We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here recently as part of a 9 person group. Super location, on site parking, top class rooms, great bar staff. Ivan ( late night bar man) was exceptionally hospitable - making us sandwiches at 4.00 am!
Breakfast choice is great also. Best of all was the price. Ireland needs more hotels giving this level of real world service and value. We will be back !

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Palmyra14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (985)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

780 - 786 of 985 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014

This staff went out of their way to make this stay unforgettable. Everything from their chic room layout to their very classy bar / dining area was absolutely delightful. We had dinner in their dining area one of the nights and were pleasantly surprised to find that their restaurant definitely gives the local eats some competition! The bartender (Paul - shaved head with blue eyes) was extremely helpful - carrying our luggage to our rooms, seeking out where to find the best friday night music in town and offering up great conversation when we shared a pint at their bar. (Jack - another bartender was awesome himself). Their hotel is within 5 minutes (walking) from all the shops/restaurants/hotels/pubs - yet nestled quietly right on the harbor - making the view from our room breathtakingly gorgeous! Thank you Actons! Our trip to Kinsale felt like we were in a beautiful movie scene the entire time!

Room Tip: Their elevator is very slow, try the first or second floor to get a great view, but to get your lugg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abigail g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Absolutely lovely hotel. Hotel room nicely decorated and spacious. Breakfast great and lovely organic smoked salmon with brown bread on the menu. All staff excellent esp Mary in bar. Leisure centre well worth a visit.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank aqualeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I loved this hotel from the moment we arrived excellent staff so friendly and accommodating the breakfast was fab as were the staff two lovely ladies who were so nice but also efficient nothing was too much trouble thank you the breakfast menu was the best I've ever seen a great variety . The reception staff were really great as we're the housekeeping and a special thanks to the night porter you were a gem . I will be returning again .

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline6087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Had heard it was the best place to stay in Kinsale and wasn't disappointed. Can't fault the place at all. It's obviously been modernised and done well. OK, the view out of the bedroom window was of the buildings at the back, but if you read reviews of the place you know that you are likely to get that, and if you are staying in Kinsale and wanting to sit in your room to get a view, don't bother going. The whole point is to go out and see the place!!! We would definitely go back there. It's a superb location.

If I was to gripe about anything, it would be a very minor gripe, and that's breakfast. I spend a lot of time in Ireland and a full Irish breakfast beats anything the world over. This didn't. It just didn't quite hit the mark but, you know what, it didn't really detract at all from our whole experience. It's me being spoiled by better breakfasts in other places and I reckon that I can live with that!!!! :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 64JimmyJazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Lovely modern styled rooms. Staff were friendly. Lovely breakfast all cooked to order. Enjoyed the facilities such as the swimming pool. Great location near town centre and looking out over the water. Slightly disappointed that there was no bath tub. Was told after check in that there was only two in the building. However the spacious shower was great, with two heads - a large rain water head or a normal small head.

Room Tip: Request room with bath tub if you want to have a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_first_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Our son gave us this night's stay for my husband's birthday. We stayed in the Desmond Suite. The room was over-the-top and we loved it. Breakfast was very good but a little too basic for a hotel, I think. We ate dinner in the pub and it was great food and dessert and good service. The front desk people were wonderful at check in....the next morning we needed directions to St. John's for Mass but the girl was not too much help just handing us a map instead of routing it for us as we ran into a lot of one ways and ended up dreadfully late after being hopelessly lost...thank heaven we ran into a walker in the pouring rain who took the time to help us find our way. The bed was the best night's sleep of our trip!!!!

Room Tip: The Desmond Suite is the best!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaWickert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,655 reviews
Long Quay House
#14 of 52 in Kinsale
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Actons Hotel Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Actons Hotel Kinsale

Address: Pier Road, Kinsale P17 PX80, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range: £103 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Actons Hotel Kinsale 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Actons of Kinsale is situated in the heart Kinsale with its maze of narrow winding streets, interesting craft shops, cosy pubs and art galleries, many reflecting the influences of the French, Spanish and British who all played a part in the town’s chequered history. In Kinsale, you can golf, sail, fish, clay-pigeon shoot, walk, explore historic sites, visit local museums.Known for its wonderful friendly atmosphere, Actons of Kinsale is a period building of great character, splendidly overlooking Kinsale’s beautiful harbour.Actons of Kinsale have 74 en-suite bedrooms, many enjoy superb harbour views. Each room has multi-channel tv, radio, telephone, hair dryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sidney's Bar & Brasserie serves food daily.The Health&Fitness Club boasts a 15 meter indoor heated pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool spa, techno gym and reflexology/massage facilities. A kiddie pool keeps the younger members happy while massage jets are perfect for after a round of golf!Afull range of beauty and holistic treatments are offered by our trained therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Actons Hotel Kinsale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing