We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room with harbour view but service not the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Nice hotel in pleasant location overlooking the harbour, though there is a road in front of the hotel so it was a little noisy. Room was very comfortable, service was just a bit slow in the restaurant at breakfast, and receptionist was efficient but not exactly friendly. Overall, reasonable value for money and may go back if we return to Kinsale

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LE127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (992)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

700 - 706 of 992 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had originally hoped to stay for two nights but changed our minds after one. Our room was to the back of the hotel with a window that only opened a few inches. A double and a single bed were stuffed into the small room. We had to keep the blind down and curtains closed as there was a bright yellow street light straight outside our window. We didn't sleep well because the room was so stuffy. However, the bed was very comfortable with lovely white linen and fluffy pillows and a good mattress. The bar was actually the very opposite as the air conditioning was on full and the place was freezing. We met another couple who were sitting there in their jackets because of the cold. I mentioned it to a receptionist who said that it had been very warm earlier which was not true. Breakfast was very poor. At 9.30 am the meat and cheeses looked tired. the fruit salad was bland and watery. My husband choose a hot breakfast which was barely warm and very soggy (especially the hash brown), with a big pile of scrambled egg which looked and tasted as if it had been lying there for some time. A nice HOT cup of coffee or tea would have been good, but no luck there either. The cold metal tea pot was stained and dirty. The good thing was that we had made a reservation for Fishy Fishy restaurant which is practically next door and we had great food and a lovely evening.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corvid104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Actons was a great place to stay for our 2 nights in Kinsale. The location can not be beat. We could park our car and walk everywhere and the harbor view is amazing. The bed was extremely comfortable and with the exception of the girl that checked us in the staff were extremely friendly. Breakfast both mornings was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ccmckn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Really comfortable bed, nicely decorated, scrupulously clean, smart but not snooty. Had a wonderful harbour view, strong Wi-Fi signal, fab breakfast, central to everything, friendly and helpful staff- would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Third floor at front was a lovely room with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thequeerone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed staying at Actons Hotel. From the moment you walk into the hotel, you feel welcomed and pampered. The hotel and rooms are stylish and very comfortable. The breakfast was very good. Location was great- right on the water and central to Kinsale. Our room was huge but may have been an exception as we were at the end of a hall. Our only complaint was the lack of air conditioning, but ask for a fan and it will help.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMac-201406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

stayed here on the 2/7/14 all i can say great staff great food and great service check in and see for yourself will not be disappointed. rooms lovely clean as a whistle. great spa and and swimming pool

Room Tip: sea view rooms look right over the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tommy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The location of the hotel is excellent but the room we had was in the back of the hotel and looked at nothing. WiFi was HORRIBLE and the people at the desk seemed like they could care less. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the waterfront or choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terrence H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Actons Hotel Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Actons Hotel Kinsale

Address: Pier Road, Kinsale P17 PX80, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range: £101 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Actons Hotel Kinsale 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Actons of Kinsale is situated in the heart Kinsale with its maze of narrow winding streets, interesting craft shops, cosy pubs and art galleries, many reflecting the influences of the French, Spanish and British who all played a part in the town’s chequered history. In Kinsale, you can golf, sail, fish, clay-pigeon shoot, walk, explore historic sites, visit local museums.Known for its wonderful friendly atmosphere, Actons of Kinsale is a period building of great character, splendidly overlooking Kinsale’s beautiful harbour.Actons of Kinsale have 74 en-suite bedrooms, many enjoy superb harbour views. Each room has multi-channel tv, radio, telephone, hair dryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sidney's Bar & Brasserie serves food daily.The Health&Fitness Club boasts a 15 meter indoor heated pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool spa, techno gym and reflexology/massage facilities. A kiddie pool keeps the younger members happy while massage jets are perfect for after a round of golf!Afull range of beauty and holistic treatments are offered by our trained therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Actons Hotel Kinsale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing