We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gourmet and then some” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shanghai Express - CLOSED

Shanghai Express
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$19
Cuisines: Fusion, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Cash Only, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gourmet and then some”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Just the most fantastic, amazing Asian fusion food you will ever have bar none. Service is excellent and very friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Ginette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    29
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Divine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

This restaurant takes Asian fusion food to a completely different level. The tastes are incredibly clean and the food wholesome. The service was absolutely excellent and in the finest traditions of Irish catering. I would recommend eating a selection of tapas to completely overwhelm your taste buds. What a gem of a place. A true highlight of our holiday.

Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Food was wonderful I wish I lived closer to this place. Haven't eaten Thai curry as good since Thailand

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank CiaraW09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Kinsale is the last place you'd expect to find an Asian tapas restaurant, but what a find! We enjoyed all our choices, but the spiced braised pork belly and the Asian lasagne were historic. We are still reliving the flavours four days later. The house wine was pretty good also. You don't go to the Shanghai Express for its decor or furnishings; leave pretence at the door and simply enjoy the food and atmosphere. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RoundtheHorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Simply amazing!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Ate here last night and were surprised to get a table on a Friday night. We shared a prawn salad special to start which was superb. Ther were plenty of prawns and the dressing was to die for. We had the vegetable massaman and spicy prawns which were both delicious. The bottle of fitou was also spot on. The waitress was very freindly and helpful.
The only downside was the lack of choice for non meat eaters so could have done with more fish and vegetarian dishes. However as it was so good we will return.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Webbcatc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shanghai Express also viewed

Kinsale, County Cork
Kinsale, County Cork
 
Kinsale, County Cork
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing