We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful! Would absolutely stay again”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Presbytery

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinsale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Presbytery
Ranked #1 of 55 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful! Would absolutely stay again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

This B&B was so perfect. It felt like a boutique hotel rather than a B&B which is preferable for us. It had the added bonus of Noreen who is just a wonderful host and so accommodating. The parking situation was clutch. The bedroom was so clean, well decorated and comfortable. The view from the top floor made the night - the view was of the harbor and so perfect.
Location is just at the top of town so you do have to walk up hill but the town is so small that it's not noticeable in the least. We would absolutely stay at Old Presbytery next time we go to Kinsale.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kholihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    650
    81
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
151
438
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston,Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed at the Old Presbytery for 2 nights in May. It was a perfect choice. It is in a convenient location, has off street parking (a big plus on weekends) and the best B & B breakfast that we had on our trip to Ireland. The porridge served with fresh berries was superb. Noreen is so friendly with great suggestions for dinner. We ate at both restaurants-Max's Wine Bar and Fishy Fishy. Our king room was comfortable with a tub and a shower. She has lots of interesting antiques all around the building. We were on the second floor so it was quite convenient to the breakfast area. Our room on the back was also quiet. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lonestartravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I enjoyed my stay here so much that I can hardly wait to return. Noreen and Phillip are everything previous reviewers have said. The room was immaculately clean and spacious. The parking is off-street which is a real convenience. The food was delicious, and Noreen was most helpful in finding restaurants and shops in Kinsale, and then advice for the rest of our trip. Thanks to them for helping make our stay in Ireland memorable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this delightful "boutique" hotel. They have parking which was great to have. The room was good size with places to put suitcases (very rare) nice little sitting area which captured the sun, with lovely view over the town. The only problem we had was the shower leaked badly no matter what we did.
Breakfast was most delicious with a wonderful choice, cooked freshly to order. You could help yourself all day to tea and coffee with a choice of cakes and biscuits, such a lovely touch.
The hotel is in a great position for walking around this beautiful town of Kinsale, we loved it.
The owners were so helpful with recommendations for eating and touring around. Thankyou for a terrific stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winelover55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed here for two nights in June. One of the loveliest places I have found in 20 years of travel in Ireland. Beautiful, quiet rooms and very convenient for all Kinsale has to offer. Philip's cooking was memorable including the afternoon teas. I arrived just as Aer Lingus was threatening strike action and Noreen helped me sort out options, relax and see it as an adventure. She certainly has her guests best interests at heart. This personal touch was appreciated. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed only one night but wished we could have spent more time here. Guesthouse is an old townhouse located just a couple of blocks from the waterfront, restaurants, and shopping areas. Our room was on the ground floor with its own private hallway, comfortable bed, and nice bath.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCRal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Old Prebytery is ideally located in the center of the old town section of Kinsale and has an adjacent private courtyard with direct access from the building so you can leave your car safely and with convenient access. In Kinsale, you really do need a private car park - parking is very tight and driving around town in a car is just a hassle - you want to be in the center and on foot for sightseeing. Part of the building is several hundred years old, while the part with the bedroom where I stayed was modern but designed to blend in well with the old section. My bedroom was very comfortable: good bathroom and shower, windows that opened onto the back of the building (quiet) and an extremely comfortable bed. The breakfast was truly outstanding - in the top tier of B & B breakfasts I've had in Ireland. The lodging price is by the room, rather than per person, so if you traveling solo it might be a bit steep. I paid 80 euros for the night. But I had only 1 night in Kinsale and this establishment was ideally located in the old part of town.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BABASMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
0.3 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
2.6 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.2 mi away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#7 of 55 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#14 of 55 in Kinsale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Presbytery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Presbytery

Property: The Old Presbytery
Address: The Old Presbytery 43 Cork Street, Kinsale, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Old Presbytery Hotel Kinsale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing