We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rocklands house is a perfect escape for a weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rocklands House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 53 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2009

My wife and I had stumbled across the Rocklands House through a simple google search and so glad that we did. We had a room with a king size bed and a balcony overlooking the river and surrounding hills. It was a 10 minute walk from the town's center and a perfect location to mix the liveliness of a quaint Irish village with the peacefulness of the countryside. The owner, John, was more than accommodating and a pleasure to deal with from the booking process and through our stay with them. I would recommend this as a perfect weekend getaway to a great place to stay if you are touring Ireland. We are looking forward to our next visit to Kinsale and our stay with the Rocklands house.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrosenbaum82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
There are newer reviews for Rocklands House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2008

John was wonderful and the food was great. The bed and pillows make me want to go back. One from our party was sick and John even made an appointment for us at the local clinic. I would recomend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank WisconsinJeweler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2008

These nice people went beyond hospitality during our stay. I can't thank them enough. Great food, warm people, stunning views and an all around wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Brenda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2008

Had a wonderful stay at this B&B. The drive up the hill was a bit challenging at first, but the view was well worth it. Hosts and breakfasts were wonderful. The rooms were very clean and well decorated. Comfortable beds, and a great shower! The golden retreivers were also a great touch that made us feel right at home.

This was a favorite of our trip!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jetskigal1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2007

We had a lovely stay at the Rocklands House. It was a bit tricky to get to - especially on our first day of navigating the roads of Ireland. Clean, roomy, great breakfast, friendly hosts.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mgpstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2006

Lovely house, but a bit difficult to find - high up on a hill just above the town of Kinsale. Make sure to follow the directions exactly or you'll end up driving out the other side of town by mistake, or going up the wrong hill and having no way to turn around! The driveway is sort of long and narrow, but there's room enough for everyone to park, as long as you're considerate about it.

John, the host was very helpful in providing dining recommendations and a fold out map of the town. He's also great at responding to email if you email them directly.

Our room was very pretty in a cottage-y way, but the mattress could probably stand to be replaced at this point. It was fine for the night though.

Breakfast was great, in a lovely dining room with full wall windows that look over the harbor. You leave your order for breakfast on desk the night before, along with the time you'd like to eat.

Other good tips:
*John will give recommendations for dinner - follow them! We followed his suggestion to dine at Jim Edwards' in town, and it was a great meal.
*You can book online for Rocklands House via [-]

Stayed: September 2006
1  Thank GSAriyel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Phoenix, AZ
16
Reviewed 4 September 2003

This lovely B&B home w/gardens sitting high on the hill overlooking the water in Kinsale is the most delightful, light-filled, comfortable and welcoming ever! John & Eleanor Bateman astonished us by volunteering services even family might balk at performing. There are lots of wonderful, as well as poor, B&B's throughout Ireland, but this is the best ever! --Carol & Bill Horn

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
0.6 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
950 reviews
2.7 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
0.9 mi away
Landfall House Bed and Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Pier House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocklands House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocklands House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Rocklands House Compass Hill, Kinsale, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range: £84 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in mature grounds on a scenic walking trail less than a mile/1Km from Kinsale town centre, Rocklands House occupies a superb position on Compass Hill overlooking the inner harbour. Guests can relax in our large comfortable lounge/diningroom, where they can enjoy the peace and tranquility of the water below. A varied breakfast menu is available catering to all tastes. Our Guest Bedrooms are luxurious, some have their own balconies and King Size beds. All are en suite with power showers. All rooms have TV, Wi-fi, tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryers and the beds are made up with crisp white linen. Room rate per night 2 sharing from €75 to €90 depending on Season or Bank Holiday weekends. Rocklands House also has a 2-person Self Catering Garden Apartment for weekly or part-weekly lettings. Prices from €60 per night , €300 to €400 per week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Rocklands House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing