We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country and traditional chic”
Review of The Old Presbytery

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinsale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Presbytery
Ranked #2 of 53 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We tend to stay in modern hotels with modern amenities but found this gem as a late booking. What a lovely, homely guesthouse. From arriving in the car park we were made to feel welcome from proprietor Philip and inside his wife Noreen and daughter. This is a family run business & you can see that the guests are valued and treated well. It is an old building with many small flights of steps and narrow hallways, but what would you expect from such an old building. The decor is charming and has a cottage, come small stately home feel. There is free WIFI available - a little dodgy at times, but who cares. You are central to the town so pubs, tea rooms and restaurants are only mere minutes away. Even the kids thought it was great. To us this guesthouse is exactly what Kinsale is all about.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Beverley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (883)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 883 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

Delicious breakfast! Very cute, spacious, and clean room. Bathroom was also very nice and water for the shower was hot. Short walking distance to shops/bars/water. I stayed in the 2 bedroom suite which had a nice dining room and small kitchen. The owner was very nice and accommodating as well. No complaints here.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank cslingerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We just stayed at this B&B and it was more than we could've hoped for. Very reasonably priced, great rooms, GREAT food and some of the nicest and friendliest staff/owners. We were given great recommendations for restaurants, entertainment and more. The food was excellent. All home made, organic, and freshly squeezed juices. You can see the time and effort that goes into the vast breakfast menu/options. I'm not sure what the precious reviewer was referring to mentioning not a good place with kids (we have a toddler and I would LOVE to bring him here. Also, the food was some of the best id ever had. A friend that was with us actually said it was one of the best breakfasts he'd ever had. Some people just like to complain.....??? If you're looking for a B&B in kinsale, please look into this place. I can assure you you will not regret it!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sshera05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The place itself is a lovely looking place. Nice courtyard and is exactly what you'd expect from an 'old presbytery' style B&B. However, if you have a baby with you - avoid it. There are lots of stairs and doors to navigate. As for a pram, forget it, that would be impossible to use there. The WIFI seemed non-existent in our room - and most places. As for breakfast. It was nothing spectacular. Given the overall price I'd recommend investing your money elsewhere, perhaps in a house-style B&B. On a positive note, the lady owner was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank IrelandsBeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noreen M, Owner at The Old Presbytery, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear IrelandsBeauty,

I would like to thank you for your positive comments regarding our B & B and service. We are disappointed that you were not entirely happy with your stay but we feel that your review is somewhat misleading and I would like to address some of the issues raised.

The doors you mention are internal fire doors and while they may have been inconvenient for you, are necessary for the safety of all our guests. Stairs should not pose a problem as we have the option of ground floor rooms and we always strive to provide easy access rooms to guests with a baby or with mobility issues. Our dining-room is up 1 flight but we are happy to serve breakfast in the room as stated in our welcome pack.

We apologise for the problem with WiFi – there is a new Fibre Optic system currently being installed in the town and is causing some interference. This is temporary and outside of our control. It is just a matter of re-booting the system and if you had asked, we would have done this of course. We also provide a computer for our guests free of charge which always has an internet connection.

We are disappointed that our breakfast did not meet your expectations and that you did not give us an indication of how it fell short. However, that is of course a matter of personal taste. We consistently get excellent reviews for our breakfasts and put a great deal of effort into providing a healthy and varied breakfast for our guests.

We certainly appreciate constructive criticism and Tripadvisor has given us valuable feedback over the past few years helping us to improve every aspect of our business. We are extremely grateful to all our guests who have taken the time to acknowledge our efforts. However, we struggle to find anything positive to work on from this review.

We regret that you did not enjoy your stay but I do wish you had spoken to us and we would gladly have given you any assistance needed. We would encourage you in the future to initially seek satisfaction for your complaints in person.

Kind regards,
Noreen McEvoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

One of the highlights of our Ireland trip! The room was newly remodeled, quiet, and beds were VERY comfortable. The owner is an excellent chef with a wide variety of breakfast options available...much better than your standard breakfast fare....loved the homemade granola with a special twist! Also enjoyed the afternoon coffee and snacks available. Location is excellent - close to shopping and waterfront. Owner/host was very friendly and helpful with local attraction recommendations as well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShariM03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

The Old Presbytery was one of the highlights of our two week tour of the Irish coast. Although the price is only a little more than the average B & B, it was more than worth it. It exuded quaint, the bed and the breakfast were much higher quality than average, and I felt like I was hobnobbing with the rich folks! I wanted to stay another night but they were booked up. I really thought they should have charged more for the room, just don't tell them.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Tomkempf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Book room #6 and plan your trip accordingly. We loved the room, the view from the private balcony, and the breakfast. The building is where the Catholic priest lived a couple of 100 years ago, so the setting is full of history. Kinsale was a great place to visit. We will go back to Kinsale and to The Old Presbytery.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Buddy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
2.6 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
0.1 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
981 reviews
0.6 mi away
Landfall House Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#6 of 53 in Kinsale
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Presbytery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Presbytery

Address: The Old Presbytery 43 Cork Street, Kinsale, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range: £90 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Old Presbytery Hotel Kinsale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing