We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely family stay in Kinsale”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
County Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely family stay in Kinsale”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Just home from a lovely 4 night stay in a family suite in Actons, (sun-thurs). Very happy overall. The suite (with double & single room) was perfect for us and our toddler. It was absolutely spotless (in fact we both commented that Actons is the cleanest hotel we've been to in Ireland for a while) and had lovely high ceilings and old style original Georgian decor with a very nice modern bathroom with bath. The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in and I'm 6 months pregnant with a sore back so that says a lot.

Weather was very warm this week so the rooms got quite uncomfortable as there's no air con and the windows only opened about 5 inches (they don't open at all in the children's room, for safety I presume) but on our 2nd night we asked for a fan which was no problem and made our stay a lot more pleasant. The heavy black-out curtains in both rooms were brilliant.

Overall the staff were v accommodating and friendly. The staff in the breakfast room & pool being especially so.

The breakfast was pretty good. It was nice that they took your order for hot food instead of having it sitting on a buffet. I tried a good few things over the 4 days. The pancakes were just divine, really good and so fresh. I think they could work on improving the full-irish breakfast a bit. I'm not sure how 'cooked to order' it is. Felt like some of the items had been under a heat lamp. The rashers were quite thick and rubbery (I prefer crispier bacon) and the sausages were not cooked enough for my liking, they were a bit mushy & pale looking. We ate in the bar twice, once for lunch & one evening meal, and really enjoyed the food, it's of a very good quality.

We all loved the pool, it really is fab. We swam every morning. The pool & changing rooms are so clean and the water was a lovely temp for our toddler. As I said the staff were lovely over there too.

Kinsale is a fab little town. Loved pottering around the quirky little shops & art galleries and the standard of food & service everywhere is so high. Especially loved Lemon Leaf Cafe for lunch.

Would highly recommend Actons to friends & family, we hope to go back ourselves again too.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    312
    83
    13
    8
See reviews for
166
459
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Fantastic location opposite the water but set back from the road so no traffic noise and only a very short 300m walk into town Very comfortable room with huge double bed. Excellent breakfast. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at some beautiful properties during our two weeks in Ireland and this was definitely the "least nice". Having said that, our room was spacious, clean and offered a great view of the harbor and nice proximity to downtown Kinsale. Continental breakfast each morning was fine, but the staff wasn't especially friendly.

Overall, Actons was definitely sufficient for our two night stay and we'd recommend it for a quick overnight option in Kinsale.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhoenixBuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed in Acton's hotel for one night, during our recent trip to Cork and Kerry. Acton's was recommended to us so we booked a double room for our time in Kinsale. The hotel itself was fantastic - as we're the staff who were professional and helpful!

The rooms where modern, clean and pleasant. The beds were really comfortable. The bathroom did not have a bath, but the shower was huge and very powerful!

The views and settings of this hotel is amazing, with the harbour directly opposite the hotel. The town, with its quaint shops, was only a short distance away from the hotel and parking at the hotel was not an issue.

We thoroughly enjoyed a few drinks on the lawn of the bar area, as the weather was unseasonable warm during our visit. The health centre was also great and my husband enjoyed using the swimming pool.

The breakfast service and quality of food was the best we had during our trip across Ireland.

The only comment I would make it is that the bedroom we were in was small, and two people moving around the room was challenging at times!

We would highly recommend Acton's.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san jose
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We were unable to get into the B&BS that was recommended so we were referred to the Acton. What a pleasant surprise to be greeted by a wonderful staff, clean rooms, cozy bar and restaurant. Special thanks to Stephanie who was a lifesaver in getting us to our next stop and making special arrangements at the hotel. We will never forget her!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolbutlerwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My boyfriend and I attended a friends wedding at Acton's recently and we had the most amazing time. The day of the wedding was fabulous and the hotel is right on the harbour. The view was exceptional. We had a three course meal and it was fantastic, I had beef as my main course and it was such a lovely meal followed by a trio of deserts and dancing. After the wedding we stayed an extra couple of days in the hotel and made full of use of the hotels leisure center. It was so relaxing and the staff were very helpful and friendly. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a place to stay in kinsale.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeresaMw2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Nice hotel. Service very good, staff always willing to help, especially Louise on the front desk (it makes such a difference). We had a family stay here of 4 generations and everyone was very happy with their stay. Worth spending the little extra to get a harbour view, About 5 mins walk to the centre of Kinsale which is lovely.

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra to get a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeeJayHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,367 reviews
Perryville House
#6 of 50 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Actons Hotel Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Actons Hotel Kinsale

Property: Actons Hotel Kinsale
Address: Pier Road, Kinsale, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Actons Hotel Kinsale 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Actons of Kinsale is situated in the heart Kinsale with its maze of narrow winding streets, interesting craft shops, cosy pubs and art galleries, many reflecting the influences of the French, Spanish and British who all played a part in the town’s chequered history. In Kinsale, you can golf, sail, fish, clay-pigeon shoot, walk, explore historic sites, visit local museums.Known for its wonderful friendly atmosphere, Actons of Kinsale is a period building of great character, splendidly overlooking Kinsale’s beautiful harbour.Actons of Kinsale have 74 en-suite bedrooms, many enjoy superb harbour views. Each room has multi-channel tv, radio, telephone, hair dryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sidney's Bar & Brasserie serves food daily.The Health&Fitness Club boasts a 15 meter indoor heated pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool spa, techno gym and reflexology/massage facilities. A kiddie pool keeps the younger members happy while massage jets are perfect for after a round of golf!Afull range of beauty and holistic treatments are offered by our trained therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Actons Hotel Kinsale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing