We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful over nite stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Lebanon, Missouri
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful over nite stay”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel was so nice. We had driven all day touring and were getting tired. The room was very comfortable and check in was great with friendly staff. We walked to a local pub for great irish entertainment and a few pints.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Faron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    470
    318
    85
    13
    8
See reviews for
166
471
14
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glenview, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This is probably the largest hotel in Kinsale but it still felt quaint. Beds are comfortable. Elevator is extremely small so you might request a room on a lower floor so you can take the stairs if necessary. Large room with comfortable bed. Shower was great with plenty of hot water. Attached is a large restaurant where you have breakfast. Standard menu as everywhere in Ireland. Parking lot is in front. One half block from visitors center, nice view of the harbor.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at Actons from 15 to 18 August 2014.The key thing to mention is the staff as they were all so friendly and helpfull. The food was excellent and the rooms clean and comfortable. Nice views and walks. After staying in numerous five star hotels in Ireland, UK and Spain we would rate this as one of the best.
Ron and Winnie.
Co Antrim.
N. I.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 6 nights and really enjoyed our stay in Actons. After a bad start on the first night (our room was directly across from the lift) we were moved to another room further down the corridor with an even better view of the harbour. Room was lovely but very warm at night time, despite having a small fan. (Think all hotels in Ireland should definitely have air con). Hotel is so central to all the good restaurants and bars. Beautiful walk way by the sea out to Charles Fort Castle. Breakfast was ok but think hot buffet would be better. Used the gym and pool, which were both fine. The pool was warm and not overcrowded. Staff very welcoming and helpful. Bar was very busy with lots of very noisy children late into the evening, which was very off putting. Suggest that there should be an area just for adults only. All in all we really enjoyed our stay and would like to thank the management for looking after us so well. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MagsFall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bra, Italy
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed at the Actons Hotel for one night at the end of our tour of Ireland, and would definitely recommend it.
One of the plus sides is its location in the center of Kinsale, just on the picturesque harbor, and the free parking area within the hotel premises. We read that the hotel has been recently renovated, and in fact our room (106) was perfect, and the view from the large windows was worth the extra money we paid for the superior room. The size of our room was good, with a king size bed, an armchair and a writing table. Everything was very clean, and tastefully decorated. The only downside of the room - if one has to find any - was the bathroom size, which tended to be a bit on the small side.
We didn't eat the restaurant as we had booked a table at a local pub nearby, but had breakfast the following morning. The breakfast room was very nice - as the rest of the hotel - and the staff friendly and attentive. There's a good selection of food both from the cold buffet and from the menu.
There's also a spa which you can access free of charge: I spent a couple of hours there but wasn't so impressed because the steam room, the sauna and hot tub are in the same room of the main pool, which was a bit too crowded a noisy.
We will definitely go back to the Actons Hotel on our next stay in Kinsale.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silviademick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Recently our family of four stayed at the Actons Hotel while one daughter and my husband participated in a Father-Daughter Golf Tournament at Old Head. The hotel is very nicely located in the charming town of Kinsale near some great restaurants and pubs, right on the Kinsale harbor. We had a suite on the back of the hotel, which was spacious and clean. The downside??? On Friday and Saturday nights, we quickly learned, that EVERYONE in town enjoys a few drinks at the local pubs and then slowly and noisily walks the street behind the Actons (until about 4 in the morning). The weather was quite warm this summer, which is atypical, and the hotel has no air conditioning; it made for a very warm suite. All in all, lovely hotel, just ask for a room on the facing the harbor and hope for cool temperatures.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a front room facing the harbor and . . . be prepared for much warmer temperatures...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanetHarperLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Caring and attentive reception staff made us feel welcome. Our room was spacious and overlooked the Harbour. Highly recommend Actons for the overall experience. The hotel is well situated for walking tours of Charles Fort and James Fort.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
2.4 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
958 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Hayfield Manor Hotel
0.2 mi away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#6 of 53 in Kinsale
315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Bank House
Old Bank House
#14 of 53 in Kinsale
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Actons Hotel Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Actons Hotel Kinsale

Property: Actons Hotel Kinsale
Address: Pier Road, Kinsale, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Actons Hotel Kinsale 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Actons of Kinsale is situated in the heart Kinsale with its maze of narrow winding streets, interesting craft shops, cosy pubs and art galleries, many reflecting the influences of the French, Spanish and British who all played a part in the town’s chequered history. In Kinsale, you can golf, sail, fish, clay-pigeon shoot, walk, explore historic sites, visit local museums.Known for its wonderful friendly atmosphere, Actons of Kinsale is a period building of great character, splendidly overlooking Kinsale’s beautiful harbour.Actons of Kinsale have 74 en-suite bedrooms, many enjoy superb harbour views. Each room has multi-channel tv, radio, telephone, hair dryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sidney's Bar & Brasserie serves food daily.The Health&Fitness Club boasts a 15 meter indoor heated pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool spa, techno gym and reflexology/massage facilities. A kiddie pool keeps the younger members happy while massage jets are perfect for after a round of golf!Afull range of beauty and holistic treatments are offered by our trained therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Actons Hotel Kinsale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing