a swim, gym or massage.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view, and wake up to a spectacular scene over this beautiful little fishing village
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shanballyscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, General Manager at Actons Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dar Shanballyscotland,

Thank you for taking the time to review Actons of Kinsale following your recent stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments and strong recommendation, we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to our beautiful town and to Actons Hotel.

Thank you once again, we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Breda Keane Shortt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews