We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Tipperary
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

I stayed here with a party of five others for the Easter weekend. We availed of a special offer through select hotels. Wow we really got a bargain as the value for money was second to none. Gorgeous bedrooms and spotlessly clean. Comfortable beds. Beautiful views as we were lucky enough to get a harbour view room to the front of the hotel. Lovely attentive staff. Fabulous breakfast with great choice. Could I fault this hotel. One word. "No". I will definitely stay here again. My sister and I used the leisure centre which adjoins the hotel and again really enjoyed it. Kinsale is great to get away to as it has the best choice of restaurants which I will review shortly. Keep up the good work Actons and hope to see ye all soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 214 and it had a wonderful view and an amazing rain shower. Could have stayed unde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whynot4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    306
    82
    13
    8
See reviews for
164
451
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clonmel, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We recently stayed here for a family occasion. We had the most amazing time. The family room was huge and extremely comfortable. The hotel staff couldn't have been nicer and really helped to make our stay as enjoyable as it was. The swimming pool area was nice however our only negative experience was the staff here they were so rude and quite intolerant with the children in particular- a pity because up to that point it we had had a very positive experience! I would however recommend the hotel overall

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alimac287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upperville, VA USA
Level Contributor
136 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Conveniently located in the lovely village of Kinsale. Very nice large room with very modern interior design. Appears to be recently renovated. Hearty Irish breakfast served in similarly decorated dining area. Easy walk to many shops, pubs and restaurants. Tour of Ireland with McMahon's Pub in Warrenton, VA. Great stop!

Room Tip: Some windows open onto the alley behind the hotel and this area can be noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthurgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Beautiful location right in the centre of Kinsale, Food was fantastic. Staff were very friendly Room was modern and had everything one would need - TV, tea/coffee making, hairdryer. Used the swimming pool on site. Car parking on site was convenient. Would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

This hotel gets a hearty recommendation from me. It's a good location, staff are excellent, leisure facilities good and the breakfast was superb (Great choice of items).

Only one sticler for us. We stayed in room 209 and the sink is in the most biazzre position. We had to reach across the toilet to wash our hands. I'm baffled as to how the bathroom was allowed to be designed in such an unusual fashion.

Apart from this minor quibble, Actons is a fine place to stay in Kinsale.

Room Tip: Do not stay in romm 209, as the sink in the bathroom is located in such a bizzare position, as to re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timfinnegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights recently. The room was nice, very good shower and nice view of the harbour. The thing that lets Actons down is their food, our breakfast was delayed a long time and when it eventually arrived it was stone cold. We have stayed at Actons before and found lunch to be mediocre and breakfast was an issue during that stay aswell - we ordered and waited for our food, we were informed that what I ordered was no longer available so I ordered something else only to be informed a while later that it was not available either. I can completely understand the kitchen running out of things but the staff should be aware of what is available and what isn't so they can inform customers before they place their order. During this stay staff noticed that we hadn't eaten our food and asked if everything was ok, when we informed them the food was cold they were apologetic. Throughout our stay we found the staff to be very courteous and professional. Overall Actons is a nice place to stay but perhaps head out for food.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Blue Haven Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,319 reviews
Perryville House
#7 of 55 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Actons Hotel Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Actons Hotel Kinsale

Property: Actons Hotel Kinsale
Address: Pier Road, Kinsale, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Actons Hotel Kinsale 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Actons of Kinsale is situated in the heart Kinsale with its maze of narrow winding streets, interesting craft shops, cosy pubs and art galleries, many reflecting the influences of the French, Spanish and British who all played a part in the town’s chequered history. In Kinsale, you can golf, sail, fish, clay-pigeon shoot, walk, explore historic sites, visit local museums.Known for its wonderful friendly atmosphere, Actons of Kinsale is a period building of great character, splendidly overlooking Kinsale’s beautiful harbour.Actons of Kinsale have 74 en-suite bedrooms, many enjoy superb harbour views. Each room has multi-channel tv, radio, telephone, hair dryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sidney's Bar & Brasserie serves food daily.The Health&Fitness Club boasts a 15 meter indoor heated pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool spa, techno gym and reflexology/massage facilities. A kiddie pool keeps the younger members happy while massage jets are perfect for after a round of golf!Afull range of beauty and holistic treatments are offered by our trained therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Actons Hotel Kinsale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing