We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here fri & sat nite as part of their 2for1 offer for €129 incl breakfast.
Lift wasn't working but that wasn't a problem
Ate dinner the first night in Sydney's as it was too wet to venture out, had tiger prawn salad, very nice too!
Can't wait too
Can't wait to return

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank dgosul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (964)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

736 - 742 of 964 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014

I was treated to a weekend in Actons Hotel for my birthday and what a treat it was too. The hotel is warm and comfortable with all mod cons and a fabulous leisure centre where we went went swimming every morning and had jacuzzi, steam room and sauna too. All made very easy for guests to use free of charge.
Every member of staff we encountered seemed happy and relaxed (I love that in a hotel) and they were all so polite and pleasant to us too especially the breakfast staff who actually gave me a birthday treat (lighted candle in eggs benedict) .
The room we had was facing the harbour (suppilment required) but was a really nice sized room. Comfortable mattress and pilows. Tea and coffee making facilities. Big bathroom but sadly no bath. Everything was spotlessly clean and cleaning staff were quick and polite too.
The hotel is old but the rooms are refurbished to a good spec but our room did have very creaky floorboards as did the room above which was a bit annoying but not enough to spoil it and I would definitely go again.
I should mention the food as it is wonderful, there is a huge selection for breakfast and we ate in one night, is was off the bar menu but they offered to sit us in the restuarant which we did and it was lovely. The menu is unusual and varied , Quite a suprise and the food was scruptious. Would recommend Actons to you all.

Room Tip: Sea view is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VALEDIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

I'll keep this short and sweet. €200 for two nights B&B in an extremely comfortable room and by far and away the best breakfast menu I've had in a long time.

The location couldn't be better, you're 60 seconds from the Main Street and perfectly poised for a morning ramble to either of the two local forts.

Loved this place, will definitely come back.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank PJStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

The most impressive thing was how friendly and helpful all the staff where. Rooms and bed was very comfortable. Nice selection of whiskey at the bar was a nice touch. Leisure centre and gym where in good condition also. Top notch stay.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Aoganmacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed in Actons and was pleasantly surprised. The food was lovely and reasonably priced and the breakfast was delicious. The staff where very friendly but the bar staff in particular stood out for me. Ivan and Paul looked after us with exception. We will be back and thanks !!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank sanfran197914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed in Acton's for two nights this week. From check in to check out, the staff, without exception were really fantastic! The reception, bar, breakfast and room staff were all so friendly and helpful, without being intrusive. The room was really nice with lovely new furniture and bedding and a great view of the harbour.The food in the bar was very good and the breakfast choice and quality of the breakfast food, was excellent. The location is perfect - a couple of minutes walk from the very centre of Kinsale but yet very quiet. We wouldn't hesitate to come back again or to recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gertob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We had a lovely stay at Actons. The hotel was quiet, clean, and had beautiful linens on the beds, which were quite comfortable. The location was perfect for walking to restaurants, the harbor, and shopping. The breakfast was great. The staff is very nice, including the restaurant staff. The WiFi signal was good.
Parking was available right in front of the hotel, which was a bonus.

Room Tip: The view of the harbor is gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,589 reviews
Perryville House
#6 of 53 in Kinsale
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Actons Hotel Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Actons Hotel Kinsale

Address: Pier Road, Kinsale, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range: £101 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Actons Hotel Kinsale 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Actons of Kinsale is situated in the heart Kinsale with its maze of narrow winding streets, interesting craft shops, cosy pubs and art galleries, many reflecting the influences of the French, Spanish and British who all played a part in the town’s chequered history. In Kinsale, you can golf, sail, fish, clay-pigeon shoot, walk, explore historic sites, visit local museums.Known for its wonderful friendly atmosphere, Actons of Kinsale is a period building of great character, splendidly overlooking Kinsale’s beautiful harbour.Actons of Kinsale have 74 en-suite bedrooms, many enjoy superb harbour views. Each room has multi-channel tv, radio, telephone, hair dryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sidney's Bar & Brasserie serves food daily.The Health&Fitness Club boasts a 15 meter indoor heated pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool spa, techno gym and reflexology/massage facilities. A kiddie pool keeps the younger members happy while massage jets are perfect for after a round of golf!Afull range of beauty and holistic treatments are offered by our trained therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Actons Hotel Kinsale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing