We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel in Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We enjoyed a lovely overnight stay in this hotel. Reception staff were very efficient and welcoming. Our bedroom was bright, airy and roomy. The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. Everything necessary for a pleasant stay was provided. Great Shower,Tea/coffee making facilities etc. Hotel is in a great location for enjoying all that the beautiful town of Kinsale has to offer. Its location on the Pier is second to none. I was determined to enjoy this to the full, so paid the supplement for Harbour View Room. I was disappointed to find that our room was situated overlooking the roof of the Leisure Centre. Admitedly we could see the Harbour, but,it was at a push! Overall we enjoyed our break and would certainly return to this hotel

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jima_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, General Manager at Actons Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear Jima 10,

Thank you for taking the time to review Actons following your recent stay with us. Thank you also for your kind comments regarding our Front Office team. I'm sorry you found the harbour view a bit restricted and I'm glad that this did not detract from your overall enjoyment. Should you have the opportunity to travel from Kilkenny again in the future please contact the Front Office Manager Alice Harrington or I directly and we'll ensure that you are allocated a room closer to the centre of the Hotel.

Yours sincerely,


Breda Keane Shortt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (980)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

805 - 811 of 980 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

very nice hotel in Kinsale. the check in was fast i booked with booking.com. the hotel have a free parking i asked for a sea view room it was for a 10 euros extra so it was ok and it was worth it. the wifi in the room was week although it was free. the room was lovely nice and big. the bed was great and so comfortable the view was perfect. the breakfast was lovely and tasty we enjoyed our stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mario Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, General Manager at Actons Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear Mario,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Actons following your recent stay. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that you will continue to recommend Actons and the beautiful town of Kinsale.

I'm sorry to learn that you found the Wifi connection weak in your room, generally the feedback about Wifi is very positive. I'd appreciate if you could drop me a quick note to let me know either your surname so that we can check which room you stayed in and have our IT company rectify this issue. My e-mail address is bkeane@actonshotelkinsale.com

Yours sincerely,

Breda Keane Shortt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

What a great hotel this turned out to be. Great location. Lovely staff and superb rooms with high quality products....But my oh my the breakfast! Full continental and hot Freshly cooked to order. And all for 55 euros Fab. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pushca48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, General Manager at Actons Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear Pushca48,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Actons of Kinsale. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and indeed the freshly cooked breakfast and buffet selection. I'd also like to thank you for your kind comments about the team at Actons which are greatly appreciated. We hope you will continue to recommend Actons.

Kind regards,

Breda Keane Shortt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The Actons hotel is a newly remodeled boutique hotel in downtown Kinsale, a quick walk to downtown restaurants, shops, and tours, as well as right across from the Harbor. Parking was easy and there are ample spaces for guests. The buffet breakfast was delicious. Complimentary wi-fi was easy to access. While walls are a bit thin (we could hear a crying child a few doors down), overall it was a very comfortable stay and we'd go back the next time we're in the Kinsale area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahP1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, General Manager at Actons Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear SarahP118,

Thank you for your kind comments following your recent stay at Actons of Kinsale. We're glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would return in the future. Thank you particularly for your comments about the team here which are greatly appreciated.

Kind regards,

Breda Keane Shortt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

A weekend away in Kinsale meeting up with my sister and her husband. Despite the weather forecast Saturday turned out to be lovely and we were able to fully enjoy Kinsale's many charms. We chose Actons because of its reviews and location and were not disappointed. It was comfortable, friendly and well-appointed and good value. However, although I normally do not like to criticise there was one blemish. I ordered an omelette for breakfast on the first morning which was the worst I have ever had. It was a large rubbery pancake in the middle of which had been laid, not mixed, onions, ham etc and then turned over to conceal the ingredients. Three of us had ordered omelettes and they were all the same. The breakfast chef should be ashamed of himself. On the next day we ordered the full Irish breakfast which was absolutely fine. I know that bad omelettes are only a minor issue but a hotel kitchen that does not know how to make an omelette is questionable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nistock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, General Manager at Actons Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Dear Nistock,

Thank you for taking the time to review Actons following your recent stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel location, facilities and the friendliness of the team.

We are very sorry to learn that you were dis-appointed with your breakfast the morning that you ordered omelettes. We completely agree with you that cooking an omelette is a basic skill for any breakfast chef and I'm sorry that your experience with us fell short on what the standard should have been. Please be assured that this is not our usual standard and I would also like to pass on the apologies of our head chef Garrett Forsey in this regard.

I hope that your experience will not prevent you from giving Actons another opportunity to impress you. Thank you once again for your balanced review, it is often easy to allow once issue to completely influence your views.

Kind regards,


Breda Keane Shortt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We can't say enough about the lovely 3 night stay we had at Acton's Hotel. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the harbour view room which was quite large and comfortable and spotlessly clean. The staff were lovely and friendly and helpful and we were very impressed with the Manager Breda Keane who immediately dealt with a small issue that we had. Also the cleaning staff are extremely thorough with the care they take over each room, our room was spotlessly cleaned everyday. The hotel has a lovely relaxed atmosphere and you are in the perfect spot near the town and you can walk to the centre in a few minutes. We ate dinner one night in the hotel and it was very nice as was the lovely toasted sandwiches during the day. Also there is a leisure centre with a pool and they also provide various massage treatments which i enjoyed. All in all I would definitely recommend Acton's Hotel for a nice relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Ask for room 226 harbour view, lovely interior and quite large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tellerIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, General Manager at Actons Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Dear TellerIreland,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Actons following your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed Actons and indeed the lovely town of Kinsale. Thank you for your very nice comments about the cleanliness of the bedrooms and the team who are charged with this very important task. It can be a tough task particularly in a listed building and the challenges that bring and we are always delighted when their efforts are particularly noted by our guest.

We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed dinner and lunch with us.

Thank you also for your kind comment to me, I'm glad I was personally able to play a small part in the enjoyment of your stay at Actons.

Please continue to recommend Actons of Kinsale and we hope that you will return in the future.

Kind regards,

Breda Keane Shortt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

we stayed there for one night i am sorry we did not stay for the 2.The hotel was great with everything in easy walking distance.The room was great very big with a great shower the one complaint that i have that is that the room was quite warm i am sure if i asked for fan they would have had one.the breakfast was quite good as hotel go.if i was staying again i would ask for one of the room to the front

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irelandladyluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, General Manager at Actons Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Dear Irelandladyluck,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Actons following your stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel, we are glad that you enjoyed your short stay and we hope that you will have the opportunity to stay longer on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Breda Keane Shortt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,637 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Actons Hotel Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Actons Hotel Kinsale

Address: Pier Road, Kinsale P17 PX80, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range: £102 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Actons Hotel Kinsale 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Actons of Kinsale is situated in the heart Kinsale with its maze of narrow winding streets, interesting craft shops, cosy pubs and art galleries, many reflecting the influences of the French, Spanish and British who all played a part in the town’s chequered history. In Kinsale, you can golf, sail, fish, clay-pigeon shoot, walk, explore historic sites, visit local museums.Known for its wonderful friendly atmosphere, Actons of Kinsale is a period building of great character, splendidly overlooking Kinsale’s beautiful harbour.Actons of Kinsale have 74 en-suite bedrooms, many enjoy superb harbour views. Each room has multi-channel tv, radio, telephone, hair dryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sidney's Bar & Brasserie serves food daily.The Health&Fitness Club boasts a 15 meter indoor heated pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool spa, techno gym and reflexology/massage facilities. A kiddie pool keeps the younger members happy while massage jets are perfect for after a round of golf!Afull range of beauty and holistic treatments are offered by our trained therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Actons Hotel Kinsale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing