We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not To Be Missed!”
Review of Shanghai Express - CLOSED

Shanghai Express
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$19
Cuisines: Fusion, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Cash Only, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Hawick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not To Be Missed!”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

No trip to Kinsale would be complete without a visit to Shanghai Express. My fifth time at this restaurant, and the tapas just get better and better.
Thank you to all the staff.
See you on my next visit!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    29
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“excellent food!”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

4 of us went here Saturday night & it was just perfect! It was very busy when we arrived but we were only waiting around 10 minutes or so for a table. We all decided to order from the tapas menu. I must admit we did order quiet a lot of food but it was so worth it, we ordered a good variety such as lasagna, chicken satay, tikka masala, suck spring rolls, pork belly, stuffed prawns, duck, beef teriyaki, shanghai chips, more spring rolls! Absolutely beautiful and very relaxing in there. Will most definitely be returning here. Top marks all the way for these guys. well done.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jessIreland22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinsale, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“All my friends love this place”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Absolutely wonderful food. Hard at times to get in because it is so good but well worth waiting for.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Bettytrollop12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best food I've tasted anywhere”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I would recommend this restaurant to anybody. I've been there numerous times and no matter how quiet Kinsale is, this place is always full. NO bookings taken so just arrive and wait for a table. I assure you it will be worth the wait. It's my mission to try everything on this beautiful menu.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Pedroliam83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Place”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

It was great to find it open & available at night, off season, when very few places were open or serving food. Great tapas at very good prices. A wonderful, welcoming and knowledgeable staff. We really enjoyed it there & look forward to returning.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Rita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shanghai Express also viewed

Kinsale, County Cork
Kinsale, County Cork
 
Kinsale, County Cork
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing