We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place”
Review of Jim Edwards

Jim Edwards
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinsale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jim Edwards
Ranked #30 of 53 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here a week ago. Nice clean quiet rooms, and the restaurant downstairs was perfect after a long day of driving. The parking was a little bit of a challenge but we found a couple of spots on the street right in front. I don't know if we were able to park free there because it was a Sunday night or that applies to a certain time every night but we were good until 10:30 the next morning. There was also free parking a short distance away. The food in the restaurant was great and the breakfast in the morning was outstanding. Very friendly staff. We stayed only one night but we wish we stayed longer.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishyflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2013

Our group of five stayed in two rooms at Jim Edwards for one night in May 2012. Fantastic location; comfortable rooms. We loved the restaurant right downstairs. Either the rooms' walls were a bit thin or our neighbors had their TV volume at an obscene level (or both). Very happy with Jim Edwards overall.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
Thank SusieDerkins512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Just back from a night in Kinsale with 3 friends and feel compelled to write a glowing review of our visit. Spotless comfortable rooms with great beds for a good nights rest.
We all thoroughly enjoyed last nights tasty meal, both steaks and fish dishes were a real hit.
Lovely selection of vegtables and garlic potatoes were just delicious as were the deserts. Jim Edwards kitchen is a really good one. Service was pleasant and attentive.
We had a delicious freshly cooked breakfast this morning and all in all have enjoyed another lovely visit to Kinsalech.
Will definitely return with family for lunch!

Room Tip: The family room is a little more spacious and was offered to us when we booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amsullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Great family owned and run bar with restaurant and accommodation.Superb quality food and professional service.Food is also served in the bar all day.Central to all of Kinsale's shops bars and other fine restaurants

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dermotfastnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Everyone we have spoke to about this well known Kinsale eatery recommends the barfood over the dinner. Maybe because the same very good standard of food is on offer for much less than the restaurant a la carte prices. We visited here on an early Sunday evening for dinner, was quiet busy so got the last table in the bar. The bar itself is cosy with nice features and picture etc. For mains my girlfriend opted for the fish and chips which was delicious and a very large portion. I opted for the reliable steak with Potato and Veg. This was also excellent; we shared one dessert between us. Overall very reasonable and consistent offering from Jim Edwards.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Stayed for two nights over the bank holiday weekend.Room nice clean and comfortable and value for the rate. The breakfast was freshly cooked and excellent.The B & B is in the centre of the town an although lack of parking you will get a spot nearby.We went to bed after pub closed so didnt experience any noise issues.

Room Tip: Room 7 has an AC at the window so we asked to be moved as i am a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DublinMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Nice cozy pub for lunch. I had the Haddock with Smoked Salmon butter. Very Good. My husband had the fish pie Au Gratin. Served VERY HOT - wait a bit to eat and blow on it. All of it was a great lunch!! Location was easy to find. Very clean restaurant. Service was very good too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank TRAVEL_LOVER96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
0.0 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
713 reviews
2.5 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
White Lady Hotel
White Lady Hotel
#20 of 53 in Kinsale
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tierneys Guesthouse
Tierneys Guesthouse
#40 of 53 in Kinsale
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pier House Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#13 of 53 in Kinsale
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jim Edwards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jim Edwards

Address: Market Quay, Kinsale, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range: £27 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Jim Edwards Kinsale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing