We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go See Mary O'Neill” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tap Tavern

The Tap Tavern
Ranked #3 of 11 Nightlife in Kinsale
Attraction details
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
143 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Go See Mary O'Neill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Last pub in Kinsale owned by someone born and bred in Kinsale. I think Kinsale has 23-24 pubs. In any event, you must stop by for a pint. It's an old pub - Mary seems to always be there with friends. My husband and I had a pint, took a look around and hung out for a bit. There were some people setting up to play music but we were not able to stay to hear them. Maybe next time!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank citygirlforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    12
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best pint in Kinsale!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Stop and see Mary and do the ghost tour. You won't be disappointed. We loved this little place while we lived there for 3 years. Best place in Kinsale to get a pint with friends!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
342 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Neat, authentic, local pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

The wife and I stopped here for a pint after exploring Kinsale, but before dinner. We sat at the bar, and while Mary drew two perfect pints of Guinness, we made a new best friend. The Tap Tavern is that kind of place - friendly and welcoming. It had an old world charm to it and looks like it hasn't changed one bit in a hundred years. This is a great place to stop for a pint.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OcalaTraveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Plaines, Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Stop in for a pint with Mary in Kinsale”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Great atmosphere and hearty local people! Some of the nicest we have ever met! This place has history, a great location and refreshing beverages! Mary also owns the Sea Gull B & B up the hill, she's quite a hard working woman!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MDomaracki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great little Pub!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

I visited Kinsale at Easter this year and the Tap was a place that came recommended by family that had already been. I was told it was like walking into the owner's front room and that Mary who owned the place was quite definitely the boss. Well, all true!

It's a lovely small little place with a real fire and lots of character. Mary is wonderful; she welcomed us as did the other staff. We were visiting with regulars which helped I'm sure, but I didn't get the impression were were getting anything more than anyone else who could walk in, say hi with a smile and ask for a pint.

Can't understand why one reviewer said it was poor because there were American registration plates on the walls. You get that sort of thing the world over; different currency notes, badges, whatever.. It just shows the popularity of the place or that the locals have travelled far and wide. Don't let it put you off..

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tap Tavern also viewed

Kinsale, County Cork
Kinsale, County Cork
 
Kinsale, County Cork
Kinsale, County Cork
 

Been to The Tap Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing