We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The location of the hotel is excellent but the room we had was in the back of the hotel and looked at nothing. WiFi was HORRIBLE and the people at the desk seemed like they could care less. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the waterfront or choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terrence H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (992)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

706 - 712 of 992 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel on a recent trip to Kinsale. I have been to Kinsale before but it was my boyfriends first time visiting Ireland so I wanted to show him around West Cork and Actons was recommended to me by a friend. Was so impressed by the location, right in the middle of Kinsale town overlooking the harbour. It is an older building but has been recently renovated and everything is very new and clean.

The check-in was completely hassle free and the staff were very friendly offering us information on nearby places to visit. Our room was nicely decorated and very comfortable and clean. The view was amazing, overlooking the harbour at the front of the building. We decided to eat in the hotel bar on our first night after a long day driving. The food was fantastic with a lovely selection. I'm a big fan of seafood so really enjoyed the chowder and fish and chips. Loved the local cider recommended by one of the bar staff.

The breakfast was excellent. There was a great selection of hot and cold dishes. The buffet was well stocked and had a great variety. My boyfriend really loved the full Irish breakfast which is not so readily available in Dubai! We were served by two lovely girls who turned out to be twins! Breakfast set us up nicely each morning for our jam packed days of sightseeing.

There's so much to see and do in Kinsale and is a great base for exploring West Cork. I would definitely recommend Actons to anyone visiting Kinsale. The location cannot be beat and the overall experience was so relaxing and enjoyable. We were sad to drive away! Will hopefully be back soon.

Room Tip: Opt for a Harbour View room. Lovely to wake up to that view every morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Libby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The Actons Hotel is perfectly located within walking distance to charming Kinsale. The front desk staff were all very helpful... in fact we were able to get a dinner reservation secured by them as we checked in. The setting is lovely, the room was clean and updated, breakfast was delicious. All in all, we would love to stay there another time if we ever get to that part of the world again!

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the side that is opposite of the alley....kind of noisy from folks coming home late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lacoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed the June Bank Holiday weekend and were very happy with the Hotel. Very clean and beautifully decorated (Other hotels take note: This is how a hotel should be decorated, perfect balance of old and Modern) Room was lovely, great view of the harbour and bathroom was fab. Bed really comfortable. Slept really well. My only disappointment was that had paid for a deluxe harbour room, but it was on the small side and there was no bath in the bathroom. Hence the lost point.

Ideal location, everything is within walking distance with a huge selection of restaurants. Would well recommend Fishy Fishy, but book before you come down as it gets booked up very quickly. Didn't eat in the Hotels restaurant in the evening or use the leisure facilities so can't comment on them. Happy enough with Breakfast, service was good. Ordered French Toast on the second day and only got one slice of toast however. The yoghurt pots don't work either (They are homemade in a little jar) The lid is far to heavy and they fall over as the pot empty's and you can't get the end out. Looks the part but don't work with usage though

Room Tip: the harbour view room although small, view is fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sintob83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Lovely room in a lovely hotel. Staff very helpful. Enjoyable, relaxing experience.

On the downside my son and family had a family room which was a nice room but extremely hot and airless. This needs to be rectified!


  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We spent 2 nights here in Kinsale. Easy parking right by the hotel for our rental car. Very comfortable room (especially the mattress and pillows), clean, and big lovely view right out onto the harbor! Staff very nice, and spectacular service at breakfast, with great selection of food at buffet as well as from the restaurant.

Only flaw: wish they and other hotels would have a woman try and put on makeup in their bathroom mirrors! Like many hotels, the light in the bathroom is terrible, and have to sit with a hand mirror in front of the window to out on makeup.

Room Tip: Ask for harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristineVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Just home from a lovely 4 night stay in a family suite in Actons, (sun-thurs). Very happy overall. The suite (with double & single room) was perfect for us and our toddler. It was absolutely spotless (in fact we both commented that Actons is the cleanest hotel we've been to in Ireland for a while) and had lovely high ceilings and old style original Georgian decor with a very nice modern bathroom with bath. The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in and I'm 6 months pregnant with a sore back so that says a lot.

Weather was very warm this week so the rooms got quite uncomfortable as there's no air con and the windows only opened about 5 inches (they don't open at all in the children's room, for safety I presume) but on our 2nd night we asked for a fan which was no problem and made our stay a lot more pleasant. The heavy black-out curtains in both rooms were brilliant.

Overall the staff were v accommodating and friendly. The staff in the breakfast room & pool being especially so.

The breakfast was pretty good. It was nice that they took your order for hot food instead of having it sitting on a buffet. I tried a good few things over the 4 days. The pancakes were just divine, really good and so fresh. I think they could work on improving the full-irish breakfast a bit. I'm not sure how 'cooked to order' it is. Felt like some of the items had been under a heat lamp. The rashers were quite thick and rubbery (I prefer crispier bacon) and the sausages were not cooked enough for my liking, they were a bit mushy & pale looking. We ate in the bar twice, once for lunch & one evening meal, and really enjoyed the food, it's of a very good quality.

We all loved the pool, it really is fab. We swam every morning. The pool & changing rooms are so clean and the water was a lovely temp for our toddler. As I said the staff were lovely over there too.

Kinsale is a fab little town. Loved pottering around the quirky little shops & art galleries and the standard of food & service everywhere is so high. Especially loved Lemon Leaf Cafe for lunch.

Would highly recommend Actons to friends & family, we hope to go back ourselves again too.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Actons Hotel Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Actons Hotel Kinsale

Address: Pier Road, Kinsale P17 PX80, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range: £101 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Actons Hotel Kinsale 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Actons of Kinsale is situated in the heart Kinsale with its maze of narrow winding streets, interesting craft shops, cosy pubs and art galleries, many reflecting the influences of the French, Spanish and British who all played a part in the town’s chequered history. In Kinsale, you can golf, sail, fish, clay-pigeon shoot, walk, explore historic sites, visit local museums.Known for its wonderful friendly atmosphere, Actons of Kinsale is a period building of great character, splendidly overlooking Kinsale’s beautiful harbour.Actons of Kinsale have 74 en-suite bedrooms, many enjoy superb harbour views. Each room has multi-channel tv, radio, telephone, hair dryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sidney's Bar & Brasserie serves food daily.The Health&Fitness Club boasts a 15 meter indoor heated pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool spa, techno gym and reflexology/massage facilities. A kiddie pool keeps the younger members happy while massage jets are perfect for after a round of golf!Afull range of beauty and holistic treatments are offered by our trained therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Actons Hotel Kinsale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing