We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most enjoyable stay”
Review of The Old Presbytery

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinsale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Presbytery
Ranked #1 of 50 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed only one night but wished we could have spent more time here. Guesthouse is an old townhouse located just a couple of blocks from the waterfront, restaurants, and shopping areas. Our room was on the ground floor with its own private hallway, comfortable bed, and nice bath.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCRal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    662
    81
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
155
445
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Old Prebytery is ideally located in the center of the old town section of Kinsale and has an adjacent private courtyard with direct access from the building so you can leave your car safely and with convenient access. In Kinsale, you really do need a private car park - parking is very tight and driving around town in a car is just a hassle - you want to be in the center and on foot for sightseeing. Part of the building is several hundred years old, while the part with the bedroom where I stayed was modern but designed to blend in well with the old section. My bedroom was very comfortable: good bathroom and shower, windows that opened onto the back of the building (quiet) and an extremely comfortable bed. The breakfast was truly outstanding - in the top tier of B & B breakfasts I've had in Ireland. The lodging price is by the room, rather than per person, so if you traveling solo it might be a bit steep. I paid 80 euros for the night. But I had only 1 night in Kinsale and this establishment was ideally located in the old part of town.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BABASMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This lodging was very quiet and pleasant despite being within two blocks of most of the restaurants, shops and the waterfront. It also offered ample off-street parking, a nice amenity right there in town. Noreen was a most pleasant, gracious and informative innkeeper, as was the rest of the staff. Our garret room was three flights up, but not a tiring climb even for a guy recovering from a hip surgery. And, we were rewarded with a commanding view of the town and harbor view. The breakfast was ample and delicious: a complete buffet as well as a menu. The smoked salmon and porridge with cinnamon were excellent, but there were other offerings that looked as tempting. Unfortunately, we were only in Kinsale one night, but will definitely choose to return to the Old Presbytery again.

Room Tip: We loved our room with it's great view. We didn't face the street, but it was not busy or n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This is a great place to stay. Great service and excellent accomodations. Mrs. McEvoy was very welcoming and helpful. The breakfast was awesome. The rooms were exceptionally clean and well decorated. Comfortable beds and good size en suite.

Room Tip: King rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
124 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Not sure why but the room we stayed in for one night only seemed very warm even though the heating wasn't on. Might pay to have the window open a little during the night, even though the one we were in faced onto the street - next to no traffic in the evening and night.
Otherwise, this was a really great experience. We had one of the rooms in the Willow Suite which was large and roomy with a comfortable king bed.
Bathroom was clean and modern but the shower was Irish - flick the handle towards the red dot to get hot water and blue to get cold water - no, other way around!
We arrived a little later than expected (after 6pm) but rang ahead advising of such but there was still hot tea and coffee to greet us and delicious cakes and scones with home made jam. The following morning, breakfast was a feast - the mushroom and vegetable crepe was to die for and the owner's own home made granola was also something to experience.
Excellent hospitality and a very comfortable stay only minutes from the centre of the village but a bit tricky for the sat nav to find!

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room otherwise battle the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warooka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The adventure........trying to use GPS on small Irish roads, in small towns...... Took us some time to find the Inn, but on a good note, we didn't hit anything. The roads are one cars width....one small car width. It has been a year since our visit. Incredible hosts, the breakfast was amazing, with lots of choices, yummy afternoon snacks! When we were there the weather was incredible, sunny and warm. Had wine on the back patio. Didnt have to take the car out until we were leaving, everything within walking distance. Wouldn't hesitate to return!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coleen-ABQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at The Old Presbytery in May, 2014. Mrs. McEvoy's warm welcome was full of all the Irish hospitality you would expect and the Georgian style home boasts character and an interesting history! Mrs. McEvoy was very helpful with driving directions and local suggestions. Yet their breakfast menu truly sets this B&B apart. Homemade scones, jam, bread and delicious irish breakfast! I had their frittata, delicious!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
0.3 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
2.6 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.2 mi away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#6 of 50 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#14 of 50 in Kinsale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Presbytery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Presbytery

Property: The Old Presbytery
Address: The Old Presbytery 43 Cork Street, Kinsale, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Old Presbytery Hotel Kinsale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing