We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the money”
Review of Jim Edwards

Jim Edwards
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinsale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jim Edwards
Ranked #28 of 52 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Dublin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good for the money”
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Stayed for two nights over the bank holiday weekend.Room nice clean and comfortable and value for the rate. The breakfast was freshly cooked and excellent.The B & B is in the centre of the town an although lack of parking you will get a spot nearby.We went to bed after pub closed so didnt experience any noise issues.

Room Tip: Room 7 has an AC at the window so we asked to be moved as i am a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    21
    12
    1
    5
See reviews for
14
27
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
ALBERTA
Level Contributor
245 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Nice cozy pub for lunch. I had the Haddock with Smoked Salmon butter. Very Good. My husband had the fish pie Au Gratin. Served VERY HOT - wait a bit to eat and blow on it. All of it was a great lunch!! Location was easy to find. Very clean restaurant. Service was very good too.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRAVEL_LOVER96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Jim Edwards was a great place to stay in Kinsale, especially for the price. Our bed was very comfortable and the room and bathroom were spotless. Liam and his staff were helpful and attentive. I would definitely stay again. My one complaint would have to be noise, and I slept with ear plugs. The B&B is in the middle of a square so loud voices and construction noise were a bit annoying. Our room was on the end, and the bathroom window was facing an alley where construction was being done daily. My boyfriend wanted to stay in the middle of everything, so for that reason this was a perfect location. We could walk to any pub or restaurant in just a few minutes. Breakfast in the restaurant was tasty, but we stayed a full week and would have liked more variety. Most people usually stay a few days, so that was our choice. Liam was very helpful giving info about local golf and setting my boyfriend up with tee times, etc.

Room Tip: Pick a room in the middle of the building if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
222 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Situated in Market Quay, the location is fantastic, making for a very shot walk to anything you could want to do in downtown Kinsale. There is a severe lack of parking though. Daytime parking on the street is scarce and time-limited where available. Overnight guests are referred to a public lot near the police station several blocks away. This makes for an undesirable walk with bags, especially if it's raining. To be fair though, long term parking in most areas of the city's heart seems quite scarce.

The Pub is quite lively. We enjoyed a couple pints there and had a good time chatting with the barman. However, we ate in the pub on another night and the server forgot both our drinks and food leaving us waiting for quite some time -- likely an honest mistake, but it was still quite frustrating. The breakfast included with our stay was tasty and the morning service was good. Fresh squeezed orange juice was a nice addition.

We were a little disappointed with our room, which was quite a bit different from what is shown on the web site. It was significantly smaller, poorly lit and quite tight due to the amount of furniture. The room and linens were clean, but the bedspread was worn and musty. The main overhead light in the room had a broken glass globe and did not work at all. The bathroom was clean but also dimly lit.

There is complementary WiFi service, as well instant coffee, tea and water in the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neovox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Super location food delicious ,great value money lovey lady serving breakfast .breakfast was all our meals here were A1.had problems with shower In room4 it was on and off.no duevay just fleece blanket and cover which their was a bit if a smell off it fleece,I found that annoying I was cold and not cosy,but aside from that it's a lovely place to stay and I would recommend it :)

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I cant imagine staying anywhere else in Kinsale other than Jim Edwards. a perfect mix of freindly Irish hospitality, great food and drink, good clean rooms, Excellent staff and a perfect position in the heart of Kinsale, but just off the main street.

We stayed ther for the Kinsale Food Festival and it was just perfect in every way.

We were made to feel so welcome, the bar was so freindly and full every night with great characters. Breakfast was top class every day. A great selection of food to choose from, and we could only manage the full breakfast on the first day !!

I would definately recommend Jim Edwards to anybody thinking of staying in Kinsale or the sourounding area and will definately Be back. 10 out of 10 Ffrom me.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ross H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We enjoyed everything about Kinsale and Jim Edwards. Being in the middle of town all was accessible, the bars, the History and great walks. All the staff and locals were friendly and helpful, rooms very good value and the food was very wonderful indeed, especially the blackberries at breakfast. We shall return in our Motorhome, although we shall still spend
a night at Jim Edwards.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KEITH D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
0.0 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
667 reviews
0.4 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
958 reviews
0.1 mi away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#14 of 52 in Kinsale
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tierneys Guesthouse
Tierneys Guesthouse
#35 of 52 in Kinsale
166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pier House Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Old Bank House
Old Bank House
#15 of 52 in Kinsale
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jim Edwards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jim Edwards

Property: Jim Edwards
Address: Market Quay, Kinsale, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Jim Edwards Kinsale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing