We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good spot”
Review of The White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White House
Ranked #18 of 53 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“good spot”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed here for a long weekend in July 2014. Locationwise its ideal - close to everything.
The staff are very friendly and are willing to go out of the way just to make you happy.
The breakfasts are fabulous and plentiful - very tasty.
The bar is very nice and it is possible to have your meal here. The live bands we listened to were excellent.
My only negative about here was the room - it was directly above the bar and was facing out onto the street - quite noisy.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing out the back and not directly above the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie35Belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    62
    26
    5
    5
See reviews for
32
81
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We went there for an evening meal and it turned out to be an evening with live music too.
The food was absolutely delicious (monkfish) and the service friendly with the Irish smile we've come to expect on this trip.
The music was great and there was a lovely atmosphere in the bar.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Good hotel, bar with great Irish music. Rooms on the street were noisy due to nightlife. Had to climb 2 flights of stairs. Difficult to park nearby.
Excellent breakfast with choices.
Close drive to Old Head golf course

Room Tip: If you need open windows for fresh air and quiet choose a back room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Great location in the center of the town, the staff were all very friendly and helpful. The live music in the bar at night was great. Only down side was no lift and no air con, not that you need it most times in Ireland but it was quite noisy if you left the window open for fresh air at night, as I like to do. Breakfast was a good selection of both cooked and cold. Will def be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yoto2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My travelling companions and I stumbled on to The White House when we got to Kinsale and could not have been more pleased. The accommodations were first rate, the restaurant very good, the music was fun and on top of it all the location is center city. Could not have asked for a better place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I have stayed in numerous hotels throughout the world and Ireland and I must say I was quite impressed with The White House. It was quaint without being pokey and modern without being pretentious. The staff were very nice and helpful and the room was big, clean, tastefully decorated with a large comfy bed. I wasn't woken by other guests, which happens far too often in large hotels, and the breakfast was set in a very lovely restaurant. Great location too.

Room Tip: I had a room which was out front and there was no noise from the streets outside so not to worry abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Located right in the center of town, the owner Michael and his wife couldn't have treated us any better if we had been family. Nice rooms, great food, and the Guinness was great. Even had the luck of the Irish with us betting on a few horses, thanks Michael. Can't wait until my next visit (not sure if I want to bring those two friends with me..ha ha.) Thanks again for everything and say hi to everyone for us.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TD1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
0.0 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
685 reviews
0.2 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
931 reviews
2.5 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
981 reviews
0.1 mi away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#13 of 53 in Kinsale
50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#6 of 53 in Kinsale
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Property: The White House
Address: Pearse Street and The Glen, Kinsale, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The White House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your The White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Hotel Kinsale
White Hotel Kinsale
The White Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing