We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed here in September for a trip to celebrate our wedding anniversary and found it to be the perfect base from which to explore Kinsale and other parts of West Cork. Check in was seamless, which is exactly what you want. Our room was such a suprise. If you are expecting old fashioned then you are in the wrong place, the rooms are bright and airy, bathroom fabulous, flat screen TV and very very good free wi-fi. The bed and pillows were among the most comfortable we have encountered in any hotel. The view looking out over the harbour was spectacular it really is worth the extra money. We did have a couple of drinks in the bar on the three nights we were there, usually when we returned from dinner at one of the amazing nearby restaurants and one which i would very much recommend, The Black Pig. The bar staff were prompt and very friendly which is what you want really. The night porter was so so nice, very friendly i have to say. My only quibble is the breakfast, i hate to say it but the food was not good. The cooked breakfast was bordering on raw so the next day we tried something different alas not much better. We actually didn't even go down to breakfast one of the days as i just could not stomach any more of it. Upon check out we weren't asked if we enjoyed our stay but to be fair the lady was busy fielding phone calls at the same time so there wasn't an opportunity to voice my complaints about the breakfast. Upon saying this I will absolutely stay here again as the rooms are fantastic but i shall book on a room only basis and instead go to one of the many cafes in Kinsale. If you are looking for clean, modern, spacious, comfortable rooms with a view then Actons is what you are looking for.

Room Tip: Ask and pay for a harbour view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeanieB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomas W, Manager at Actons Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments following your stay with us at Actons Hotel. I was delighted to read them and in particular that you enjoyed the facilities, service and location of the hotel.

We are very sorry to learn that you were dis-appointed with your breakfast and I'm sorry that your experience with us fell short on what the standard should have been.Please be assured that this is not our usual standard We believe that breakfast is very important so we do put an extra effort in this area to provide a good breakfast and start to our guests day.

Thank you once again for your balanced review, it is often easy to allow once issue to completely influence your views.We certainly look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of assistance at any time
Kind regards,

Tomas Wrixon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (992)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

806 - 812 of 992 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here from the 15th to the 17th of November for our wedding anniversary. We had an absolutely perfect stay and have nothing but praise for this hotel and it's staff. The leisure centre is superb and the renovations have made it state of the art. We had our wedding here back in 1990 and the hotel is still one of my favourites. Sometimes you don't appreciate what's on your doorstep until you revisit: this hotel is a diamond twinkling in magnificent Kinsale. Couldn't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diarmuid C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Lovely hotel. Rooms very spacious and clean. Ask for a sea view for breathtaking scenery of Kinsale Harbour. the salmon omelettes at breakfast are to die for. It's very central for all bars and amenities. Could not fault this hotel in anyway and would definitely go back

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMM1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Had a great night on Saturday night in Actons. The hotel is beautiful, still retaining some old character while still being modern and comfortable. The staff are really friendly, the breakfast is excellent and the beds are VERY comfortable.

Kinsale is a lovely town, and Actons is a couple of minutes walk to all the pubs and bars.

We really enjoyed ourselves.

Thanks for the lovely weekend - keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front, the view in the morning is beautiful. Also, you can extend your chec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DarranH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Highly recommend this hotel. Set in the heart of Kinsale with a superb view of the harbour. Really friendly staff, rooms immaculate & great selection for breakfast! Will definitely return to Actons Hotel again, one night is just not enough!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DmS8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

we had a beautiful room, free parking, free WiFi, we had an amazing lake view from the room, it was right across the center town, a very impressive hotel, pool and gym available, we got an amazing service from the hotel staff,we had a great experience in the hotel and at the city itself.
very recommended!!

Room Tip: ask for a lake view room, and walk around the center town! its a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vital d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Sadly we only had the one night at Actons during our 25th anniversary Ireland road trip. The hotel is in a fantastic location on the edge of the bay with stunning views. The hotel is spotlessly clean with an enormous comfortable bed and pillows. We did not dine in the hotel but breakfast was excellent. All in all I would recommend the Actons to everyone. We did dine at the Whitehouse which also was excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seanseaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Actons Hotel Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Actons Hotel Kinsale

Address: Pier Road, Kinsale P17 PX80, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range: £101 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Actons Hotel Kinsale 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Actons of Kinsale is situated in the heart Kinsale with its maze of narrow winding streets, interesting craft shops, cosy pubs and art galleries, many reflecting the influences of the French, Spanish and British who all played a part in the town’s chequered history. In Kinsale, you can golf, sail, fish, clay-pigeon shoot, walk, explore historic sites, visit local museums.Known for its wonderful friendly atmosphere, Actons of Kinsale is a period building of great character, splendidly overlooking Kinsale’s beautiful harbour.Actons of Kinsale have 74 en-suite bedrooms, many enjoy superb harbour views. Each room has multi-channel tv, radio, telephone, hair dryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sidney's Bar & Brasserie serves food daily.The Health&Fitness Club boasts a 15 meter indoor heated pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool spa, techno gym and reflexology/massage facilities. A kiddie pool keeps the younger members happy while massage jets are perfect for after a round of golf!Afull range of beauty and holistic treatments are offered by our trained therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Actons Hotel Kinsale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing