We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ciara, Clare”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Ciara C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (952)
There are newer reviews for Actons Hotel Kinsale
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

712 - 718 of 952 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed 2 nights at Actons which is in the centre of town. All staff were very friendly- were able to accommodate early check-in. Good choice offered for breakfast - buffet plus cooked breakfast and tea/coffee served to order - make toast yourself. Room was overlooking the harbour with table and chair at window - the bed was huge. Room was modern and had everything one would need - TV, tea/coffee making, hairdryer. Used the swimming pool on site were staff were also very friendly and helpful. Car parking on site was convenient. Bar was also very pleasant. Would return.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the harbour are beautiful
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely clean well kept hotel. Staff exceptionally nice and helpful.rooms clean,spacious. Breakfast great very good choice. Bar food
Ok. Pool great even toddler pool with bubbles! Supply towels and hats. Coffee great. They put camp bed in room for toddler and cot for baby. Great central location. Will return. Highly recommend . Of note don't think any hotel has such helpful staff

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oriordannoelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

On our first night our meal in the Bistro was very poor. When I cut into my salmon it was uncooked in the centre. It was taken away and 10 minutes later the waitress came back to say it would be another 15 minutes for a new salmon. At that stage I had lost my appetite. There was no apology although at least it was not on the bill.
After a very long walk that day we came back to the room at 4.15 to find it was being serviced so we could not use it.
I called to reception to ask would they mind not servicing the room so late but per haps after breakfast at 10.30. This morning there was a knock on our door at 8.15 to service our room. They also knocked on the children's room waking them up (they didn't go back to sleep). They said reception had requested they service our room first thing in the morning.
Our rooms were gorgeous, clean and bright, but the service is not good. The staff are very friendly but just not on the ball at all.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Simone K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay at this hotel we stayed in a suite which had a very spacious room separate walk in wardrope and good sized bathroom. We had a lovely view out to the boats. Breakfast was really good and the leisure centre was nice. Most of the staff were very friendly and helpful there was one young lady at reception who was not very helpful or friendly at times though. We would definitely return to this hotel its location is also very good in kinsale but not on the main street so was nt noisey.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Fusiha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We have been going to Actons for many years. Actons has been refurbished and is looking fab. Where do I start, the staff are so helpful and make your stay effortless. The food is great and pricing is all great. The rooms are lovely, I would get a sea view it worth it. As for location you can't beat it just park the car and everything is with in walking distance. Thanks Actons we will return soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroline o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The Actons Hotel is in the heart of Kinsale and offers lovely refurbished rooms with sea views.
The staff is extremely friendly and the hotel pays particular attention to detail with everything (lovely flowers in the hotel, very good hairdryers, great food, crisp, clean duvets)

Room Tip: If possible, try to book a sea view room.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caitlin1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,562 reviews
Perryville House
#6 of 53 in Kinsale
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Actons Hotel Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Actons Hotel Kinsale

Address: Pier Road, Kinsale, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range: £101 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Actons Hotel Kinsale 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Actons of Kinsale is situated in the heart Kinsale with its maze of narrow winding streets, interesting craft shops, cosy pubs and art galleries, many reflecting the influences of the French, Spanish and British who all played a part in the town’s chequered history. In Kinsale, you can golf, sail, fish, clay-pigeon shoot, walk, explore historic sites, visit local museums.Known for its wonderful friendly atmosphere, Actons of Kinsale is a period building of great character, splendidly overlooking Kinsale’s beautiful harbour.Actons of Kinsale have 74 en-suite bedrooms, many enjoy superb harbour views. Each room has multi-channel tv, radio, telephone, hair dryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sidney's Bar & Brasserie serves food daily.The Health&Fitness Club boasts a 15 meter indoor heated pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool spa, techno gym and reflexology/massage facilities. A kiddie pool keeps the younger members happy while massage jets are perfect for after a round of golf!Afull range of beauty and holistic treatments are offered by our trained therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Actons Hotel Kinsale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing