We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Place!”
other travellers have booked this property
Lobster Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lobster Cottage
Sitting Room Nice Open Fire Place
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Lobster Cottage
Sitting Room
Nice Open Fire Place
Sky TV and Wifi
Adjoining Dining Area
Springs Flowers on window with and outside patio view
Kitchen Bright and Modern
Equipped with Dryer and Washing Machine
Dish Washer, Microwave,
Large Fridge Freezer
Twin Bedroom no 2 front of house
View from bedroom  no 3
Bedroom Small front of house
master bedroom 5 ft bed back of house no1
shower and toilet attached to master bedroom
Main bathroom large shower
view from fishing marina
View from castle Marina
food in Kinsale
food in kinsale
seafood chowder a must in KINSALE
Harbour view from pier road
Small streets of kinsale
milk market outdoor seating for food
Stairs to upper level
Coal effect fire
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Kinsale, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tim G
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place!”
Reviewed 23 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Stayed for three nights last week. Mary was very kind and very accommodation with our early arrival. The house was very comfortable and walking distance to the city center. Everything was great and I would highly recommend the Lobster Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DSharp3
Romford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay in Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed 21 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

A lovely location right on the harbour and the owner, Mary, made us feel most welcome. She was very helpful in recommending places to eat in town, which was just a short walk away and also stocked up the fridge with breakfast items for our arrival. The cottage was everything you could want for such a stay, with two bedrooms boasting views over the harbour and an en suite bedroom at the back. It was very clean, tastefully decorated and a real home from home. If you do not have a car, this is an ideal place, with lovely walks right on your doorstep and also a bus stop five minutes away that takes you as far as Cork City Centre. If you are looking to stay in Kinsale, then this really would be somewhere you would want to stay at.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelMan...
Greater Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful”
Reviewed 25 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lobster Cottage was lovely and it was great to spend the week there. It was a short, easy walk into town. The views were lovely and it was wonderful to wake up and look out to the harbour. Even though the boat spillway is across the street, you barely hear the seagulls and rarely smell anything you might imagine you could, given the location at the fishing spillway.

The house itself was perfect for our needs. It was well appointed and has obviously had a little make over in recent times. Internet and cable TV was great but rarely used.
The cottage has a main bathroom, an ensuite in the main bedroom and a downstairs toilet also.
The bedroom at the front (queen bed) doesn't have a lot of space or hanging space but I managed. The other two bedrooms had much more room and places to store/ hang things.
It was great to have a full kitchen and a comfy lounge room in which to relax.
Onsite parking was good but only 4 cars can fit (and you share with the Cottage next door). Just take extra care when exiting the drive onto the main road as there's a slightly blind corner on your right.
Would absolutely stay here again and Mary, our host, was a gem. We were fortunate to stay at her B&B in Holycross, so we had time to talk to her in detail about the cottage, Kinsale and places to visit and eat at.
If you struggle with stairs then this is not the place for you as all bedrooms are upstairs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and having our own space
Liked least: Not spending more time in the area
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
419Trishb
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Picture perfect location for our stay”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Our week long stay in this well appointed, homey cottage was just what we envisioned it would be. The online pictures were actual; beds were comfortable to climb into after a day of touring; bathrooms and the kitchen were clean and updated; all this and an ocean view as well! We also got to walk to town in the am or evening ( after driving all day) to enjoy a great meal and talk with the shop owners. #2 Lobster Cottage was a great anchor location for us to tour County Cork and to get up to Dublin, for those in search on ancestors.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything..just the right choice
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William T
Santa Barbara, California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The Wonderful Lobster Cottage”
Reviewed 7 March 2014 for a stay in September 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week last September. Mary was waiting for us when we arrived and showed us around the place. It was even better than we expected. Very comfortable and quiet and right on the waterfront we walked to town most every day for sight seeing and groceries. The kitchen was so nice and convenient we took advantage of the great local food and the English Market in Cork and made many meals at home.
The private parking and easy access to the main road made driving to near bye towns and beaches easy and fun.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2014
Thank you very much for the nice words and hopefully we may see you back in Kinsale sometime soon again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jameslive...
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely fantastic!”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 for a stay in December 2013

I have stayed here before, and due to the great time I had back then, naturally I decided to book this cottage again when I fancied another break in Ireland.
The cottage is clean and tidy, and it is great value for money.
Getting here is quite easy and pleasant as Cork airport is about a 30 minute drive away and the local roads that serve this coastal town give great views of the Irish countryside.
One tip from me though... Go and try some good old Fish n' chips at the nearby restaurant!
I'll definitely be returning for another stay again soon.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajovanovi...
MD
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Adorable House with a Great Location”
Reviewed 5 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

2 Lobster Cottage is just adorable and has a wonderful view of the harbor. It is in walking distance to the town center, which made exploring and meals out easy. If you are a runner, like ourselves, there are also great runs to the two historic forts. We had a great stay in Kinsale!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing