We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The old reliable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I had not stayed at Actons Hotel for years and I am happy to report that it has not lost any of its charm. The location is bang central and the staff offer a ,nothing is too much' approach to customer service. Food is what you'd expect in Kinsale - gorgeous! The rooms are clean...maybe a bit of work needed but nothing a minor outlay wouldn't bring up th date>

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (997)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

784 - 790 of 997 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

Recently stayed for two nights. Found the hotel to be well run with good friendly staff. Location is excellent for walking kinsale. The only little downpoint was we felt the breakfast could be a little better but it was by no means the worst breakfast ever.

Overall I would say this hotel is an ideal base for exploring kinsales shops and restaurants

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank buddyandsammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Spotlessly clean room but the shower tray needs attention alright its stained perhaps from hard water.

The male manager behind reception desk seemed very distracted & didnt make any eye contact when we asked few simple q's which i found rude i must say.

Lift is teeny tiny but that didnt bother me as i dont use lifts anyway but for an elderly or disabled person it would be rather awkward.

Fab restaurant staff & most helpful & courteous..

Great location-a stone's throw from the town. Very good bar food. I have never seen such a fantastic breakfast buffet i must say & the cooked breakfast was delicious!!

We will most definitely go back. I must add that €120 for B&B is a little steep for a Sat night in February.

Room Tip: Ask for a Harbour view-it will do you good to look out at that view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClassyLady30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This is a lovely hotel in the heart of Kinsale within walking distance to the town centre..beautifully decorated bedroom with modern ensuite and lovely sea view..breakfast is excellent with a lovely full Irish breakfast and a huge selection of other cooked foods and a great buffet selection..nice swimming pool..even though we didn't travel with our children we will definitely return here with our kids because it seems like a great family hotel..

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Arrived at Actons after a sometimes hair raising drive from Dublin (lashing rain all the way, gale force winds!). A warm and friendly welcome awaited us, we were given a harbour view room as requested (not that there was much to see on that day!) - comfortable, spacious room with a lovely bathroom. Two wonderful night's sleeps and two great breakfasts - I had the french toast on the first morning and the Eggs Benedict on the second, yum! We ate in the restaurant on the second night and again, enjoyed some really lovely food - perfectly cooked monkfish. Afterwards, there was some entertainment in the bar which was enjoyable but not overpowering (meaning it was possible to exchange some conversation without shouting!) All in all, a lovely stay in Actons Hotel. The location is great and every staff member we encountered during our stay was friendly and helpful. I will definitely make a return visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophiaLoren50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Cogglez
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I was very disappointed with my experience of Actons Hotel. I booked my trip through a deal offer website for my boyfriend for his birthday. Thinking it was a great deal for what was offered. I booked well in advance and then rang back to confirm again. After driving 4 and a half hours from Dublin we arrived at the hotel, ready for some rest and relaxation and when we went to check in, the receptionist had booked us in for the wrong date. The issue was solved quickly enough but I question what would have happened if they were busy. We went to our room which was ok and decided to check out the pool... Only to be told that it was closed for refurbishments. This was not stated when I booked. The pool was a selling point for me and It was the one thing we were both really looking forward to and now we couldn't enjoy it. We also then went for dinner that evening in the hotel ( it was part of the deal) to be placed awkwardly in the centre of a large room, no ambiance, harsh lighting with very few other people sitting well away from us. The waitress actually laughed and thought we looked awkward. So I asked to move. The SET (again not mentioned when booking)menu was very basic and a huge let down. We actually thought about getting up and leaving. The one good thing was that the waitress was very nice and great at her job. Otherwise it would have been a disaster! Overall we were very disappointed with our experience. It's a shame.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessicap1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Actons Hotel Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Actons Hotel Kinsale

Address: Pier Road, Kinsale P17 PX80, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range: £104 - £390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Actons Hotel Kinsale 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Actons of Kinsale is situated in the heart Kinsale with its maze of narrow winding streets, interesting craft shops, cosy pubs and art galleries, many reflecting the influences of the French, Spanish and British who all played a part in the town’s chequered history. In Kinsale, you can golf, sail, fish, clay-pigeon shoot, walk, explore historic sites, visit local museums.Known for its wonderful friendly atmosphere, Actons of Kinsale is a period building of great character, splendidly overlooking Kinsale’s beautiful harbour.Actons of Kinsale have 74 en-suite bedrooms, many enjoy superb harbour views. Each room has multi-channel tv, radio, telephone, hair dryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sidney's Bar & Brasserie serves food daily.The Health&Fitness Club boasts a 15 meter indoor heated pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool spa, techno gym and reflexology/massage facilities. A kiddie pool keeps the younger members happy while massage jets are perfect for after a round of golf!Afull range of beauty and holistic treatments are offered by our trained therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Actons Hotel Kinsale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing