We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The BEST”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Presbytery

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinsale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Presbytery
Ranked #1 of 55 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The BEST”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

During a recent trip that included stops in France, Scotland and Ireland, this was our favorite place for both food and the rooms. The owners are so accommodating and looked after our every need. Room #1 is spectacular with a wrought iron balcony where we had coffee each morning.
Mrs. McEnvey was even kind enough to share her Muesli recipe with us.
Don't miss the Old Prsbytery.

Room Tip: Ask for #1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twebb51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    650
    81
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
151
438
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The Old Presbytery is a lovely B&B in a perfect location right in the middle of Kinsale. You are a 5-10 minute stroll from the harbor and all of the recommended restaurants. Noreen and Philip (and adorable dog Scampi) were wonderful hosts. So friendly. They offered tea/coffee and some homemade cakes/cookies upon arrival; and the breakfasts were yummy - multiple options on the menu. And they were very helpful in recommending restaurants and identifying which places would have music later on. We had a great room on the ground floor with a small balcony; good-sized bedroom and bathroom (the bathroom was modern and had a nice shower and separate tub). Everything is charming. I would definitely recommend the Old Presbytery to anyone traveling through Kinsale.

Room Tip: I didn't see an elevator, so if stairs are an issue, ask for a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank romney68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in room 2, which has a small balcony with table and 2 chairs. Bathroom has a shower and old-fashioned claw-foot bath. Noreen was very helpful- recommended restaurants and made dinner reservations for us. Philip, her husband is the cook and breakfasts were delicious with wide choice. Try the casheel blue cheese omelet with apples and walnuts. Fresh orange and grapefruit juice too. Home-made cakes and scones in the afternoon were delicious. Coffee (new but somewhat temperamental machine) and tea available all day. Large choice of CD's come in useful when it rains. Ipod dock also welcome. Everything in town is within easy walking distance. A very enjoyable stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danvers, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I traveled to Kinsale in April with my in-laws and we stayed in a two bedroom suite. The rooms were large and the bathrooms clean. The seating room was very comfortable and provided a great location for planning the next day. It is an easy 2 minute walk to the water and the many shops in Kinsale. We ate dinner at Crack Pots, less than a minute walk, and enjoyed the food and live Irish music.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in April in the lovely suite and found it so comfortable and relaxing. Two large bedrooms each with private bathroom and a living room and small kitchenette. Very clean and well equipped. Thoroughly enjoyed the delicious breakfasts, especially the Clonakilty white pudding. A lovely touch was the cakes and tea/coffee available every afternoon in the dining room for guests to help themselves. The position in Kinsale is perfect - a few minutes walk from most of the great restaurants but not noisy. There is private parking which may fill up in the peak season - we were ok during our stay. Noreen is a very welcoming owner and has a lovely small dog who sits in a basket in Reception. We did not want to leave and hope to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clareexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

This was the best B&B we stayed in the whole trip. Very good breakfast(the crepes are great), rooms were well decorated clean and quiet, the owner, Noreen was so nice and helpful. The location was was perfect. We will stay there again if we go back to Kinsale.

We called ahead by one day and were lucky to get a room. They were booked when we left so plan ahead even in off season. They also have parking which is important in that part of town.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Odie156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We arrived late afternoon & were greeted by the lovely owner, Noreen, after a nice chat she showed us around the b&b & to our room. Our room was lovely, spacious & nicely decorated, we had a small conservatory leading to an outdoor terrace. Noreen offered us afternoon tea which we helped ourselves to in the dining room, really good tea & coffee along with home made cakes & scones with preserves & fresh cream. What a lovely touch. We slept really well on our large comfortable bed. Good quality bedding & pillows. The Jacuzzi bath was a lovely treat as were the fluffy bath robes. We really enjoyed breakfast, a large selection all cooked to order. My partner thought the bacon & sausages were very good quality. I enjoyed the bagel & poached eggs. Again, good tea & coffee. There was also a fabulous selection of preserves & breads, homemade granola / museli and a selection of yoghurts with a choice of nuts & seeds. We had mentioned to Noreen that we were in Kinsale for my 40th birthday treat & when we checked out Noreen presented me with a birthday card & a box of chocolates. How Lovely!!! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Old Presbytery and can’t wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
0.3 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
860 reviews
2.6 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kinsale
644 reviews
0.2 mi away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#6 of 55 in Kinsale
302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#17 of 55 in Kinsale
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Presbytery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Presbytery

Property: The Old Presbytery
Address: The Old Presbytery 43 Cork Street, Kinsale, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Old Presbytery Hotel Kinsale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing