We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Trident Hotel Kinsale(Kinsale)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roberts Cove Inn(Minane Bridge)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Courtmacsherry Hotel(Courtmacsherry)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Munster Arms(Bandon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,011)
Filter reviews
1,011 results
Traveller rating
530
359
99
15
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
530
359
99
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure centrelovely hotela harbour view roomeggs benedictno air conditioningcooked breakfastsuperior roombreakfast staffbar foodexcellent locationhotel barcold buffetbreakfast was includedcentral locationfamily roomthree nightsnice room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
684 - 689 of 1,011 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 6 nights and really enjoyed our stay in Actons. After a bad start on the first night (our room was directly across from the lift) we were moved to another room further down the corridor with an even better view of the harbour. Room was lovely but very warm at night time, despite having a small fan. (Think all hotels in Ireland should definitely have air con). Hotel is so central to all the good restaurants and bars. Beautiful walk way by the sea out to Charles Fort Castle. Breakfast was ok but think hot buffet would be better. Used the gym and pool, which were both fine. The pool was warm and not overcrowded. Staff very welcoming and helpful. Bar was very busy with lots of very noisy children late into the evening, which was very off putting. Suggest that there should be an area just for adults only. All in all we really enjoyed our stay and would like to thank the management for looking after us so well. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MagsFall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed at the Actons Hotel for one night at the end of our tour of Ireland, and would definitely recommend it.
One of the plus sides is its location in the center of Kinsale, just on the picturesque harbor, and the free parking area within the hotel premises. We read that the hotel has been recently renovated, and in fact our room (106) was perfect, and the view from the large windows was worth the extra money we paid for the superior room. The size of our room was good, with a king size bed, an armchair and a writing table. Everything was very clean, and tastefully decorated. The only downside of the room - if one has to find any - was the bathroom size, which tended to be a bit on the small side.
We didn't eat the restaurant as we had booked a table at a local pub nearby, but had breakfast the following morning. The breakfast room was very nice - as the rest of the hotel - and the staff friendly and attentive. There's a good selection of food both from the cold buffet and from the menu.
There's also a spa which you can access free of charge: I spent a couple of hours there but wasn't so impressed because the steam room, the sauna and hot tub are in the same room of the main pool, which was a bit too crowded a noisy.
We will definitely go back to the Actons Hotel on our next stay in Kinsale.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Silviademick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Recently our family of four stayed at the Actons Hotel while one daughter and my husband participated in a Father-Daughter Golf Tournament at Old Head. The hotel is very nicely located in the charming town of Kinsale near some great restaurants and pubs, right on the Kinsale harbor. We had a suite on the back of the hotel, which was spacious and clean. The downside??? On Friday and Saturday nights, we quickly learned, that EVERYONE in town enjoys a few drinks at the local pubs and then slowly and noisily walks the street behind the Actons (until about 4 in the morning). The weather was quite warm this summer, which is atypical, and the hotel has no air conditioning; it made for a very warm suite. All in all, lovely hotel, just ask for a room on the facing the harbor and hope for cool temperatures.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a front room facing the harbor and . . . be prepared for much warmer temperatures than normal.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JanetHarperLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Caring and attentive reception staff made us feel welcome. Our room was spacious and overlooked the Harbour. Highly recommend Actons for the overall experience. The hotel is well situated for walking tours of Charles Fort and James Fort.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Located in centre of kinsale.room was spacious modern and clean.really impressive bathroom.Leisure Center staff brilliant And complex very clean.sleep quality was poor due to the heat of the bedroom and no
aircon. Would stay again as was value for money

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baileysandcream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews