We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didn't want the business”
Review of The Shack

The Shack
Ranked #24 of 72 Restaurants in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
1 review
“Didn't want the business”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Our party of eight including four kids were planning to get dinner for the kids at the Shack. The adults were not eating as we had a dinner appointment later that night. We had hoped to enjoy a glass of wine while the kids were fed. The owner told the very helpful waitress that we could only come in If we were all eating. Unbelievable!! The restaurant was completely empty and yet the owner refused our business. We took our business elsewhere. We passed the restaurant at 8 and there was still only four people in there. It was closed when we passed on our way home at 10.15. As two business owners in our party we could not believe that an owner would throw business away like that. As regular visitors to the fantastic town of Kinsale we expect that The Shack will not be there on our next visit given the owners business practices. This is especially so when you consider the other fantastic dining options available.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daragh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    27
    8
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Had evening meal at the Shack over Easter Holidays. Menu displayed on widow was more reasonably priced that other restaurants nearby. Soup starter was excellent as was steak and chips main-course. service was efficient. would recommend it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northumberland england
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very tasty food”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Visited The Shack 7 years ago when in Kinsale on holiday and the food was superb, just returned for a second visit and glad to say it was just as good. Had a very tasty Mexican King Prawn dish and hubby had beef burrito, they were both excellent, the service was great and the staff friendly, would definitely recommend.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ableassistant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I love this place. I have eaten here quite a bit and I have never been let down. The food is great, the staff are friendly helpful and quick. It is great value for money too considering the meal. The enchilida is a great choice. It is a really good location too in the center of town and right near all the pubs if your going for a drink after. The atmosphere is good there too as the place is quite cozy. Its a quirky little restaurant well worth booking into for dinner!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sinead B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
149 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We had a meal here over the bank holiday week-end.The menu is very varied from burgers to pasta and lots more.We enjoyed our meal here and would definitely return again

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Shack also viewed

Kinsale, County Cork
Kinsale, County Cork
 
Kinsale, County Cork
 

Been to The Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing