We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“None better” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blindgate House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinsale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blindgate House
Ranked #5 of 55 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“None better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

My family stayed here for four nights in July. Clean, modern, and comfortable. Owner/operator is as helpful as possible. It's on a steep hill but my 80 yr old mom did it at least twice a day for 4 days so it can't be that steep (or maybe mom should be in the next Olympics). WiFi in the room would be nice but I didn't go to Ireland to surf the Internet.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    28
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
36
73
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed at Blindgate for two nights while visiting Kinsale. It was another full B&Bs referral.

Blindgate is very modern and the room was clean and comfortable. The only downside is that there was no wireless in the rooms, that was a bit of a bummer and I hope they resolve that in the future.

After taking in some of Kinsale's nightly entertainment, the walk up the hill to Blindgate really isn't bad. It's actually quite fun at midnight after a few pints.

Overall, we enjoyed this B&B and we would stay here again. The modern style of the place maybe seemed a bit "cold" compared to other B&B's we stayed in, but that's not a show stopper. It was just weird that such a modern looking B&B lacked our room based stateside tether, WiFi.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Decastri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

6 of us stayed at Blindgate during a recent golf trip to Ireland and we loved it. It is a lovely, comfortable, modern lodge and Maeve is a gracious host. The house is situated on a hill above the Old Town and is a short walk away from everything. Maeve was very helpful in making reservations for us, giving us recommendations etc. The breakfast is great too.

Stay here if you're in Kinsale!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anirudh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

Room was comfortable with nice chairs. Sitting areas were pleasant and comfortable. Breakfast to die for. Only negative: no hot water in our shower the first day and lukewarm after that. But that will be resolved. Wifi doesn't work in all rooms. That might bother some but I found it nice. Would def stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Balzac8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

This was the perfect place for us to stay during our 3 days in Kinsale. Maeve did a wonderful job of making us feel completely at home, and her breakfasts were first class! Lovely! We definitely recommend Blindgate House to anyone visiting Kinsale!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meredy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

We visited Kinsale for the music festival weekend, and were lucky enough to get a room at Blindgate House. It turned out to be a great place to stay, and in a good location. Only a five minute walk downhill and you are in the centre of Kinsale. It may take you a few more minutes to walk back up, but it is fine!! No problem at all! It is spotlessly clean throughout, and is light and bright, making it a very pleasant place to be. Quiet location, with on-site parking, a real bonus. Free WI-FI. The bedroom was large and modern, and beautifully decorated. Very comfortable bed. Plenty of plug sockets. Ironing board with iron supplied, hairdryer, kettle with tea, coffee and biscuits. Flat screen TV. Very nice bathroom with a good over bath shower. Fresh, fluffy white towels. Toiletries included cotton buds, and cottonwool. Lovely breakfast with a good varied choice. Freshly squeezed orange juice. Food is cooked fresh so you may have to wait a little, but it is worth it, and anyway it wasn't too long a wait. Delicious french toast! One of the nice touches was having the butter and jam presented in little china dishes, and even the salt and pepper had their own little dishes with spoons. No plastic in sight! Everything is quality! Maeve really has given a lot of attention to detail. Good coffee too. There is also a very pleasant, comfortable lounge that residents can use, which was, again, beautifully decorated. It looked so inviting, but unfortunately we did not get the chance to use this as we were on such a tight schedule. There was nothing at all to find fault with at Blindgate House, and hopefully we will get the chance to stay there again in the future, as we had such a nice stay! Thank you Maeve!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HFP52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012 via mobile

Visited Kinsale for a few days on the annual weekend trip for the Jazz/music festival weekend. 6 of our stayed for the third year running and it's just a great place to stay. The rooms are modern comfortable and sufficient facilities that you can use as a base while spending long days in the town enjoying the music and a few glasses of the dark stuff.
Great breakfast to set you up for the day and help the recovery process.
Thanks Maeve and see you next year!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexbrown25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
0.2 mi away
Actons Hotel
Actons Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
0.4 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#6 of 55 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#17 of 55 in Kinsale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blindgate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blindgate House

Property: Blindgate House
Address: Blind Gate House Blind Gate, Kinsale, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Blindgate House Hotel Kinsale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing